We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely guest house”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
French Lotus Guest House
Ranked #7 of 145 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely guest house”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

The hotel is in a lovely location and all the staff were friendly and helpful. We loved the large room they gave us, the rooms are basic, but very clean, the bed was fine and had a large mosquito net. Breakfast was given on the balcony outside the room, so we could watch the local wildlife whilst having breakfast (monkeys, peacocks and other exotic birds). The hotel is not on the sea front, but is only a short walk to the main Unawatuna beach, where there are plenty of bars and restaurants, or for the energetic about a 20 minute walk to the Jungle beach.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    21
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
25
74
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

After a 7 hour drive from the tea plantations my wife arrived in a damp and sultry Unawatuna. As we drove into the courtyard of the FL we were met by the owners, a lovely young French couple, who were most welcoming. Our bags were brought in and we were immediately offered tea, we sat by the garden pong where dragonflies hung over the lilly pads, very relaxing atmosphere.
Our room was reminiscent of a classic villa style from the 20's tastefully furnished and simply decorated. Beautiful linens adorned the four poster bed, stained glass in the windows cast wonderful blue and green tones throughout the room, our room was 3 rooms in total and the bathroom was incredible, big enough to accommodate a football team. The lane the house is positioned on leads straight to the beach, less then 4 minutes to walk, restaurants and bars far enough away to let you feel you are in the perfect spot. Breakfast was a simple affair, and served on the verandah of our room - fabulous to sit and watch the humming birds feed less then 10 feet away. This place is highly recommended for those who don't care for large anonymous hotels but want some privacy and calm, we wished we had booked for another few days but had to leave reluctantly.

Room Tip: upper floor room are bright with a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
5 Thank FamilySayce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chengdu, China
Level Contributor
72 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The problem of this guest house is the lack of staff. We only saw someone upon arrival and before leaving. Then, nobody is around to help. We wanted to ask if it was possible to have breakfast around 7:30 the next morning. But we couldn't find anyone to talk to. In fact, we had to wait until 8:30 for a very simple breakfast. Only several slices of toasts with butter and jam and no more. It is by far the worst breakfast we had for the whole trip.

Room is reasonablly clean with nice furnitures but again, staying here feels totally different from other hotels we have stayed for the whole trip. You don't feel at home with the lack of warmness and concern.

I wouldn't recommend this place to other toursts, there are much better choices to go to!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gary0303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for a short break whilst whale watching a shirt distance away in Galle. The couple who run the guest house are very sweet and let us put our bags there as we arrived early and leave them when we left late.
The room was very sweet, they had even taken a message from a family member of mine who knew I was staying to wish me happy birthday and arranged flowers spelling it out on my bed for when I arrived.
Good location, close to the beach.
I would definitely stay again when I return. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thecowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

What a lovely place! The rooms are clean and simply yet beautifully decorated; the apartment we stayed in had AC and hot water, as well as a quiet terrace looking onto the garden (which is bursting with flowers); and the crepes we had for breakfast are genuinely French and utterly delicious. I would go back for the crepes alone, but I also somewhat wish I lived here. Amazing place, the staff are delightful and friendly, the atmosphere is peaceful, and there is a very cute resident dog. Highly highly recommend!
Oh also the double bed in the apartment may well be the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. I went with two friends and we decided to all sleep widthways in the bed because it was so soft and large (we were also three small girls, but it is still impressive).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nayela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This place was like a heaven after rushing through Colombo, Kandy and the attractions on the island. It has a significant European feel about it and if you are European you will immediately feel as at home.

Cedric and Gaelle are fantastic hosts and they make perfect homemade jams. Overall the place is very nice, but there are several things you should know, one of them being that the rooms do not have sealed walls (this is an architectural thing) which means that the noise isolation etc. is not so good and also there is almost a certainty that from time to time you will find moskytos and a small lizard on your wall.

We enjoyed our stay despite this and if it does not bother you definitely give it a shot. The place not being directly on the beach is a good thing as the beach is quite noisy at some nights.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fojo57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thirroul, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 16 April 2014

French lotus is a beautiful little guest house only a few minute stroll to the beach. The owners - Gaelle and Cedric have not missed a detail. The rooms are beautifully appointed and scattered with a gorgeous range of fresh flowers upon arrival. There is a large communal outdoor area with lounges and tables to relax on throughout the day and in the morning. The standard breakfast is delicious - each morning we were treated to different fresh juices, homemade jam, toasts and strong coffee. Advise to get a crepe also at a small extra charge - the Nutella crepe was divine. Absolutely beautiful place run by lovely young French couple (and their very friendly pooch and new monkey visitor). Definitely recommend this one!!

Room Tip: We stayed in a simple room downstairs - double bed without air con. The room was beautiful and the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madeline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.5 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#5 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bedspace Guesthouse
Bedspace Guesthouse
#1 of 145 in Unawatuna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to French Lotus Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Lotus Guest House

Property: French Lotus Guest House
Address: Yadehhimulla Road, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The French Lotus Guest House is a haven of peace in the relaxed but lively village of Unawatuna, Sri Lanka. We are only few steps from the beautiful beaches of the Indian Ocean and close to all amenities this charming village has to offer. The French Lotus offers the warmest hospitality of a guesthouse. Our beautiful colonial home is surrounded by a tropical garden and is only 250m from the most beautiful beach in Sri Lanka, Unawatuna beach.You will find comfort and serenity in one of our 7 cozy rooms. Each room offers a large four-poster bed with private bathroom, hot water, fan or air condition. Overlook the tropical garden from your private terrace.Reserve a private room in our home for you or request the entire home for your family and friends. You can relax in in our spacious family room or let us plan your day to enjoy the numerous activities in the vicinity of Unawatuna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your French Lotus Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing