We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa
Nearby Hotels
Gloria Grand Hotel(Unawatuna)(Great Value!)
US$36
US$33
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thambapanni Retreat(Unawatuna)(Great Value!)
US$75
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
US$121
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$300
US$294
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
US$88
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sergeant House(Unawatuna)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apa Villa Thalpe(Unawatuna)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (508)
Filter reviews
508 results
Traveller rating
294
144
42
16
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
294
144
42
16
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachsandy areaunawatuna beachhermit crabshuge wavesduplex roomsri lankaindian oceanminute walksea viewwaves crashingmain beachbeach housesister hotelswimming poolrooms are hugeseafood
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
369 - 374 of 508 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Our stay at Thaproban Pavilion was excellent, the staff were incredibly helpful and friendly, making my family and I feel very welcome. The beds were a dream and breakfasts included a huge range of fresh fruit, as well as full Western breakfast, cereals, porridge and Sri Lankan options. A chilled out pool area overlooking the crashing waves is uniquely designed and in keeping with the fort feel of the hotel. Our apartment encompassed three, high-ceilinged floors with a terrace at the top overlooking the terracotta facade. It made for a perfect view of stunning sunsets. Think Mum is planning a family trip back every year!! Thanks for a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SamanthaHarrison2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thaproban, Manager at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Dear Guest,

We all happy to learn the satisfaction you had and look forward to welcoming you back to our Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa again soon.

Sincerely,
Priyanga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This place is a gem! The hotel is right on the ocean and Unawatuna Beach is a 5 minute walk. The rooms are comfortable and clean. I always like to try restaurants outside of the hotel but ended up eating at the Pavilion most nights. The reason: the staff walks by with a platter of fresh fish and offers to make you a fresh from the ocean sea food dinner. How could we say no! The room was great, the food delicious but what really makes this place special is the staff. They really want you to be comfortable and enjoy your stay. Kudos to Sudarshani at the front desk who happily responded to every request made. And to the rest of the staff, too. I took a yoga class at the sister hotel (5 minute walk away) and had a massage: both fantastic. Overall a great stay!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ritamaeflag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thaproban, Manager at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time and positive comment. which was shared with all members and we all look forward to welcoming you back to Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa soon.

Sincerely,
Priyanga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Unexpected but truly amazing view of the Indian Ocean, with waves beating against the huge rocks. Liked the large bedroom, comfortable bed and tastefully furnished. Very clean room and good quality bathroom fittings. Staff at the reception and dining areas were most friendly. One staff member even offered to lend us her personal umbrella if we did not wish to carry a large hotel one. How thoughtful and caring! We tucked into a delicious breakfast each morning! A short walk away and we were at the beach already!

Room Tip: ask for the rooms facing the ocean view...no regrets!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank veron0702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thaproban, Manager at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words and comments. The comments will be shared amount our staff and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and on behalf of the entire team, I express my appreciation for your visit.

Respectfully yours,
Priyanga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Like I said, Great place, excellent service, spectacular views!! Service was the best - every one of their staff seems to have an eternal smile. Food was great! Swimming Pool marvelous. The sitting by the pool overlooking ocean is perfect for a candle night dinner. The rooms are huge and very clean and well decorated. The best part was the view. We had a sea facing room and man I saw the sea. One of the best sea facing rooms I ever stayed. The room came with a huge balcony.
I can keep on going - its just a great place. The only disadvantage - which was not a matter of concern for me - its not a beach front property. Dont get me wrong - it is an ocean front property all right and the ocean is literally next to the swimming pool. But there is no beach there, only rocks. So to access the beach you need to go out of the hotel and take a short walk - about 5 -7 mins. But again great place and I highly recommend this place any day. Do try to catch a candle light dinner on the beach at their sister hotel Beach House. The staff can easily arrange this for you.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JayTua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thaproban, Manager at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire team, I am thanking you for your kind words on the hotel and our services. We appreciate your patronage and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can assist planning your return visit!

With kind regards,

Respectfully yours,
Priyanga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

On arrival we were welcomed by the friendly reception staff and given a welcome drink. Upon entering our room (102) we were greeted with a magnificent view of the Indian Ocean. the room was very spacious with everything you would expect for a top end hotel. The bathroom had a dual head shower with great pressure and complementary toiletries were a bonus. Although you couldn't swim in the sea here it was a short distance to the great swimming beach.

The view from the room looked across to the lighthouse at Galle, we saw many large ships, fabulous sunsets and we were captured by waves crashing onto the boulders creating sea spray that kept us guessing.

Only downsides was the sub standard building materials that were quickly deteriorating from the intense salt spray and the location of the restaurant.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank TnTinTara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thaproban, Manager at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire team, I am thanking you for your kind words on the hotel and our services. We appreciate your patronage and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can assist planning your return visit!

With kind regards,

Respectfully yours,
Priyanga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews