We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The hotel was so lovely . Beautiful views lovely position very nice staff all in all just great !!! I would definately stay here again. We had the seaview suite and it was perfect !!! Unawatuna main beach and restaurant area is a very pleasant 5 minute walk away I wouldn't hesitate to reccommend this hotel .

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glennsharyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (463)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

263 - 269 of 463 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

We are staying at the pavillion as I write this. Arrived yesterday for two nights in a two bedroom suite and were pleasantly surprised with the beauty of this resort. We are here in the off season and got a great rate so I was skeptical as to the level of service and quality of the rooms but they have completely blown my expectations away. We arrived to a group of staff that were expecting us, took our bags, handed us a drink and quickly dealt with the check in process before showing us our room. The room is beautiful with lovely furniture and modern facilities. Two floors each with a King Bed, and then a third floor rooftop terrace which we've thoroughly enjoyed having. The staff here are incredible, very attentive and friendly. The breakfast is excellent, the pizza quite good as well (for Sri Lanka). The pool is great, and the grounds are immaculate. I highly recommend this hotel! Oh, and the entire resort is covered with WiFi, not blazing fast but not bad. Good enough for facebooking and uploading photos of this beautiful country!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the third floor terrace. If you're sharing a two bedroom suite it's a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tehsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We arrived at Thaproban Pavillion Resort and Spa after a long 4.5 hr taxi ride from Colombo. It was a very welcoming sight. We were greeted by the friendly front desk staff and shown to our incredibly spacious room. Our room was 104 which we believe is one of the best rooms as it leads straight out on to a small private patio with chairs, and is only a few steps to the pool area which has the most impressive panoramic unspoilt view of the ocean. The view from the 3rd floor balcony in front of the gym and day spa is absolutely beautiful.
If you are planning to visit Sri Lanka, be prepared to travel as there is not a huge amount of things to do in each area. Most of the guests we spoke to only stay for up to 3-4 days. We booked to stay 10 nights which was very relaxing.
This Boutique hotel is fantastic along with every member of staff. Nothing was too much trouble and we felt very pampered for the whole stay. We loved the personal attention we were given and the staff were always happy to stop and have a chat. One day during our stay it poured with rain so we decided to stay in and watch a movie. We were sent a huge basket of fresh fruit wish was a wonderful gesture on a miserable day.
The service we received was 2nd to none. All staff members were so polite and made us feel most welcome. Nothing was too much trouble. One day our air-conditioner stopped working, and after advising Lasantha (food and bev. manager, although we believe he should be the manager) a technician was fixing the problem within 10 minutes.
Each day a staff member would bring a plate of the days fresh catch of fish around to us at the pool area to see if we would like to order any for dinner. A table would be set up and dinner could be served pretty much anywhere we liked, around the pool, in our room or up on the top balcony overlooking the ocean. This is the kind of service we have never been offered before staying in larger hotels.
Each afternoon when our the housekeeping boys came to turn the bed down, they not only brought fresh towels but arranged flower petals in pretty designs on our bed. Occasionally the towels were folded into swans or fancy animals which was cute!
On our last evening, Lasantha came and sat with us outside by the pool. He ordered us drinks and we sat and chatted. This was such a personal friendly touch which we will remember for a long time and makes this hotel first class.
A big thank you to everyone at Thaproban Pavillion for making our holiday special.
We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank suzannemaggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Excellent location away from hustle-bustle, very courteous and accomodating staff. Spacious and clean rooms. Walkable distance to many eateries and the beach. Stayed for 3 days and thoroughly enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lenyy85tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We don't normally stay at hotels this fancy but this was a treat - plus we got it for half the price as it was out of season. We had a ground floor room looking onto the swimming pool and I just cannot say how nice this place was. The sea crashes into the rocks behind and sounds amazing, the service was top notch with really friendly staff, the food was really great (which I don't often expect from expensive hotels tbh), you could basically eat what you liked when it came to breakfast (continental, American, local) and it had a lovely balcony to watch the sunset. It was only a ten minute walk to the nearest beach and I just cannot fault it. The room was huge, the bathrooms luxurious, the pool clean and it had a gym. OK, the gym was a bit broken but still managed to get on the bike for an hour. Treat yourself.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Windsorstopover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We chose this hotel because of their penthouse rooms - which allowed our family of 4 to stay in 1 suite. The penthouse suites are spread across 3 levels - internally connected through wooden staircases. The 2 lower levels have spacious rooms with double beds, and the top level is a small deck that has a beautiful sea view.

The resort opens out into a rocky beach, with a lovely swimming pool. The pool often gets lashed by large waves:)
This area is the highlight of the resort - one can sit here a whole day without getting bored.

The restaurant -where we had breakfast and 1 lunch - was also nice. The Sri Lankan rice and curry was very well done. We found the staff very polite and attentive.

The hotel is located about 5 mins walk to the main Unawatuna beach, and 10 mins to the main restaurant / shopping area. Please note that Unawatuna is a very small town, with a slightly hippie feel to it. It appeared to have a lot of foreign tourists living for longer duration, and the shops / small hotels seemed to be catering to this crowd.

My husband used the spa for a body massage and appreciated it. The spa had only male masseurs.

The only reason I wouldn't give this resort a 5/5 - the rooms do not have any ventilation (only the top level deck opens out to the beach), and not very appealing if you want to spend a full day there. Ditto for the bathrooms..

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RamVenkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The plan was two quiet nights in an ocean front hotel. Well, the Thaproban is on the ocean but it is not so simple to access it. The pool sits along the cliffs of rock and ocean. But the pool is small and very crowded - much like a city pool. The noise level was so bad continuously, I moved my room from a ground floor pool view to a third floor in the back and still had a small view of the ocean and sunset (room # 117). This room is a bit smaller and no living room space (which I would never use) but it is airy and quiet for today at least and has a large balcony facing the sunsets. There is sensitive wifi which fades in and out and room service which is excellent. The staff tries very hard to see that everyone is happy and mostly, I am. It is a very attractive place but there is too much noise everywhere and you can hear the conversations from the next room. That all said, this is not the hotel for me and would not return.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, you must take a room in the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjvagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.4 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 33 in Unawatuna
920 reviews
1.3 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#3 of 33 in Unawatuna
701 reviews
3.9 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#6 of 33 in Unawatuna
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#11 of 33 in Unawatuna
822 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#2 of 33 in Unawatuna
441 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 33 in Unawatuna
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa

Address: Wella Devala Road, Yaddehimulla, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Unawatuna
Price Range: £44 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a newly opened resort in Unawatuna, Situated in the heart of Unawatuna yet away from the hustel and bustel with few minutes walking distance to the world famous Unawatuna Beach and stripes of hotels and restaurants. Thaproban Pavilion is correct blend of serenity and comfort. The hotel is located right by the sea and a man made private beach area which is by the fibre optic pool to enhance the value of your stay. Hotel is very well equipped with all modern facilities to suit your comfort. Our spa and well equipped Gym is over looking the Indian Ocean and while you get the spa therapy you can enjoy the music of nature. All rooms are suites, some rooms are Duplex Suites which are ideal for families or friends and equipped with all type of modern and essential facilities like En Suite Bathroom, King Size Bed with Pillow Menu, 36" LED Satellite Tv, Tea Making Facility, Wifi, In Room Safe to make your stay extremely a memorable and comfortable, with typical Sri Lankan hospitality. The evening atmosphere is the best, you can get on the Rock by the sea for amazing views of the sun set and this is the most amazing moment! We offer fresh sea food and special Italian dishes, other international cuisines to Local dishes. Galle Fort stands at a distance which you can see from the hotel. The Sun Set Terrace on the third floor is ideal for relaxing with the stunning views and reading your favorite novel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing