We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Simply Awesome”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This was far the best place we had stayed on our holiday to Srilanka (stay duration:1 day)

This is how I would sum it up

Upside:

We booked the ocean pavilion and the view from the room is simply amazing with waves crashing on to the resort. The pool-side has a made up sandy area which gives a chic look

The rooms are very spacious with all the necessary amenities. The selection of furniture was very nice and each playing a part in enjoying the pool-side view. The staffs were very friendly and helpful.
An in-house spa is available but did not get a chance to try it out

We wanted to go for an early morning walk but it was raining, we were very happy when the staff provided with their umbrellas so that we could enjoy the day out

Lunch was excellent had the set-menu consisting of four curries and each tasting very srilankan and yummy

Downside:

For breakfast they have three choices American, continental and srilankan to choose from. We were very excited to try the srilankan breakfast (it had variety), but were told that to order the srilankan breakfast we were supposed to place the order the previous night. I wish we were informed about this beforehand.

Wi-fi is available but the strength diminishes and is almost non-existent once you move away from the lobby to the poolside

No exhaust system in the bathroom, you have to open the small windows available, you loose your privacy.

The rooms being very spacious the effectiveness of the air-conditioning system in the room is very poor

Tips:
Jungle beach: The jungle beach is not the same as the Thaproban beach. It is a half an hour walk from the resort with sign-boards every 5 minutes. After 15 minutes of walk you have to take a bush walk which is quite nice and tricky towards the beach. Do wear good shoes and carry plenty of water. Once you reach the stone road towards the beach, do remember your way back. We had got lost on our way back but were happy since this gave us a chance to visit the Peace pogoda which is also very close by (very secluded, very well maintained). PLEASE DO REMEMBER TAKE THE TREK TO JUNGLE BEACH EARLY MORNING (We reached there about 7:30am). You will have the small strip of beach all to your-self (a very good photo opportunity). Have heard that if you go there late, the beach is almost like a theme park with hoards of people

Check photos attached

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K_KShetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    127
    35
    14
    9
See reviews for
158
157
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Long way from the main road is fully reimbursed by the location and views! the road near the hotel is promissed to be fixed soon. Ocean Pavillion room is giving to the ocean and one can enjoy the waves crushing on the rocks - amazing experience both during the day and on sunset time! Rooms are spacious, clean, with large bathroom. Housekeeping done 2 times a day. Problem of all off-season time is high humidity level due to which the towels may be a bit smelly, but they are changed immediately upon request. The hotel has a small rocky beach for sun-bathing or you can walk a bit to the public beach which is really worth a short walk! the breakfast is good, staff is friendly. We had unstable wifi connection which could be explained by stormy wealther and electricity instability. Overall impression - very good!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Anywayanyday

Helpful?
3 Thank Alexa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights (too short) and were impressed by the hotel , the staff , pool , food. I can go on. A special thanks to the hotel manager Priyanga for his help in arranging local transport , advise on local sight-seeing

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank delhoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Upon arrival at this hotel we were very impressed with the lobby; we thought we had arrived at a peaceful haven. We stayed in one of the rooms in the main hotel, and although we cannot fault the staff and the service they provided, we were slightly disappointed when we checked into our rooms. The hotel is selling itself as a boutique hotel, and on the surface it does look like a boutique hotel, however if you look at the smaller details of this hotel they just are not there. Our room was large and spacious, but it looked half finished, the toilet and shower were built into what felt like two separate closets, which felt very strange. Room service - I called and asked for a bucket of ice that never arrived. We did dine at the hotel and I have to say the food was very good, we took our dinner outside by the pool, the only down side for us was that the dining area apace was very small, and there were quite a few kids running around, it kind of ruined the atmosphere that the hotel was trying to achieve. I feel like this hotel has a lot of potential but really could do with some more finer touches. It did however look like it was one of the nicer hotels in Unawatuna.
If you are travelling the coast our recommendation would be to skip Unawatuna and stay Galle Fort.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meme_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The hotel was so lovely . Beautiful views lovely position very nice staff all in all just great !!! I would definately stay here again. We had the seaview suite and it was perfect !!! Unawatuna main beach and restaurant area is a very pleasant 5 minute walk away I wouldn't hesitate to reccommend this hotel .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glennsharyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer Alberta
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We are staying at the pavillion as I write this. Arrived yesterday for two nights in a two bedroom suite and were pleasantly surprised with the beauty of this resort. We are here in the off season and got a great rate so I was skeptical as to the level of service and quality of the rooms but they have completely blown my expectations away. We arrived to a group of staff that were expecting us, took our bags, handed us a drink and quickly dealt with the check in process before showing us our room. The room is beautiful with lovely furniture and modern facilities. Two floors each with a King Bed, and then a third floor rooftop terrace which we've thoroughly enjoyed having. The staff here are incredible, very attentive and friendly. The breakfast is excellent, the pizza quite good as well (for Sri Lanka). The pool is great, and the grounds are immaculate. I highly recommend this hotel! Oh, and the entire resort is covered with WiFi, not blazing fast but not bad. Good enough for facebooking and uploading photos of this beautiful country!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the third floor terrace. If you're sharing a two bedroom suite it's a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tehsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We arrived at Thaproban Pavillion Resort and Spa after a long 4.5 hr taxi ride from Colombo. It was a very welcoming sight. We were greeted by the friendly front desk staff and shown to our incredibly spacious room. Our room was 104 which we believe is one of the best rooms as it leads straight out on to a small private patio with chairs, and is only a few steps to the pool area which has the most impressive panoramic unspoilt view of the ocean. The view from the 3rd floor balcony in front of the gym and day spa is absolutely beautiful.
If you are planning to visit Sri Lanka, be prepared to travel as there is not a huge amount of things to do in each area. Most of the guests we spoke to only stay for up to 3-4 days. We booked to stay 10 nights which was very relaxing.
This Boutique hotel is fantastic along with every member of staff. Nothing was too much trouble and we felt very pampered for the whole stay. We loved the personal attention we were given and the staff were always happy to stop and have a chat. One day during our stay it poured with rain so we decided to stay in and watch a movie. We were sent a huge basket of fresh fruit wish was a wonderful gesture on a miserable day.
The service we received was 2nd to none. All staff members were so polite and made us feel most welcome. Nothing was too much trouble. One day our air-conditioner stopped working, and after advising Lasantha (food and bev. manager, although we believe he should be the manager) a technician was fixing the problem within 10 minutes.
Each day a staff member would bring a plate of the days fresh catch of fish around to us at the pool area to see if we would like to order any for dinner. A table would be set up and dinner could be served pretty much anywhere we liked, around the pool, in our room or up on the top balcony overlooking the ocean. This is the kind of service we have never been offered before staying in larger hotels.
Each afternoon when our the housekeeping boys came to turn the bed down, they not only brought fresh towels but arranged flower petals in pretty designs on our bed. Occasionally the towels were folded into swans or fancy animals which was cute!
On our last evening, Lasantha came and sat with us outside by the pool. He ordered us drinks and we sat and chatted. This was such a personal friendly touch which we will remember for a long time and makes this hotel first class.
A big thank you to everyone at Thaproban Pavillion for making our holiday special.
We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank suzannemaggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.4 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 31 in Unawatuna
881 reviews
1.3 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 31 in Unawatuna
670 reviews
3.9 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#9 of 31 in Unawatuna
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 31 in Unawatuna
400 reviews
0.6 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 31 in Unawatuna
810 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 31 in Unawatuna
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa

Property: Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa
Address: Wella Devala Road, Yaddehimulla, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a newly opened resort in Unawatuna, Situated in the heart of Unawatuna yet away from the hustel and bustel with few minutes walking distance to the world famous Unawatuna Beach and stripes of hotels and restaurants. Thaproban Pavilion is correct blend of serenity and comfort. The hotel is located right by the sea and a man made private beach area which is by the fibre optic pool to enhance the value of your stay. Hotel is very well equipped with all modern facilities to suit your comfort. Our spa and well equipped Gym is over looking the Indian Ocean and while you get the spa therapy you can enjoy the music of nature. All rooms are suites, some rooms are Duplex Suites which are ideal for families or friends and equipped with all type of modern and essential facilities like En Suite Bathroom, King Size Bed with Pillow Menu, 36" LED Satellite Tv, Tea Making Facility, Wifi, In Room Safe to make your stay extremely a memorable and comfortable, with typical Sri Lankan hospitality. The evening atmosphere is the best, you can get on the Rock by the sea for amazing views of the sun set and this is the most amazing moment! We offer fresh sea food and special Italian dishes, other international cuisines to Local dishes. Galle Fort stands at a distance which you can see from the hotel. The Sun Set Terrace on the third floor is ideal for relaxing with the stunning views and reading your favorite novel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing