We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We just had a two week vacation here and we absolutely loved it. Great views of the ocean and a very homey feel to the place. There's a darling little natural rock pool in the grounds next to the hotel which is just perfect for a private tanning session or reading or even wading in the rock pool. This was my favourite place to be. It's even more romantic in the evening when the sun's setting and the lanterns are turned on. The Sri Lankan food served here was fantastic but for western dishes not so much. Something they could work on.

They do have a fresh catch everyday which they happily bring out so you can pick whatever you like. We tried crab, grouper, snapper and even lobster. Epic curries and their Sri Lankan breakfast is really good too. But the main stars here were the staff. Every single one of them were so sweet and helpful and they really do try and take care of anything at all to improve your stay. Shout outs to Chaminder and Sathya from the restaurant. A big thanks to everyone else who took such good care of us. Love, Priscilla and AJ.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Priscilla E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    127
    35
    14
    9
See reviews for
159
158
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

The place has the potential to be much more, but the owner must improve the quality of the restaurant and the finish of the rooms a good deal before there is a fair balance between the price and the experience! Our feelings were shared by a number of other guests that we spoke to!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank EliseRossHansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thaproban, Manager at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Guest,
We appreciate your positive review and remarks. We will consider them for enhancing the quality of the product and service. We thank you for selecting your stay with Thaproban Pavilion Resort & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Had a wonderful 10 day holiday here with husband and 2 children at Easter 2014. Lovely hotel, great rooms for a family(duplex centre pavilion ) tho top room very hot. Pool and tiny beach great and staff do friendly and helpful. We all loved it and wish we could be back there now.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charminsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Great place for families and couples. The location is perfect and beautiful by the sea. We stayed for ten days, with our one year old daughter, and we belive this was the best hotel for us to stay at with such a young child. The restaurant is quite good, and we only had better food at King Fisher in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ane80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Great ambience, beautiful location, spacious rooms/pavilion, excellent food and very personal and friendly service! It felt like home. The team and the manager made sure we were comfortable. Will surely head back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xxxRavi1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed at the Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa for four days, to relax a bit after an intense 12 days Kitsurfing in the North West of Sri Lanka.

Rooms are spacious and clean, bed is big and comfortable, view of the pool and surrounding rocks was superb. Aircon works flawlessly.

Breakfast was good, with a choice of various menus. We dined at the hotel once, food was good, not great (chicken burger for me, prawns for my girlfriend). They have a selection of "Catch of the Day" that looked way nicer, but there were a bit more pricey of course. Avoid the house wine, not good to European standards. Some nice selection of wines, if you can afford it.

Pool area is magnificient, pool is small but fits the size of the hotel perfectly, these surrounding rocks are amazing. There is even a small "beach area" on the side with a natural pool protected from the waves by big rocks, for those who prefer salt water. (I'm not one of them)

Hotel is really close for the main Unawatuna beach, where you will find plenty of restaurants, shops etc. It's one of the closest hotel from the famous Jungle Beach (be prepared, it's quite a hike !)

My girlfriend tried to get a massage at the spa, but the spa closes quite early in the evening, and since we stayed during Vesak the person in charge of the spa cares wasn't working for one or two days.

Would recommend this hotel if you're staying in Unawatuna, great value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VinceGE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This was far the best place we had stayed on our holiday to Srilanka (stay duration:1 day)

This is how I would sum it up

Upside:

We booked the ocean pavilion and the view from the room is simply amazing with waves crashing on to the resort. The pool-side has a made up sandy area which gives a chic look

The rooms are very spacious with all the necessary amenities. The selection of furniture was very nice and each playing a part in enjoying the pool-side view. The staffs were very friendly and helpful.
An in-house spa is available but did not get a chance to try it out

We wanted to go for an early morning walk but it was raining, we were very happy when the staff provided with their umbrellas so that we could enjoy the day out

Lunch was excellent had the set-menu consisting of four curries and each tasting very srilankan and yummy

Downside:

For breakfast they have three choices American, continental and srilankan to choose from. We were very excited to try the srilankan breakfast (it had variety), but were told that to order the srilankan breakfast we were supposed to place the order the previous night. I wish we were informed about this beforehand.

Wi-fi is available but the strength diminishes and is almost non-existent once you move away from the lobby to the poolside

No exhaust system in the bathroom, you have to open the small windows available, you loose your privacy.

The rooms being very spacious the effectiveness of the air-conditioning system in the room is very poor

Tips:
Jungle beach: The jungle beach is not the same as the Thaproban beach. It is a half an hour walk from the resort with sign-boards every 5 minutes. After 15 minutes of walk you have to take a bush walk which is quite nice and tricky towards the beach. Do wear good shoes and carry plenty of water. Once you reach the stone road towards the beach, do remember your way back. We had got lost on our way back but were happy since this gave us a chance to visit the Peace pogoda which is also very close by (very secluded, very well maintained). PLEASE DO REMEMBER TAKE THE TREK TO JUNGLE BEACH EARLY MORNING (We reached there about 7:30am). You will have the small strip of beach all to your-self (a very good photo opportunity). Have heard that if you go there late, the beach is almost like a theme park with hoards of people

Check photos attached

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K_KShetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.4 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 32 in Unawatuna
899 reviews
1.3 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 32 in Unawatuna
690 reviews
3.9 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#8 of 32 in Unawatuna
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 32 in Unawatuna
422 reviews
0.6 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 32 in Unawatuna
814 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Thawthisa The Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa

Property: Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa
Address: Wella Devala Road, Yaddehimulla, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a newly opened resort in Unawatuna, Situated in the heart of Unawatuna yet away from the hustel and bustel with few minutes walking distance to the world famous Unawatuna Beach and stripes of hotels and restaurants. Thaproban Pavilion is correct blend of serenity and comfort. The hotel is located right by the sea and a man made private beach area which is by the fibre optic pool to enhance the value of your stay. Hotel is very well equipped with all modern facilities to suit your comfort. Our spa and well equipped Gym is over looking the Indian Ocean and while you get the spa therapy you can enjoy the music of nature. All rooms are suites, some rooms are Duplex Suites which are ideal for families or friends and equipped with all type of modern and essential facilities like En Suite Bathroom, King Size Bed with Pillow Menu, 36" LED Satellite Tv, Tea Making Facility, Wifi, In Room Safe to make your stay extremely a memorable and comfortable, with typical Sri Lankan hospitality. The evening atmosphere is the best, you can get on the Rock by the sea for amazing views of the sun set and this is the most amazing moment! We offer fresh sea food and special Italian dishes, other international cuisines to Local dishes. Galle Fort stands at a distance which you can see from the hotel. The Sun Set Terrace on the third floor is ideal for relaxing with the stunning views and reading your favorite novel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing