We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“fabulous homely place”
4.5 of 5 bubbles
other travellers have booked this property
Dusk at Moonwater
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dusk at Moonwater
Moonwater House 5 Bedrooms, sleeps 10 very comfortably
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Very good
18 reviews
Dusk at Moonwater
Moonwater House
5 Bedrooms, sleeps 10 very comfortably
The layout of Moonwater (for more information go to  Facebook Moonwater54
Welcome to Moonwater!  De-stress, disconnect and re-connect with the things that matter...
Relax by the Moonwater Pool
Wijaya Beach - 5 mins away
The view from inside the Moonwater Yoga Shala
Review August 2016
Double Bedroom
Twin bedroom
The gorgeous sunset at Unawatuna Beach - 5 mins from Moonwater
Looking for Monkeys!
Moonwater House
Fully equipped kitchen
The Moonwater Staff Team
Moonwater Seafood BBQ by the pool
The Moonwater Pool under the banana and king coconut trees.
King Coconut reflection on the pool
Welcome to Moonwater - your tropical home from home in beautiful Sri Lanka
The big Buddha fountain by the yoga pavilion
The Morning Room next to the kitchen, over looking the pool and outside entertaining area.
Moonwater Bananas!
Mrs Chandrani, our Housekeeper extraordinaire!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Unawatuna, Galle, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
4.5 of 5 bubbles Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Etlonphp
Beijing, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“fabulous homely place”
Reviewed 10 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
4
people found this review helpful

We are a large family of 10 persons, including old man above 70 and child ages 6, and stayed at moonwater for 5 nighs. Thanks to Mr Subodha and his team for making the whole experience so well, and it could not be a better choice to enjoy our vacaion with stay in moonwater.
1) The villa is decorated and furnished in Sri Lanka style, making us pleased and relexed. Rooms are large, well maintained and very clean.
2) It is close to Unawatuna Beach and Galle Fort, and easy to take TukTuk to go around.
3) The care-taking staffs are exemplary, that deserved our highly praise. Mr Subodha and Mrs Chandy(with his husband as gardener)treated us like VIP and were on hand to answer all our questions. Mr Subodha helped to arrange airport transport, gave suggestion on our trips, and even replied our requests beyond his work :). Mrs Chandy's mother-cooking is very delicious and was so kind to help to take our little child to hospital when the naughty baby got a unpredicted fever.

Overall, It is an unforgettable experience, and best for all of our family. We are definitely willing to come back if any chances.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: all, especially the staff
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antbuggo
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfort, style and location - We will be back”
Reviewed 16 September 2013 for a stay in November 2012
2
people found this review helpful

If your looking for a villa that is well priced and accommodates a large group... that's clean, comfortable, stylish and with all the comforts you would expect, we would certainly recommend Moonwater. Its not beachside, about a km inland and for us in Unawantuna that's exactly what we wanted. It has a lovely quiet garden feel about it. They have a good tuk tuk guy on site to take you wherever you want whom we found reliable and cheap. The girls like it as it was only 3 mins from the beach bars, 10 mins to the shops and restaurants in Galle Fort and for the blokes 15 mins from the decent surf breaks further south. Whilst it has good a kitchen, we also appreciated the good food that we could order through the Volunteers Village.
Thanks we will be back.

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: furnishings and fittings, quiet location
Liked least: wi fi was not working at the time
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy E
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Holiday House!”
Reviewed 16 September 2013 for a stay in August 2012
3
people found this review helpful

We had a magical time at this very special place. The gardens, the house, the housekeeper, the food served for breakfast lunch and dinner - it all made for a truly perfect holiday. The owners were amazing making sure we had a tuk tuk driver at our disposal and that we knew all the best places in the area to go! The villa itself is divine and has been designed beautifully!
We will definitely be returning! This is a perfect beach holiday!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The interior
Liked least: That we had to leave
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A superb find.....”
Reviewed 16 September 2013 for a stay in April 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Friends recommended that we stay at Moonwater and we were not disappointed. Located approx 10 mins by tuk tuk from Galle Fort in a very quiet area of Unawatuna. Its only 5 mins tuk tuk ride to all the beaches and restaurants.

Behind the walled garden and an impressive gate sits a lovely modern villa with loads of open space and stunning living and dining options.

The place is managed by a housekeeper and groundsman, Chandranie and Talek were great value and a lovely couple. Chandranie is a character all right - and never stops smiling.Her homemade local breakfasts are a must.

In summary, if you're looking for a clean and tidy villa away from the beach, don't look past Moonwater.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The relaxed feel of the villa and the lush surrounds
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hong kong
Reviewed 30 June 2013 for a stay in March 2013
3
people found this review helpful
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The hospitality
Liked least: Mosquitos!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TandMCain
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Such a beautiful, family friendly home away from home”
Reviewed 18 June 2013 for a stay in August 2012
2
people found this review helpful

My family and extended family had the pleasure to stay at the Moonwater in Aug 2012. The property is great for families who want to get away from the hassle and bustle. The home is located a very short distance from the Unawatuna beach which is easy to get to and from by tuk tuk. The property is tucked away nicely away from the main road and the house keeps are so friendly and helpful.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$350
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing