We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prime Time Hotel(Unawatuna)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Villa Baywatch(Unawatuna)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (508)
Filter reviews
508 results
Traveller rating
294
144
42
16
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
294
144
42
16
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachsandy areaunawatuna beachhermit crabshuge wavesduplex roomsri lankaindian oceanminute walksea viewwaves crashingmain beachbeach housesister hotelswimming poolrooms are hugeseafood
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
390 - 395 of 508 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2013

The stay was great. All the hotel staff are friendly and helpful. They do not hesitate to help you. Located at the quieter part of Unawatuna, we get a great view of the ocean from the swimming pool. The food was fresh and delicious. We had a wonderful stay there!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sooktheng f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thaproban, Owner at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, its with great pleasure that I inform our staff about the positive reviews and they are very happy to read about their hard work has been praised. We hope you will return again.

Sincerely,
Medha Dissanayake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

The stay was great and the help with organization from the hotel staff was top class. From organizing the airport transport to the scooters used to get around Unawatuna. Food was fresh and well portioned and the hotel was kept clean the entire time.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thaproban, Owner at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing us a review, we appreciate your time and efforts taken to write the positive review and please let me know if you return to Sri Lanka and need any assistance.

Sincerely,
Medha Dissanayake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We initially booked one of their other hotels and thought we needed this holiday with more luxury and pampering so visited Thaproban Pavilion one evening and new this was the place for us! This hotel is located in Unawatuna yet away from the busy noisy area of the main Unwatuna strech, few minutes walk to the main Unawatuna beach and strip of restaurants and shops which is nice because the Unawatuna area can be loud and unfriendly at times, specially during week ends. The rooms are huge and the hotel has a gym which I used everyday, the spa will be opening in July. The view from our room was great, panoramic ocean with a great view of the sunset. I stayed for 6 nights, and I loved it. I wish I have stayed there longer, if you are looking for peace and relaxation, this is a great place.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thaproban, Owner at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review, we appreciate the time spent on writing us a positive review, we hope to see you again in the future and please contact us if you need any assistance in the future planning your holiday in Sri Lanka.

Sincerely,

Medha Dissanayake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Oh my. What a place. We scored a great deal on agoda for this place and my gosh it was amazing.The staff were friendly, there was always a tuk-tuk close by or it was a short walk into the centre of unawatuna. Not that you even need to go anywhere as this place is amazing
Great rooms, great beds, great views, great food... wow wow wow

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kurst22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thaproban, Owner at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2013

Dear Guest,

We were very happy to read that you had a good experience at Thaproban Pavilion Resort.

Thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers on Trip Advisor, and for your very kind words regarding our associates and the location.

We too look forward to the day when you will come back for another stay so we have the opportunity to look after you again .
Please feel free to contact me for any assistance you may think I could be of while booking your next stay.

Ayubowan
Medha Dissanayake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We stayed at the Thaproban Pavilion Resort an Spa for 5 days and 4 nights!! It was the most amazing experience for our family which including 2 boys aged 9 and 4.5 years. The resort was so well managed that we actually felt like staying at home for those 5 days!!

The rooms are huge - we took the Ocean Pavilion Room, with the view of the beautiful ocean and the swimming pool. The room was huge, spacious with an extra bed already in place for us.....bathrooms clean and big, lovely amenities provided in the room and had all that was needed for a very comfortable stay.

The food is amazing, the chef went out of his way to make custom dishes for us as there were limited options for the vegetarians! The breakfast is filling, delicious and really delicious. Breakfast on the side of the pool and with the water form the ocean hitting the rocks made for the best view for a breakfast outing!!!

The swimming pool was very good, clean water and well kept. The salt water pool was great for the children, the kids pool specially and the artificial beach across was also interesting for the kiddos.

You can walk to the Unawatuna Beach (although the end of the beach) from the resort. However you can walk towards the main road and you can access the beach from its sister hotel, the Thaproban Beach House. The beach is lovely and no wonder it was rated as the top beaches in the world. There are little shops with basic amenities around the area, good food options in the nearby restaurants, and of course there is the tuk tuk to take you around!

Special mention to Mr. Roshan, the manager who made the stay what it was for us. He was friendly, so accommodating and he went out of way to make sure that he got a chef from the sister hotel and provided us the food that we wanted. That was truly appreciated and we thank Roshan and his team / staff for being so welcoming, smiling all the time, providing impeccable service for us and my kids!

We would love to get back to Thaproban again and again....we would recommend this resort to everyone. This is one of the best places that we have stayed in, during our many vacations around the world.

Padma Srinivas
Bangalore, India

Room Tip: Choose the Ocean Pavilion Room or the Pool Pavilion if you are traveling as a small / young family. They are the most spacious and have the best views. However for a group or two groups traveling, the center and the premier pavilion is great, with two floors with separate bathrooms!
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PadSri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thaproban, Owner at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your compliments on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us at Thaproban Pavilion Resort, Unawatuna, Sri Lanka.

We were truly delighted to know that you had enjoyed your recent holiday with us and consider Thaproban Pavilion to be one of the most amazing places you have stayed. We also noted that you enjoyed the level of service provided to you by our entire team. Customer care is one of our highest priorities and it is always gratifying to receive such praise and our team was delighted to know that their efforts were so well appreciated.

Once again thank you for your compliments and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future. Please feel free to contact me if I may be of service in any way in planning your next visit to Thaproban Pavilion Resort.

Sincerely,

Medha Dissanayake
Thambapanni Leisure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews