We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (125)
Filter reviews
125 results
Traveller rating
80
29
8
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
80
29
8
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshummusthe ownerbeach viewper nightplace to stayair conexcellent locationbalconysri
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 125 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2017 via mobile

I tried to go here twice for lunch as according to the internet it should have been open for lunch; it wasn't. We ended up going for dinner. It's very popular so please pre-book. Also be advised that people smoke throughout the dining area.
The guacamole was outstanding! I also had the chicken kebab which was very tasty and came with a small dollop of hummus and some great thin and crisp French fries. The hummus was just ok. My husband had a sweet and sour chicken dish which he enjoyed. The passion mojito was good. There was one server hustling to serve all the tables and he did a good job. If you get to choose a table go for one under the ceiling fan. Overall, a very satisfying meal.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank dixiepeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2017 via mobile

We were there twice, Since the food was so good. For the second Time we Made reservations - this is recommened Since it is at dinner Time really full. The full fish in Banane leaf is really good and also the seafood platter.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank NAdine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017

Stayed here two nights, primarily in order to visit Galle. Stayed in one of the non-AC rooms facing towards the water, which had a nice patio shared with the adjoining room. Fan worked well and the room was clean, even though a couple of lightbulbs needed changing. For the price though, this place rocks.

The food can be hit or miss, but as long as you stick to the middle eastern food you're good. The drinks are fabulous though.

One of the better details is the proprietor, who is friendly and helpful, and makes sure to take care of his guests.

The only negative thing to say is that the place across the road starts a techno party at about 22:00, which the proprietor apologized for, but we can't fault him for that. If you're staying in Unawatuna without earplugs, you're on your own whatever the case...

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms with street view.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2017 via mobile

This place was exactly what we needed for a budget stay. The room was good, the location was excellent and staff helpful. However, there didn't seem to be any hot water for the shower and the wifi signal was weak in our room. But, given it was really warm weather, these factors did not matter so much, as we spent most time at the beach anyway.

The restaurant is also very conveniently located downstairs and it had great atmosphere at night.

Definitely recommend.

Stayed: January 2017
Thank Hoons123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

We ate here on NYE and loved it. It was super busy but we managed to get a table inside after 30 mins. We both opted for Sri Lankan curries were not disappointed. Great vibe and lovely staff. Would definitely recommend!

Stayed: January 2017
Thank Bargainhunter6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews