We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has it all!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pink Elephant Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 145 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Has it all!”
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

This place is just great! Different options of rooms with prices and additions to match. No frills dorms with fan and nettings to A/C rooms with all the trimmings. Both options have balconies and the nurturing sound of the ocean. Beach is a 10 second walk across the street and staff are welcoming and helpful!
Menu is vast with everything from platter styles to hearty wraps to breakfast options and of course curries.
Smoothies, fresh juices and teas available also.
And if thats not enough, get amongst their assortments od tasty shisha and kick back in the vibrant lounge and restaurant.
If you prefer to dine elsewhere, your choices are plenty and very close by.
This place is central and it truly does have all that you need in the Unawatuna paradise.
Highly reccommend :-)

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ThisIsTems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    26
    8
    3
    5
See reviews for
3
48
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Oh my god! Listen to me, you really have to go to this restaurant! Why? First, the food is just the best western food ever, there cook is amazing. You have to try the chicken or paneer kebab and any wrap they have on the menu! You will not be deceive! Second, they don't have license for alcohol but you can buy beer just in front and come back with it in the restaurant. Or you buy a bottle of wine and the gently waiter gonna put it in the freezer and you will have the best coldest and cheapest drink with your meal! Third, the waiters and 'da waitress' are more friendly than you're best friend at home! Fourth, the ambiance, the music are just perfect for this chill place. We've been there 3 days in a row and we are going there again tonight! We hope they will be more place like that in Unawatuna! Thanks for the Arack guys! One life, one love! Mic and Val the french Canadian...

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MicandVal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I had a really nice meal! I ordered a fresh local fish wich they baked and served with nice vegetables.

The Canadian owners are open and really friendly and helpful. When I was there they just had a new puppy, Una. It was a cute little dog to play with when I chilled out on there Moroccan sofa's.

If you just like to look at the people passing by on the street, go and have a seat here. Or if you are looking for a good meal, I can recommend this place!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ezvdl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This was my second time to unawatuna. My first stay I stayed up near the main road, but this time my friends and I wanted to stay nearer the beach. We come across the pink elephant and loved it. The owners were so welcoming and wanted to help us! We ended up taking three of their rooms, one with the sea view (however the other rooms were just as nice, so it wasn't worth the extra). Regardless of this the rooms were clean and well equipt, they also had adapers already there which was a welcoming touch! Over all our two night stay was fabulous.

The food was also incredible and we ended up eating here for almost every meal! I would highly recommend this restutant and hotel to anyone, and hope to be back in the near future!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maiperl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed in The Pink Elephant at the beginning of October and had a great stay.

The staff were so friendly and welcoming. We stayed in a four bed dorm which was a decent size, had it's own bathroom and balcony.

The hostel is 10 seconds walk from the beach, there's a path over the road that leads right through.

They put all of our stay, including food and drink on a running tab which, along as you control yourself, is really helpful for backpackers not carrying large amounts of money.

The rates, 800 rupees per person per night, made it a very affordable stay.

Outdoor seating areas with music playing made for a great place to sit day or night.

Overall, thank you Fajer, Alison and Dan for a brilliant 5 nights.

Rich, Alex & Paddy

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Rich S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

The place located in the heart of this village and gives a warm feeling and amazing hospitality. To be honest, we did not sleep there, but we visited our couple of friends and the owner on a daily basis. Fajar, the owner, is a young man from Dubai. Fajar is an intelligent person, pleasant, and gives the feeling that he was waiting for you! If you arrive when he is there, you can manage a conversation about his travels around the world and politics - he is a fascinating man. Fajar and his wife, Alison, running there a restaurant with Middle Eastern food (Humus, Labane, Pita and grilled meat), hookahs (Nargila) and good black coffee. Sri Lanka is a country that sleeps at night and that was the only place we found the option to sit at night with Fajar and other tourists, smoke hookah, having good conversations and even jamming music with guitars and drums. Great experience!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nir L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I have been in Unawatuna several times, always staying at different places. I wish I have found Pink Elephant sooner, than on my last trip down South of Colombo. The place has a group of young and really awesome owners, who managed to create such a lovely atmosphere... I stayed in the backpackers room, which is what you can expect for a great price of 800 Rs - a bed in a shared room and a bathroom. The place in clean and has a great vibe. You get free Wifi and you can just chill downstairs with your laptop and there are always friendly people sitting around there. Food was amazing as well! All in all - check it out! :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justyna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.1 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 32 in Unawatuna
897 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 32 in Unawatuna
457 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#9 of 32 in Unawatuna
263 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thambapanni Retreat
Thambapanni Retreat
#5 of 32 in Unawatuna
477 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bedspace Guesthouse
Bedspace Guesthouse
#1 of 145 in Unawatuna
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pink Elephant Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pink Elephant Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Pink Elephant Hotel and Restaurant
Address: 110 Yaddahi Mulla Rd, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pink Elephant Hotel and Restaurant is located in the heart of Unawatuna, a stunning beach town on Sri Lanka’s Southern coast, just 5 km from Galle city centre. Whether you’re traveling on a shoestring or looking for a glamorously romantic getaway, the Pink Elephant has got you covered. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing