We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I doubt I will return ever again.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“I doubt I will return ever again.”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Booked this resort based on the Tripadvisor reviews. I thought it would be great. However I was thoroughly disappointed. The resort looked worn off and is in serious need of renovation and refurbishment. When my partner and I arrived, we were welcomed by hesitant staff who looked puzzled. I do have to mention that the road to the resort at the pavilion is narrow and unsafe. The reception area was empty and the staff who was tending to my check in was friendly. I think he was the only one in the place who was actually nice. Got through the check in with a 15- 20 min wait as our room wasn't ready ( that wasn't an issue for us as it was raining heavily and we didn't have anything to rush forth for). The room is spacious and it was a standard room and its big enough to walk and put in plenty of luggages. Well, that was the only good part. Now comes the bad part.
The toilet had a horrible stench - smelled almost like a sewage disposal area-. The bed was creaky and the center of the bed frame seemed broken as it was sinking in. We had a good view of the ocean though. There were basic television channels that included HBO signature. However, the signal / reception went on and off throughout the day. The lights in the room area (MASTER) didn't work. The only light that functioned was the bed side lights and the front area of the room ( where the door is). There was air conditioner that worked pretty well and the ceiling fan didn't.
The water pressure in the toilet was weak and slow.
The pool area was breath taking. It was drizzling and the pool area was maintained well. With an amazing view, i think it wasn't all that bad.
We decided to have dinner and we ordered pizza and pasta. It was a decent meal, however the waiter had problem understanding when I asked him to switch the spaghetti to penne pasta. He was a bit confused but it was all sorted by another person. The dining area looks worn off.
We decided to skip breakfast as the breakfast menu was ala carte and wasn't appealing. We checked out early.
I don't think I would return to this place again. Probably after they have renovated and updated the place and the staff's training skills. And for USD 130 dollars, I think I will be able to find a better suited accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shellylovesburgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thaproban, General Manager at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear valued guest,
Thank you for your review of Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa. As mentioned in your review, you have gone through the good reviews that we have received in the site which led you to have selected the hotel. So we feel those reviewers have not faced such disappointments of the product and the services of Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa and so that they have given their genuine reviews. We believe all are true and correct.
As you feel the hotel does not need the renovation and refurbishment because, we have been running our hotel in second year from the opening still. I feel you haven’t understood the hotel concept well. The hotel EXTERIOR was designed as such to appear as an Old Dutch street concept to go with the hotel’s location by the sea and with the view of the Galle Fort at a distance and the architectural design is as such to create the atmosphere of the dutch era, The INTERIOR is designed to be modern and offer lot of comfort to the guests, We recently hosted a Dutch Film Crew who chose Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa for its unique design and concept even though there are many places inside the Galle Fort with the Dutch colonial style. We have worked with one of the Sri Lankan great architect and we are sorry that you couldn't understand the concept of the hotel.
About what is mentioned of the road is narrow and unsafe we have to say that lots of tourist coaches are running in this road daily without any hassle and we never faced any unsafe incident so far. So it is unfair to have an unnecessary fear.
We do have a very sensible high tech touch board system in the hotel rooms for electrical equipment. Think you have no experienced them properly. We feel that’s why you have faced the lighting and the ceiling fan problems in the room. We would have to educate you giving more information and demonstrating them.
The other one is that the waiter had a problem understanding of your language when you asked him to switch the spaghetti to penne pasta. Dear valued guest, we know that, all our water staff is not well- versed in English and lance. It is unfair to examine their English knowledge and we are happy to hear that the problem was sorted out by another person. It doesn't mean the staff is unskilled.
We thank you for selecting your stay with Thaproban Pavilion Resort & Spa and your review. We wish the guest will enjoy the total experience next time. Look forward to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    126
    35
    14
    9
See reviews for
158
157
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Although I really enjoyed staying at Thaproban resort it sadly began on a sour note. Upon arrival we were shown to our room where the lights, tv and AC did not work. This was fixed within 30 minutes but it is not what you would like to have after a long days travel.

After speaking with the manager about my experience, he offered me the chance to move room. At this point our experience at Thaproban improved greatly.

The great aspects of this hotel are;
1. Customer service is outstanding! The staff work endlessly to ensure that customers are happy and that you enjoy your stay.
2. The restaurant! The quality of food and drink was perfect for the duration of our stay. Additionally the breakfast options are extensive and always served with a smile.
3. Location, it is just a short walk away from the main beach and main shops (not that there are many) that are available.
4. Swimming pool, the swimming pool is perfect to take a quick dip too cool off.

The wind and rain sheets that are located on the outside of the balconies could do with a bit of TLC, during a few windy nights the sheets created an almighty racket and made it hard to sleep.

Overall if I was going back to Unawatuna I would defiantly be booking back in at Thaproban.


Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank brydubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
235 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I really wanted to like this hotel but it needs much better management and a good clean. First the good; the pool is gorgeous and the setting is fantastic, the staff are extremely friendly if completely lacking in direction.
We booked a taxi to collect us from Galle bus station and confirmed with the manager on the day of our arrival. When we arrived and no taxi was there we called to enquire and no one knew what we were talking about it.
The room was pleasant although not very clean, the wifi connected but didn't work and the patio door did not lock.
Lunch in the restaurant was ok although we were served warm beer and were told it couldn't be replaced as the bottles had been opened! Although they did offer to leave them in the fridge while they chilled down...
Breakfast the next morning was nice although the Sri Lankan breakfast must be ordered in advance; something we were not told.
Our taxi to Colombo the next day was late despite being booked the previous day and reconfirmed twice.
I am willing to make some allowances for a country where tourism is a young industry but at over $200 a night this hotel is wildly overpriced and in need of some better management. You would be better off at almost any of the cheaper guesthouses on Unawatuna Beach.

Room Tip: The pool front rooms have balconies that open on to the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrynNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This is a beautiful hidden Hotel with amazing staff who go out of their way to make sure all your needs are met. Amazing view, spacious rooms and even better food.

I would recommend this hotel to all travelling with family, friends or partners.

Location is is also perfect.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

A very charming luxurious and beautiful Hotel very close to Unawatuna beach and not far from Jungle beach. The staff are very attentive without being intrusive. I'm so glad we chose this hotel and would definately recommend it. The rooms are so spacious we even had a palm tree growing in our room. A very special retreat!

Room Tip: Maybe not directly by the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SiedahT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thaproban, Manager at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Happy to hear your stay was great at Thaproban Pavilion Resort & Spa. Your happy review encourages us more and more for a better service. We most sincerely appreciate your kind remarks and our staff does most sincerely appreciate them. We are looking forward to welcome you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Arrived at this hotel without much knowledge about it as our tour operator arrange for us (me, my wife and our two daughters) to stay here for 2 nights ( 5-6 August, 2014). But this was our favorite among the four different hotels we stayed during our 8 days Sri Lanka trip. The seas-side swimming pool was the best where while swimming we were occasionally getting the splashes from the strong sea-waves. The duplex room with balcony on the 2nd floor was too good. The hotel staff were really nice...specially one guy (I can't remember his name though) who used to play cricket in England and spent 22 years in Europe knew exactly what we value most.
Only problem was that the sea beach was not attached to hotel. We had to take our car to the beach and my daughters were too tired to walk. I want to return to this hotel if opportunity arises.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harun M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thaproban, Manager at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Guest,
We thank you for your genuine review of the Thproban Pavilion Resort & Spa. We most sincerely appreciate your kind remarks. Our dedicated staff does most sincerely appreciate your kind remarks.Thank you for giving us the entire pleasure & privilege of serving you. we are looking forward to welcome you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We ended our 1st holiday in Sri Lanka staying here for four days and we absolutely loved it! Beautiful big modern 2nd floor room (has a lift though) looking out at the sea and the waves crashing on the rocks with spacious balcony that was as beautifully furnished as the room.
Pool was great and my hubby tried the small private beach area accessible from the pool too. He bathed in the rock pool while watching the waves crashing on the rocks just out from him.
Breakfast was excellent! I always ordered the fruit plate instead of the fruit juice and it was a feast, but the juice was fresh and served in beautiful glasses so I wouldn't say one was better than the other. Ordering the Sri Lankan breakfast the day before is an absolute must, YUM! We didn't eat any other meals in the resturant as it didn't have a view and there were so many options in Unawatuna, with many tables actually on the beach, loved them! Seafood exceptional there too.

Room Tip: Not sure about the other rooms, but the second floor has stunning sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thaproban, Manager at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your great review of your stay here with us at Thaproban Pavilion Resort & Spa. It is great to read such positives comments about your stay. Our dedicated staff does most sincerely appreciate your kind remarks. Thank you for giving us the entire pleasure & privilege of serving you. Look forward to you returning if at all possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.4 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#5 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
1.3 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#4 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#9 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.6 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa

Property: Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa
Address: Wella Devala Road, Yaddehimulla, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a newly opened resort in Unawatuna, Situated in the heart of Unawatuna yet away from the hustel and bustel with few minutes walking distance to the world famous Unawatuna Beach and stripes of hotels and restaurants. Thaproban Pavilion is correct blend of serenity and comfort. The hotel is located right by the sea and a man made private beach area which is by the fibre optic pool to enhance the value of your stay. Hotel is very well equipped with all modern facilities to suit your comfort. Our spa and well equipped Gym is over looking the Indian Ocean and while you get the spa therapy you can enjoy the music of nature. All rooms are suites, some rooms are Duplex Suites which are ideal for families or friends and equipped with all type of modern and essential facilities like En Suite Bathroom, King Size Bed with Pillow Menu, 36" LED Satellite Tv, Tea Making Facility, Wifi, In Room Safe to make your stay extremely a memorable and comfortable, with typical Sri Lankan hospitality. The evening atmosphere is the best, you can get on the Rock by the sea for amazing views of the sun set and this is the most amazing moment! We offer fresh sea food and special Italian dishes, other international cuisines to Local dishes. Galle Fort stands at a distance which you can see from the hotel. The Sun Set Terrace on the third floor is ideal for relaxing with the stunning views and reading your favorite novel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing