We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely service, quiet location - pity about the storm!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Lovely service, quiet location - pity about the storm!”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed in early October, where the weather was a little volatile (as we soon found out).

Getting there: We organised for a car to pick us up from Colombo Fort Station. They were very flexible about arranging this for us. The drive was pleasant overall and took about 3.5 hours in total.

Location: The resort itself is not actually on the beach. It sits on a sort of cliff, right in front of the ocean and is tucked away in the jungle, so you’ll need to travel down a little dirt road to get to it! It’s about a 5 minute walk back out onto the main road and the beach, but I wouldn’t recommend doing that at night – there are absolutely no street lamps to help you navigate your way through the jungle-like area! A US$1 tuk tuk ride from anywhere on Unawatuna beach will suffice.

The Rooms: We stayed in the Pavilion Residence on the third floor, which had a spacious balcony that opened up to incredible views of the Indian Ocean. The architecture is very unique – lots of concrete and wood and splashes of bright saffron orange. The rooms were reasonably comfortable with very soft beds, cable TV and air-conditioning, though we thought our bathroom could use a little more sunlight and fresh air! It smelled a little…damp after 4 days of continual use.

On our first night, we were also treated to an epic thunderstorm which meant gale force winds howling all night, roaring waves crashing against the cliff face, rain slapping against our balcony windows, etc. Never have I wished to have double-glazed windows! We didn’t get much sleep that night. On a quiet, clear night though, we had no problems.

The Restaurant: The restaurant was on the first floor, but was unfortunately not as scenic as it could have been. A few well-placed windows and perhaps a dining balcony would have brightened up the room considerably!

Ambience aside, their Sri Lankan offerings were delicious – the Rhnu Curry (US$10) got you a mix of 5 curries with rice, and the Seafood Platter (US$85) could easily have been for a group of 4 adults. The ‘Western’ offerings didn’t fare quite as well, as the meat tends to be a little overcooked. This is common throughout Sri Lanka though, so my suggestion is to just stick with the local fare.

The Spa: Massages and facials were all offered at reasonable prices. I enjoyed my 1 hour back massage but the facilities consisted of a spa bed and.. that was about it. Very minimalistic!

The Service: Wonderful, friendly and effervescent service from housekeeping to the manager. Front desk could do it all, including organising a cooking class, arranging for tours to Galle and last minute airport transport. Ask them anything, and they will go out of their way to help.

Room Tip: Pavilion Residence was large enough for a couple and had great high views of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maryttan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    126
    35
    14
    9
See reviews for
158
157
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

If you would like a hotel that leaves you in the lurch at the last minute, this is the place for you.

The hotel wrote to me and my girlfriend one week before we were scheduled to arrive for New Years informing us that the hotel had decided to cancel our booking as our accomodation was not in a fit state for habitation. It was nigh on impossible to find somewhere else to stay in the vicinity. We then had to alter our entire trip to Sri Lanka as we could not find anywhere else in Unawatuna at such short notice.

We were not offered any assistance in finding alternative accommodation other than a second one line email suggesting hotels at an extortionate rate two hours drive away.

It took me over two months to then get back the deposit which I had paid directly to the hotel and had to threaten legal action in order to get this refunded.

All follow up correspondence I had concerning my complaint was completely ignored.

Basically be careful before you book here..!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LilchickLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thaproban, Operations Manager at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
This review is not relevant as its a review written for a stay in December, the hotel opened in February 2013 as you can see from the guests who really stayed and experienced the hotel started only after February 2013, we are a very responsible organization with experience in Unawatuna hotels for the past 15 years, Thaproban Pavilion Resort is the newest addition to the hotels in Unawatuna, we do not cheat guests with any deposits.

Regards,
Mangala Denagama
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

It was a good choce we made with selecting this hotel, the hotel is away from the main Unawatuna beach, about ten minutes walk to the sea where you can have a sea swim, at the hotel you can relax by the pool area. We had a pavilion room and it was very comfortable and clean. Enjoyed the food which had a special touch of Italian like flavours. You can speak to the front office staff or the hotel manager if required any information as they are very friendly and helpful. If we come to SL again we will defenietley return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tawat Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thaproban, Manager at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your time and kind comment.

We all look forward for your return to our Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa in the near future.

Sincerely,
Priyanga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

This hotel is certainly in the most amazing location, perched on a rocky headland on the Indian Ocean. We had a seaview room, number 102, which afforded the most magnificent views out to sea. Unfortunately the weather was a bit windy, with rough seas ( which obviously the hotel can do nothing about), but the sea spray and rain did pour in around the seawards facing windows and doors. The staff did lay out towels to sop it up, but really. Also, the AC in this larger room is totally inadequate for the room size. When coupled with the weather, we found our room floor was continuously wet from the moist air. Again, the staff spread some sheets out to help. So in essence, it was a bit more like camping than a luxury stay for us.
One point to make, i dont think i recall better staff than the guys and girls here. They were so friendly and helpful. I tip my lid to them all.
Food was great in the restaurant, the fish i had on night one was the best i had in Unawatuna. Breakfasts were OK with a reasonable selection.
We tried the massage in the hotel, it was a nice soft massage, a good way to start the holiday. A large range of treatments are available in house or down the road at the beach house.
The walk to the main beach is short, maybe 10 minutes, and we really enjoyed this. We walked back from the beach late most nights with no worries.
So i would recommend this hotel, but not the sea view rooms until a bit of sealing and AC upsizing is done.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank NamRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thaproban, Manager at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time and detailed comment.

All have been shared with all staff and management for our improvement.

Once again, many thanks and look forward to welcoming you back to our Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa.

Sincerely,
Priyanga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Had a lovely weeks stay at this hotel. All the staff are friendly and go out of their way to make your holiday extra special. Rooms are lovely and the hotel meets all your holidays needs. Would certainly recommend this hotel and would pick hotel again if was to visit this resort again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thaproban, Manager at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time and comment sharing with all members of tripadvisor community and we all look forward to welcoming you back to Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa again soon.

Sincerely,
Priyanga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
204 reviews
174 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed at the Thaproban Pavilion for 3 nights in October 2013.

This is a well situated, well run resort located in a very nice part of the country.

The hotel is built on a rocky outcrop into the ocean, with views from some of the rooms out to the horizon. There is a pool area with a small artificial beach around it to sit and relax.

The hotel has a very good restaurant, a small (not terribly impressive) gym and poor, though free, WiFi.

There are no other restaurants immediately around the hotel, but the beachfront madness of Unawatuna is only a five minute walk away - close enough to be easy to get to, far enough away to be back from the noise a little. Check out the fireflies as you walk home after dinner!

Service at the Thaproban is excellent - professional hospitality standard and still friendly and welcoming.

We had an allegedly 2 bedroom apartment, but this was a little misleading as basically it was a standard one room (bedroom upstairs, lounge down) that had been converted to take two beds. Fine for a family, but probably not suitable for friends travelling together as their is absolutely no privacy.

Only other negatives are the maintenance (in only a year of opening the place is falling apart) and the dodgy WiFi, which drops out as much as is usable.

Overall, a good choice in a lovely area and highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian_Pratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thaproban, Manager at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time and comment.

All have been shared with all staff for our improvement.

Once again, many thanks and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Sincerely,
Priyanga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Male', Maldives
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Our stay at Thaproban Pavilion was excellent, the staff were incredibly helpful and friendly, making my family and I feel very welcome. The beds were a dream and breakfasts included a huge range of fresh fruit, as well as full Western breakfast, cereals, porridge and Sri Lankan options. A chilled out pool area overlooking the crashing waves is uniquely designed and in keeping with the fort feel of the hotel. Our apartment encompassed three, high-ceilinged floors with a terrace at the top overlooking the terracotta facade. It made for a perfect view of stunning sunsets. Think Mum is planning a family trip back every year!! Thanks for a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SamanthaHarrison2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thaproban, Manager at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear Guest,

We all happy to learn the satisfaction you had and look forward to welcoming you back to our Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa again soon.

Sincerely,
Priyanga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.4 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#5 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
1.3 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#4 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#9 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.6 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa

Property: Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa
Address: Wella Devala Road, Yaddehimulla, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a newly opened resort in Unawatuna, Situated in the heart of Unawatuna yet away from the hustel and bustel with few minutes walking distance to the world famous Unawatuna Beach and stripes of hotels and restaurants. Thaproban Pavilion is correct blend of serenity and comfort. The hotel is located right by the sea and a man made private beach area which is by the fibre optic pool to enhance the value of your stay. Hotel is very well equipped with all modern facilities to suit your comfort. Our spa and well equipped Gym is over looking the Indian Ocean and while you get the spa therapy you can enjoy the music of nature. All rooms are suites, some rooms are Duplex Suites which are ideal for families or friends and equipped with all type of modern and essential facilities like En Suite Bathroom, King Size Bed with Pillow Menu, 36" LED Satellite Tv, Tea Making Facility, Wifi, In Room Safe to make your stay extremely a memorable and comfortable, with typical Sri Lankan hospitality. The evening atmosphere is the best, you can get on the Rock by the sea for amazing views of the sun set and this is the most amazing moment! We offer fresh sea food and special Italian dishes, other international cuisines to Local dishes. Galle Fort stands at a distance which you can see from the hotel. The Sun Set Terrace on the third floor is ideal for relaxing with the stunning views and reading your favorite novel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing