We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family-run guesthouse on the main road of Unawatuna” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sam's Guest House

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Sam's Guest House
Ranked #9 of 140 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cancun, Mexico
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Family-run guesthouse on the main road of Unawatuna”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

The family at this guest house is incredible and really nice. They were always making sure that we had everything we needed, that we were comfortable and enjoying our time in Unawatuna. The hotel is right on the main street, so it can be a little noisy, especially if you have a room looking out onto the road. We didn’t mind the noise, so we slept really well. There is a bus stop right in front of the guesthouse, so if you want to go to Galle or somewhere else, it is very convenient and the staff will help you take the correct bus. There is a beach about 2 minutes away, but it isn’t the main beach. To get to the main beach you must walk for about 15 minutes or take a tuk tuk that will charge 200 LKR (expensive considering the short distance). The room is well equipped with a large private bathroom, a ceiling fan, mosquito net, a drawer and a rack for hanging clothes and towels. High-speed WiFi is also available. Breakfast was available at a low cost and was quite complete. They also offer a Sri Lankan dinner that you must ask for about 3 hours before dinner time; we ordered rice and chicken curry and it was very delicious. When we asked for laundry, they did it for a small fee and gave back our clothes the next day. This is a very good guest house in Unawatuna.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    43
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
6
68
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

We booked 5 days through agoda but exteended our stay to a whole week. Never had we expected such a wonderful welcome and great service. The rooms are plain and very clean and the family did all they could to make us happy. Here u really get value for the money. No where in Unawatuna seemed better. We lived in the rooms close to the road but it did not bother us with the noise. It was mainly noisy during the day. It is only a few min. Walk from the beach and Unawatuna Diving centre. If u are lucky to stay here at Sams dont forget to try the great homecooked food. We look forward to come back.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tsntai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coimbatore, India
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

As soon as you enter, you get welcomed with huge smiles which immediately makes you feel at home and welcome.
Sam's guest house was right next to the beach and the main road which makes it a bit noisy at night. But with headphones you can easily look past this small problem.
Everyone here goes all the way to make you feel comfortable. From arranging a friendly tuk-tuk for your transportation needs to making you a delicious candle light dinner.
I will stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NvnRjn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

The family who run Sam's Guest House are delightful. All is clean and the service is very good. The beach is but a few yards away and all is very good value. I've always enjoyed staying here, my family from home, a home from home.

Room Tip: All the rooms are clean and en suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

To start of with, we had a great stay and the people working there were super friendly and spoke English well, which was nice for a change. But like in any other guesthouse there are some problems, our room faced the street so it was pretty noisy, our toilet didn't work every time, the internet was slow (they said that there monthly limit was used and therefor slow), and in the end the breakfast was plain.

But if your looking for a cheap place to stay in unawatuna, this is highly recommend, only a 2 min walk to the beach and a really friendly staff.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Emil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasun_T_Samarajeewa, Owner at Sam's Guest House, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
I really appreciate your review. I am really sorry for the inconvenience that you faced. Our front rooms are bit noisy but with earplugs you could have avoided it. This is the first time I got a complain about a bathroom. If you had asked about it, I would have looked for it. And about the Internet, because of no restriction of usage some guests have done heavy downloads ( Movies, Videos) , so our monthly capacity has been exceeded.Then connection has been got slower.

Once again sorry for the inconvenience. Thank you for reviewing us and this would help us to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

This was a real treasure in the midst of many dodgy guesthouses in the area. This guesthouse is on the main road located beside Panorama Hotel. It is about a 10 minute walk or 2 minute tuk-tuk ride to the beach.
The real highlight of this place is that you really feel at home. A family lives on the ground floor and there are 4 rooms on the top floor. During our stay, the family went above and beyond to make us comfortable and helped us make our trip really special. The home-cooked meals were the best local we have found anywhere so far.
The only downside of this place is that because it is located on the main road, there is lots of traffic. If you stay in the front two rooms, bring some earplugs. The back two rooms are totally fine without.
For the price paid and including breakfast, it is by far the best deal in Unawatuna. Even with the noise, we extended our stay from 2 days to 5 days and only because of how wonderful it was to stay at Sam's.
I highly recommend this to anyone looking for a comfortable, clean and affordable place to stay. I will definitely stay here the next time I am in Unawatuna :)

Room Tip: Ask for one of the back rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank draci097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasun_T_Samarajeewa, Owner at Sam's Guest House, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you. I really appreciate your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

From stepping through the door, everyone is very friendly and helpful at all times of the day. a home away from home. I would stay again, and would be comfortable if travelling solo. Its very close to the bus stop for buses along the coast or to Galle, only downside is the road can be noisy during the day time.

Room Tip: the 2 rooms at the back will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasun_T_Samarajeewa, Owner at Sam's Guest House, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you. I really appreciate your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.3 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nooit Gedacht Holiday Resort
Nooit Gedacht Holiday Resort
#18 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pink Elephant Hotel and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Black Beauty Guesthouse
Black Beauty Guesthouse
#32 of 140 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bedspace Guesthouse
Bedspace Guesthouse
#1 of 140 in Unawatuna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sam's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sam's Guest House

Property: Sam's Guest House
Address: Peellagoda, Unawatuna, Galle 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sam's Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in Unawatuna, Sam's Guest House is a great base from which to explore this vibrant city. The hotel lies 6.0 Km from the city center and provides accessibility to important town facilities. With its convenient location, the hotel offers easy access to the city's must-see destinations. Take advantage of a wealth of unrivaled services and amenities at this Unawatuna hotel. A selection of top-class facilities such as family room, Wi-Fi in public areas, car park, restaurant, 24-hour room service can be enjoyed at the hotel. Step into one of 8 inviting rooms and escape the stresses of the day with a wide range of amenities such as desk, internet access - wireless, air conditioning, complimentary bottled water, fan. Besides, the hotel's host of recreational offerings ensures you have plenty to do during your stay. With an ideal location and facilities to match, Sam's Guest House hits the spot in many ways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Sam's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing