We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel in Unawatuna”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Calamander Unawatuna Beach
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Unawatuna
Tallinn, Estonia
1 review
“Good hotel in Unawatuna”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 10 days in a group of 7 people with children. When we arrived at the hotel, everything was well-organised, the reception offered us a welcome drink, and after 10 minutes, we were shown to our rooms. One of us had a luxury room with a whirlpool tub and sea view. The luxury room is certainly the best room to stay in – it’s spacious and close to the pool. The pool area had large sunbeds and offered food and drink if ordered. The breakfast included many local and traditional dishes; the chef cooked omelette and sliced fresh fruit to order.

We would like to give special thanks to the restaurant waiter Mr Thasneem. He was very attentive and his service was of the highest quality, he chatted with us and made sure children had fun. One evening, we booked a table and were surprised to find that the table was decorated with magnolia blossoms and palm leaves. We felt like VIPs at the restaurant. Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcoGlobally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OriginalPaloma, Exectuive Director, Unawatuna Beach Resorts (pvt) Ltd at Calamander Unawatuna Beach, responded to this review, 16 September 2016
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Calamander Unawatuna Beach.

We are delighted that you and your families enjoyed your stay and our service and facilities allowed you to relax and indulge yourselves.

We do hope you will come and stay with us again.

Kind regards,
Miss Paloma Scott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    240
    112
    55
    43
See reviews for
188
235
30
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
DElhi
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We reached Unawatuna Beach resort as were seriously disappointed to see that there was no beach at all. We had heard a lot about this hotel from our friends and it was highly recommended. We there was nothing we could have enjoyed during our stay here. We decided to have our dinner in the hotel restaurant and got disappointed again due to unavailability of a few of the dishes we ordered, however the service staff was very friendly. Overall it was a terribly boring experience...About the accommodation...it is comfortable if you are to stay only your room. Beach is about 1.5 kms of walk from the hotel and you could find many good and above average accommodations on the beach.

Room Tip: If you are not looking for fancy facilities, then look for hotels on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SumitaMalakar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OriginalPaloma, Executive Director, Unawatuna Beach Resorts (Pvt) Ltd at Calamander Unawatuna Beach, responded to this review, 7 July 2016
Dear Guest,

We have read again, your review from two years ago. We are sorry that you did not have an enjoyable food experience but we hope that you will visit us again. As to the beach; it is true, when you arrived, the beach had disppeared due to the crass and misjudged actions of the government organisation the Coastal Conservation Department. They however, redeemed themselves by restoring the beach and we now have a sizeable beach, which we would argue is now one of the best in Sri Lanka.

We do hope, if you venture to Sri Lanka again, you will come and stay at Calamander Unawatuna Beach.

Kind regards,
Miss Paloma Scott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Me and my wife stayed here for 5 nights i feb 2014. At firswt got a (good) room an the backside close to the parkinglot. However the next day we managed to change rooom to one of the best with view to the beach, restautrant and the sunset. A very nice and spaisious room with a nice balcony and bathroom. The service at the resort is very good and so is the food. The brakfast buffet is great! Unfortunitly the beach in front of the hotel is no longer what it was some years ago!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stalemann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paloma scott S, Board Representative for The Calamander Group Inc. at Calamander Unawatuna Beach, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for the positive and complimentary comments regarding our hotel. We are sorry you had one of the rooms at the back at the beginning of your stay, however because we were fully booked, it was impossible to rectify the situation immediately.

Regarding the beach, there are now moves by the authorities to halt the erosion of the bay and we continue to work to get our beach back to its former glory. However, there is a beach although compromised in size and a private beach for our guests to enjoy and plenty of opportunities for sea bathing.

Yours sincerely,
Miss Paloma Scott
Board Representative for The Calamander Group Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I was hesitant arriving at the hotel due to some of the negative reviews I read in December. It seems the change of management (?) and branding is helping, as I had a very enjoyable 3 night stay.

Front office staff were excellent it has to be said.

The room was spacious and the bathroom was ultra modern.

The food was good - as you would expect for the price.

Located right on the beach so you don't have far to walk! The only downside is that the beach is very narrow at this end of Unawatuna so your sun lounge is literally on the water's edge. I found the northern end of the beach much better for sun baking.

The gym was the one disappointment. For the price you pay, you would expect more than 1 single treadmill in working order. The other weight machine in the gym was broken. Really this is not good enough.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bucksee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paloma scott S, Board Representative for The Calamander Group Inc at Calamander Unawatuna Beach, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for review of our hotel. The hotel was launched under the new name of Calamander Unawatuna Beach on 14th December 2014. The process of change is continuing and it is encouraging to know that you enjoyed your stay.

We have noted your comments regarding the gym facilities and we will urgently review the equipment on offer and make the necessary upgrades.

Yours sincerely,

Miss Paloma Scott
Board Representative for The Calamander Group inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
229 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We managed to get one night here at the last minute and got up-graded! A beautiful room with a spa bath etc. Excellent service throughout. The Staff managed to make you feel like an honoured guest even though there were many others! Good pool. Interesting access to the sea, not really a beach! Excellent restaurant with a variety of good food. Some areas are beginning to look a bit tired and renovation is needed but this does not detract from the overall ambience.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahC0805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paloma scott S, Board Representative for The Calamander Group Inc. at Calamander Unawatuna Beach, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Guests,

You have encapsulated in the title of your review, exactly what we are aiming to achieve and we believe and hope that this is what sets us apart from many other middle to large size hotels of similar status. We have noticed that our guests feel equally comfortable dressing up for dinner as they would dining in beach wear or casual clothing.

We are still working to preserve our beach and halt the erosion that has severely affected the public access.

Yours sincerely,
Miss Paloma Scott
Board Representative for The Calamander Group.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I stayed for 2 nights in Jan.14 end. Too good....right on the beach, specious, fresh, chilled & relaxed atmosphere, friendly staff. Lots of variety in food. Love to go again for sure.

MR. Sumant
Pune - India

Room Tip: don't take any extreme corner room, these rooms are very suffocating, packed & even you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SumantJadhav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paloma scott S, Board Representative for The Calamander Group Inc. at Calamander Unawatuna Beach, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much and plan to return.

We have taken on board your comments about the corner rooms. Our reservation and front desk staff do inform both travel agents and OTA's about the status of the rooms but sometimes this information does not get to the guest before they commit. This is a constant problem for a hotels using agents of any size or popularity. We are running at full capacity at the moment so we are not always able to change a room at the last minute. So we apologise for any disappointment in the location of the room that you had.

Yours sincerely,
Miss Paloma Scott
Board Representative for The Calamander Group.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

This was our 3rd hotel stop on our visit to Sri Lanka and this hotel did not disappoint us. The Front Office Staff Zafran., welcome us on our arrival. The views from every view point in this resort are breath taking and the selection of freshly cooked food is just fantastic. The rooms are attended too a very high standard, thanks to (Dilip ) really lovely family hotel.

Site seeing was just a tuk tuk away Galle Fort is a must , So much history to try and take in all at once. The Local shop keepers are also very friendly who all speak very good English which was a lot better than my Sri Lankan. if you intend on visiting Unwantuna Then do not dismiss this hotel as a place to stay, its really good value for money .

Room Tip: The rooms over looking the Pool & the beach bar gave some great views. and seem to be much bigge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Razor54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paloma scott S, Board Representative for The Calamander Group Inc. at Calamander Unawatuna Beach, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your observations regarding your stay in our hotel. Zaffran is a trainee customs relations officer, so it is good to know that he is doing his job so effectively.

Yours sincerely,

Miss Paloma Scott
Board Representative for the Calamander Group Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
1.3 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 29 in Unawatuna
660 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#5 of 29 in Unawatuna
861 reviews
0.3 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 29 in Unawatuna
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 29 in Unawatuna
383 reviews
3.3 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#9 of 29 in Unawatuna
229 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 29 in Unawatuna
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calamander Unawatuna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calamander Unawatuna Beach

Property: Calamander Unawatuna Beach
Address: Parangiyawatta, Unawatuna, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Unawatuna
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Calamander Unawatuna Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Calamander Unawatuna Beach is one of Sri Lanka's most popular beach resorts, located directly on Unawatuna Bay. The most renowned holiday destination on the South coast, Unawatuna Beach is famous for its natural beauty, laid back ambience, proximity to Galle Fort, a Unesco World Heritage site, and is the best beach in the country. UBR, established over 30 years ago, has been transformed, since November 2011, as Calamander Unawatuna Beach. The resort retains the relaxed character of the former UBR, the excellent service from long standing staff, good food and al fresco dining. The only hotel on Unawatuna Beach with swimming pools, Calamander Unawatuna Beach has built the first glass fronted lap pool in Sri Lanka and the longest, at 25 metres, in the Asia Pacific region. In addition a stunning Italian mosaic, 25 metres in length, outdoor pool, with adjoining jacuzzi and a separate children's paddling pool. Calamander Unawatuna Beach is a 4 star class hotel with five star facilities. It is the first beach hotel in Sri Lanka with accredited carbon neutral status and future projects aim to develop sustainable eco-technology in the hotel's power generation and transport services. Guests are encouraged to engage in utilising the resort's facilities in the most eco-friendly way, without compromising on comfort and are invited to offset their individual carbon foot print with a small, voluntary, financial contribution, to the hotel's carbon neutral status. Calamander Unawatuna Beach is a trail blazer in Sri Lanka, for the 'affordable luxury' concept. Its design ethos of modernity, complimenting the beauty of its geography, has proven to be popular with our guests from all over the world. This together with high standards of service, Calamander Unawatuna Beach is now renowned for being a family friendly resort welcoming Sri Lankans as well as foreign guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Southall Travel so you can book your Calamander Unawatuna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Unawatuna Beach Hotel Unawatuna
Unawatuna Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing