We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Seer fish”

Sun n Sea Wood Fire Bistro
Ranked #17 of 97 Restaurants in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$20
Cuisines: Pizza, Cafe, Fusion, Sri Lankan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Main Menu: Served All Day Every DayWood fire Pizza: Monday-Friday After 6pm Saturday Sunday After 1pm Located at the end of Unawatuna beach (opposite end to the temple) a short Tuk Tuk ride from the main beach roadThe Bistro at the Sun n Sea:Locally Sourced ingredients from within 140kmInternaional techniques, Local ChefsCinnamon and Coconut wood Fired Pizza made fresh to order.Daily Hand produced Dough, bread, Sauces, butter and PestoMarket Fresh Yellowfin TunaSustainable Sourcing: Free range eggs and Chicken, No Lobster, No Coral Fish,Challenging and changing menu with original dishes and well respected Rice n CurryGreat Service from Loyal, positive, Knowledgeable Staff Our only aim is to provide the best meal you will have whilst in Sri Lanka. We have a beautiful setting with a fantastic Upstairs Chill out lounge, an open kitchen looking out over the Indian Ocean and Una’s memorable sunsets.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful Seer fish”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We found this by accident on our last night and it was the second best meal after the Kingfisher. The fish was really tasty and I enjoyed my banana fritter and ice cream as well, this was the only place that didn't automatically put 10% charge on top. Everyone elses food looked good as well and it was busy.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    57
    20
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great setting, great service, great pizza! ”
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

We tried several restaurants in Unawatuna during our week long stay, but ended up coming back here for a second time to try the pizzas because the service and atmosphere were so fantastic the first time we visited for seafood / rice and curry. All meals we had here were really good but the pizzas on particular we're outstanding. (Try the 'smoked' pizza for something different - it's awesome!) I highly recommend this place if you're after something a little fancier in a romantic setting with great food and wine, and friendly service. Enjoy!

Helpful?
Thank bradhandamyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Unawatuna, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delicious Pizza - not just for South Sri Lanka!”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

I had been wanting to visit the bistro ever since i saw the sign out the front of the restaurant. I could tell that there was something great to be had at this place (the blackboard held a lot of promise!) and i was right! All the ingredients were super fresh and tasty, and there was PROPER cheese ... creamy mozzarella like it should be on a pizza.In particular the pizza with the apricot compote and the cream cheese was incredible. The combination of the apricot, cream cheese, chicken and then the rosemary was delicious, unique and unlike any other pizza I have had! I have tried quite a few pizza places on the south coast of Sri Lanka and this was with no exaggeration at least twice as good as any other pizza I have tried. The pizzas came out fast and perfectly cooked and pretty much all at the same time (hard to do with a group of 10 and some 6 pizzas!). Only negative thing i can say is that i wish the pizza oven opened earlier than 6pm as it is in the perfect location for a late lunch!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Verity M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pretty decent BF”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

The choices were limited but you definitly get what you pay for..Service is always with a smile... The heavy BF was definitely after a night of partying

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Neero700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“awesome pizza in the italian style”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We have just been to this restaurant and our three teenagers had the pizza. We sat in the upstairs bar watching the sun set into the Indian Ocean and watched the chef prep the oven for the night. After seeing the first two pizzas come out there was no question about ordering anything else. We lived in Italy 6 years ago so we are fairly fussy about pizza. Obviously we never expected an authentic italian pizza in Unawatuna Sri Lanka! Whilst chatting to the chef we learned how much thought and effort they had gone into sourcing quality ingredients such as the mozzarella and ricotta. If you are hankering after a good pizza this is definitely where you should head. I have just noticed the reviews that were negative and really don't understand them. The service was friendly and we really felt that the food was very high quality. Perhaps on the evening these reviewers visited there were exceptional circumstances which can happen in any business.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Japtour2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sun n Sea Wood Fire Bistro also viewed

Unawatuna, Galle District
Unawatuna, Galle District
 

Been to Sun n Sea Wood Fire Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing