We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful food, warm friendly service and perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pink Elephant Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #17 of 145 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful food, warm friendly service and perfect location”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I travelled to unawatuna as a little treat between volunteering in another part of Sri Lanka and booked into a hotel near the pink elephant that was just awful, we came here for dinner on our first night and loved it, so after a bad evening at the other hotel we switched to this lovely place!

The little restaurant and chill out area downstairs is just lovely and has a really relaxed bohemian feel about it! The staff are all very friendly and welcoming and make you feel right at home!!

The food is really good value and very delicious!! id recommend the kebabs!!! It is perfect if you love the beach as its about 2 steps out the front door!!

The rooms are big and there is a choice of air con or no air con! We stayed in the sea view room with air con and it was clean, very spacious and had a huge balcony! one thing that I thought was a nice touch was all the plug sockets had adapters in them already, a small but very useful service (especially as i had forgotten mine). Also the wifi is excellent coverage even on the 2nd floor!

I just wish I could have stayed here longer!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michala M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    26
    7
    3
    5
See reviews for
3
46
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Schwaebisch Gmuend, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2013

For a simple backpacker the perfect place to stay and relax.
Free Wifi, the nice chillout area and most important the friendly and welcoming staff members made it perfect stay at the beautiful Unawatuna beach.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

As the only dorm hostel we'd come across, Pink Elephant had a busy, young backpacker vibe. The rooms are clean, good value and safe. The owners are very friendly and it was a perfect place for a lone traveller and couples as there is also private rooms. The food is a little expensive, but the rooms are cheap and has a great area downstairs to sit and chat, can be a nice change from the sleepy guesthouses all over Sri Lanka.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank olivia j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rishon Lezion, Israel
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

we got to unawatuna and planed to stay there only one night. after we arrived to the pink elephant we found ourselves staying longer than we planned and left after 3 nights.
first of all, fajer and alison (the owners) were the most friendly and welcoming people we've met during our entire trip in sri lanka. it really felt like home away from home.
it was more than just a guest house to sleep at, we found ourselves spending each night smoking shisha (which was great by the way), talking and having real good time with fajer, alison and other travelers. the atmosphere was very good, warm and relaxing.
besides that, the rooms were very clean, and so was the restaurant in the place. we warmly recommend the great authentic turkish coffee and the classic arabic breakfast.
long story short - if you're looking fore something more than a place to sleep in, we highly recommend the pink elephant guest house - you won't be dissapointed.

Room Tip: ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eyal c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

I had a great time there, Fajr was a good surprise because I have been travelling for about 3 months now & he was the first Arabic face to meet, he also got me a nice Iftar that I needed most!
Over all, the place is clean, the staff is very friendly & their care about your experience! They helped us last minute & got us beds for the "new hostel" but hey it was alright for us & we appreciated it.
Food & shisha are the highlight, the place is also few steps away from the sandy beach so that's really nice too. I was happy. Thanks guys!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ahmedmamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.1 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#5 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Unawatuna Beach Bungalow Hotel
0.2 mi away
Peacock Hotel
Peacock Hotel
#23 of 31 in Unawatuna
3.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.3 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pink Elephant Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pink Elephant Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Pink Elephant Hotel and Restaurant
Address: 110 Yaddahi Mulla Rd, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pink Elephant Hotel and Restaurant is located in the heart of Unawatuna, a stunning beach town on Sri Lanka’s Southern coast, just 5 km from Galle city centre. Whether you’re traveling on a shoestring or looking for a glamorously romantic getaway, the Pink Elephant has got you covered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Pink Elephant Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing