We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$68
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$48
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cantaloupe Aqua(Unawatuna)
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
CoCo Bay Unawatuna(Unawatuna)
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$153/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$73
Priceline
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sergeant House(Unawatuna)
US$267
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$236
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$370
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$348
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveller rating
98
43
10
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
98
43
10
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main roadkind familysuperior king roomunawatuna beachbus stophot watertuk tuksri lankanice terracelovely familyminute walkair contoast and jambusy roadrooms are cleanstayed for nightschicken curry
Filter
Updating list...
106 - 111 of 154 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2013 via mobile

As mentioned earlier, there's a very nice terrace where you can enjoy your breakfast, watch the cars swish by and chat with other people staying. The family is very friendly and the rooms are very nice. 2 minute-walk from the beach and the bus just outside. I wish I could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kundvagnen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasun_T_Samarajeewa, Owner at Sam's Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2013

We appreciate your review sir. It's really important us to know your ideas.Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our 2 night stay very much indeed. The owners were so lovely, helpful and friendly. Definitely start the day with their hearty breakfast and the best tea we had on our trip. The only complaint we have is that it's quite noisy being by the main road but this would not stop us from staying again. One of the highlights of our trip.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RBSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasun_T_Samarajeewa, Owner at Sam's Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2013

We appreciate your review sir. It's really important us to know your ideas.Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

This is one of the friendliest guesthouses we stayed at in Sri Lanka. We were made very welcome, and their food was really delicious. They have 4 rooms, 2 at the front and 2 at the back, plus a large communal terrace at the front. The rooms are clean and tidy, and the family are very helpful with directions and organizing trips.

Although we didn't like the busy main tourist strip in Unawatuna, you can walk a couple of kilometers in either direction away from the center to reach more secluded beaches, in particular Jungle Beach and the Peace Pagoda.

The guesthouse is right on the busy Colombo road, so it can get pretty noisy sitting on the terrace! However, the bus stop is right across the road, so this is an easy place to get to and from.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandSpice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasun_T_Samarajeewa, Owner at Sam's Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2013

We appreciate your review sir. It's really important us to know your ideas.Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

The guesthouse is run by a lovely family who are very friendly and want your stay to be a positive experience. The rooms are very clean and comfotable. They can provide an excellent breakfast on request!! The best Sri Lankan breaky we had. This is not on the beach but a 3 minute walk across a main road, which isn't a hassle. They also helped us organise a tuk tuk for our next destination. The owners son (who I think is there on weekends) was extremely nice and suggested where to go and what to see on our trip. I would recommend staying here as it is very homely!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BronsonAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasun_T_Samarajeewa, Owner at Sam's Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2013

We appreciate your review sir. It's really important us to know your ideas.Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews