We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Second Visit”
Review of Star Light Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Star Light Hotel
Ranked #33 of 33 Hotels in Unawatuna
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I came for a rest and again found peace and quiet at this hotel, being the only occupant staying there. There were two weddings and a "Home Coming" during my 3 week stay which were delightful and spectacular events which I was able to record on my video camera with kind permission given. I made vcds of each for the families concerned. The hotel staff were excellent, very friendly but not intrusive and gave good service. Anything that I found not working was immediately put right. My one criticism on this occasion was the menu and food. The menu was comprehensive but mostly not available. It was embarrassing for the waiter to be saying "I am sorry but that is not available" I eat Sri Lankan and not western food and it was cooked to order as I was the only guest. I would describe the food quality as poor, expensive and the menu boring; the chef, unfortunately, had changed since my last visit. An excellent trustworthy tuk tuk driver was available for every occasion when I needed to go out and security at this hotel is good.
In spite of the food I would stay again

Room Tip: Telephone the hotel and speak to the manager, Mr Maragoda,, for the best deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IBen5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2013 via mobile

This is the 2nd time we have stayed here.1st time 31Dec 2011 which was acceptable & now 31st Dec 2012 , that's why we returned, However, new manager has improved it significantly but it still needs improving, by way of having our bed made for the second nights stay. I was informed rhe room rate is over 13000 rupees per night, for that price we would expect the rooms cleaned daily.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DaveKalavilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Very nice place. The rooms were big and lots of space to move around. The bath rooms were also big, clean and there was a large tub. The staff was really nice to us and the food was really good too. We stayed there one night had a good sleep. I truly recommend this hotel to anyone. The only problem was the beach was kinda far from the hotel you have go a long distance. But apart from that really place to be and the prices were reasonable.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank astroanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

As an elderly person seeking a restful holiday this hotel was perfect for me. The hotel has 14 very comfortable rooms and is adjacent to a nice quiet beach and is placed on the Galle to Matara road about 10 minutes from Galle. It is an attractive building with car parking and a good restaurant with quiet piano music played during my meals. Pop music was not played except at weddings during my entire stay; wonderful. There is a good very clean swimming pool. The hotel is used for local weddings, there were 3 in my 17 day stay and I enjoyed them all. The staff were discrete and inobstrusive but I did not want for anything. I made it plain to Hewa, the restaurant manager that I wanted Sri Lankan food and he did not disappoint me. My meals were excellently prepared and served. There is an A La Carte Menu as well with Western Food which some might prefer. The receptionist Chamil was perfect and anything that I wanted was provided. The manager, Romesh, too was brilliant and my welcome and stay could not have been bettered. I did not book this hotel through an agent but contacted the hotel manager direct, thus ensuring that I got the best rate for my stay. I had the pleasure of meeting the proprietor, Mr G.PS..Asoka, who lives in Italy but had returned with his wife to have their 2nd child in Sri Lanka. He too was very kind and is commended for his choice of staff.
In all my stay was perfect and I hope to return. See for yourself on the hotel website.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IBen5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2010

Me and my wife visited this hotel in the last august. our driver took us t the hotel and told us that a night cost 60 usd. when we arrived the manager told us its 70 usd for two night. of course we wanted to pay the lower price but the manager denied he gave me this price (this all took place in the evening after we entered the room) and later said it will be unfair to the dirver and so on...
finally he agreed and i paid the 70 usd, and he asked me if i can advertise the hotel as a thank you for his "favor".

The hotel is far from the main beach. we were the only couple there. Not bad hotel but not worth the price.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Meni_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2008

I stayed at the Star Light Hotel whilst travelling in the south of Sri Lanka. It is a very nice hotel with pleasant staff who are very polite and professional.

The food was very good with a mixture of Sri Lanka dishes as well as the usual buffet range. The Chef did in fact cook up something special as there were few guests at the time.

It is a good spot to stay if one is visiting Galle, but wish to stay outside the City itself. A three wheeler is required to go into the city.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Uduwerage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Suleyman1071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0 mi away
Nooit Gedacht Holiday Resort
Nooit Gedacht Holiday Resort
#23 of 33 in Unawatuna
84 reviews
0 mi away
Secret Garden Villa
Secret Garden Villa
#21 of 33 in Unawatuna
135 reviews
0 mi away
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
#19 of 33 in Unawatuna
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Heaven By O
Heaven By O
#10 of 33 in Unawatuna
46 reviews
0 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#12 of 33 in Unawatuna
826 reviews
0 mi away
Peacock Hotel
Peacock Hotel
#20 of 33 in Unawatuna
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Light Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Light Hotel

Address: Matara Road, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 33 Hotels in Unawatuna
Price Range: £12 - £15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If it's a relaxing beach holiday you are looking for then Star Light Hotel, Unawatuna is the hotel for you. Star light hotel's homely atmosphere has got all the modern comforts that a traveler like you look for at the end or start of your journey to the island. Experience the warmth of Sri Lankan hospitality, luxury standards and quality service at this charming Unawatuna hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Star Light Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing