We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Calamander Unawatuna Beach
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Unawatuna
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Staff”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Very enjoyable overnight stay in a luxury room. Hotel is right on the beach and a great place to have a drink as the waves roll in. The luxury room was just that-a luxury-we had views of the ocean from the balcony. Bed was the best we slept in during our 10 days in Sri Lanka. The outstanding memory of this hotel was the wonderful wait staff in the restaurant. Professional, friendly and a pleasure to communicate with.

Room Tip: We had a luxury room. These rooms are great but if you want a full view of the ocean take a room at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Czechchick7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paloma scott S, Director, Unawatuna Beach Resorts (pvt)Ltd at Calamander Unawatuna Beach, responded to this review, 22 October 2015
Dear Guest,

What a delightful review and immensly satisfying that our waiters, in particular have performed so well. We hope that you will visit us again and come and enjoy our new world class pool.

Kind regards,
Miss Paloma Scott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    245
    118
    57
    46
See reviews for
198
238
31
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

the room in pics is so much different , we were shown a shabby horrible room with insects and a lizard, the towels weren't clean and one had a sharp twig in it that made my hair bleed. animals like skinny cats and dogs brushed against my legs whilst i ate INSIDE their hotel buffet which is unsanitary,i couldn't get inside the pool as guests were drinking, using vile language and positively hammered inside the pool which anywhere else would have been contained.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paloma scott S, Director, Unwatuna Beach Resorts (pvt) Ltd at Calamander Unawatuna Beach, responded to this review, 20 November 2015
Dear Guest,

I have just read your review of our hotel in May 2014, in horror.

Firstly, I apologize for not responding to your comments at the time. I was in the UK then and your review had slipped the net.

Secondly, I can only say how sorry I am that you had such a miserable time and whilst a lot of things you say, I just cannot recognize, the issue of cats in the restaurant, at the time, was a problem, partly because guests were feeding them.

It is very sad to read that you were not able to enjoy the pool because of other guests and even sorrier that our Management was not able to deal with the situation.

I can only apologize on behalf of my staff profusely and if you do decide to come to Sri Lanka again, please do contact me personally.

Kind regards,

Miss Paloma Scott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Unawatuna hotels

Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Excellent resort. Great rooms (cleaned twice a day), friendly staff and a hip bar near the beach. Best part, however, is the excellent restaurant. You will definitely enjoy your breakfast and don't forget the buffet at night. Definitely the best we had in Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tofumiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paloma scott S, Director, Unwatuna Beach Resorts (pvt) Ltd at Calamander Unawatuna Beach, responded to this review, 20 November 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review about Calamander Unawatuna Beach back in May 2014. I can only apologize for not acknowledging your review at the time. It seems to have slipped the net.

I do hope you, if you return to Sri Lanka, that you will visit us again. I think you will surprised at the size of the restored beach and the three new pools that we have added since your visit.

Kind regards,
Miss Paloma Scott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

We were looking forward to a relaxing stay on the beach after a long drive from Ella. The hotel looked nice and modern.
Check in was disappointing, staff were not friendly or welcoming, don't think there was even a smile. To make matters worse we were then told that the driver accommodation was full. I had previously emailed the hotel after my booking was confirmed enquiring about the availability of accommodation for my driver, surely this is a sign that I would be requiring accommodation?? Out of all the hotels we had previously stayed at before arriving at Unawatuna each place was able to confirm yes or no to my request so we were able to plan in advance. I'm really not sure why they were not able to confirm and provide a definite answer. It's a bit of an inconvenience to arrive only to be told the accommodation is full for drivers. Very poor customer service. The bellboy who took our luggage to the room however was very sweet and considerate. Rooms are spacious, modern and clean so was happy with this. In terms of location this hotel is rated as a beach front hotel but don't expect too much of the beach as there is barely anything there! You will need to walk further down along past the hotel for a decent stretch of sand. There are lots of restaurants and bars along the
way. Breakfast is good with a
wide selection of foods. Overall a nice hotel, good location but let down by the poor customer
service.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MYM1279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OriginalPaloma, Executive Director Unawatuna Beach Resorts (Pvt) Ltd at Calamander Unawatuna Beach, responded to this review, 29 June 2016
Dear Guest,

On looking back on past reviews of Calamander Unawatuna Beach, we note that you visited us at a time when we had lost our beach, due to the actions of the Coastal Conservation Departments' over zealous building of a sea wall, which purportedly was built to conserve what was left of the coral beds, destroyed in large part by the Tsunami of 2004. We had the beach returned to us in March 2015, by the same agency that took it away; such is Sri Lanka! Please do visit us again, if you decide to come to Sri Lanka.

We are most sorry about the poor customer service and we apologise too for the misinformation regarding the driver's accommodation. For the record, we do not provide driver's quarters.

Kind regards,
Miss Paloma Scott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Me and my husband along with my 4 year old son checked in the UBR on a Friday afternoon. The staff were very friendly and the Al Carte Dinner from the resturent was great. Room was very cozy with the view of the sea and pool. The mini bar had few refreshments and lighting was great. the balcony had a nice view with sitting arrangements.. Pool was clean. Best was the spacious bathroom with Jacuzzi for relaxation... Breakfast was served with Indian, Sri Lankan and western dishes. There were many action stations from eggs to fresh fruit station. Seperate Salad platter to chhose from.. Sri Lankan curries with Milk rice. Chicken curry was simply the best..We played in the beach and walked on the shore. It was splendid holiday with the best comforts....

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms with a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tropical15041982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OriginalPaloma, Executive Director, Unawatuna Beach Resorts (Pvt) Ltd at Calamander Unawatuna Beach, responded to this review, 29 June 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Calamander Unawatuna Beach. It is most encouraging for the management when we succeed in providing the perfect holiday destination with really good service. We do hope you will visit us again.

Kind regards,
Miss Paloma Scott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

On arrival at UBR/Calamander we were given a welcome drink and checked in swiftly. The room was not ready as we were early, but we were able to leave our bags under supervision and use the pool.

Our room was a deluxe room in the 'old' block above reception but we had a beautiful sea view and the room was modern, well kept, large enough and everything functioned as you would expect it to.

Breakfasts are amazing at UBR. There is such a wide selection ranging from curries to cakes! The egg station is an instant hit as they cook up eggs in whatever fashion you ask for!

The staff in the restaurant, bar, at the pool, in the reception area, the cleaners, laundry collectors and towel swappers - everyone was helpful, cheerful and friendly at all times - if you smile at them and treat them well the staff bend over backwards to ensure that you are well looked after.

There is a very cool bar with beutiful lights, sea views and amazing cocktails just a moments walk from the restaurant. Everything can just be billed to the room. Easy!

The pool has ample sun loungers, including some big enough for a couple to cosy up and share. The water was a little dirty on some days, but was soon cleared by the next morning. A pool attendant conscientiously sweeps and maintains the area. It is an outdoor pool - these things will happen. Similarly at the beach - a pool attendant supervises the area to ensure that the local hawkers do not disturb bathers. The beach area is stunning. Loads of sun loungers underneath some tall palm trees right by the cocktail bar, with the option to lie on loungers nearer to the sea if you wish.

Having visited the area for the past two years, the whole of Unawatuna beach has changed dramatically. But it is still beautiful and UBR has resourcefully thought up ways to fight against the erosion that has altered its beach. When we heard from friends what was going on in Una we were concerned. However, I genuinely want to reassure everyone reading this that they should not give Unawatuna or indeed the UBR a miss because of this!

One of the problems that this hotel and indeed the staff face is some of the guests that choose to stay here! People who complain about the beach and other issues really do need to open their eyes and look around them. This is and extremely good resort in Unawatuna and has so much to offer you!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kate o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OriginalPaloma, Executive Director, Unawatuna Beach Resorts, (pvt) Ltd at Calamander Unawatuna Beach, responded to this review, 16 September 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for reviewing your stay at Calamander Unawatuna Beach.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay back in April 2014 and we are very happy to say that the beach has been restored. We have two fabulous pools; a glass fronted lap pool that sits on our private beach and our stunning 'Sun' pool with an outdoor jacuzzi and stunning children's paddling pool.

We do hope you will visit us again.

Kind regards,
Miss Paloma Scott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I stayed at UBR for 2 nights with my friend, the staff were friendly, the room was lovely, great location and really nice food.

We had a deluxe room, was very clean and bright/modern. The best bit was definitely the bathroom, with a jacuzzi bath tub it was fantastic!! Although it did take a while to fill up, but hardly an issue when you have a jacuzzi in your room! The staff were really nice although could be a little more attentive at times, we stayed at a smaller hotel before UBR so maybe it was just us adjusting to a larger hotel.

There were a lot of big families there so if you want a relaxing beach holiday, peace and quiet then maybe just think carefully before you book. We had no issues though, the big couches at the pool were fantastic to sunbathe on!

We had a great time here, and theres a foot rub place right in the hotel! We took a walk down the main road to the diving centre, however the sea was too rough for us to go out we were told. We visited Kingfisher restaurant also down the road whilst there. Lovely food right on the beach. the cocktail bar is also great!!

My only 2 small criticisms I would have of UBR is the pool could be a little cleaner, there were constantly bugs, insect wings and leafs in the pool which wasn't too great. Was a little disappointed with the beach too, we booked as it said private beach however there was no way room to sunbathe on there or even sit with your feet in the water.

However all in all, we had a fantastic stay and would probably go back!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OriginalPaloma, Executive Director, Unawatuna Beach Resorts (pvt) Ltd at Calamander Unawatuna Beach, responded to this review, 16 September 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay in Calamander Unawatuna Beach.

Since you were here in April 2014, we have a restored beach and two stunning swimming pools. Our famous glass fronted lap pool and the 'Sun' pool with an outdoor jacuzzi and stunning children's paddling pool.

We do hope you will come and stay with us again; we are sure that you will be delighted in the progress we have made since 2014.

Kind regards,
Miss Paloma Scott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.2 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#5 of 31 in Unawatuna
882 reviews
1.3 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 31 in Unawatuna
672 reviews
0.3 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 31 in Unawatuna
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#9 of 31 in Unawatuna
245 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 31 in Unawatuna
403 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 31 in Unawatuna
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calamander Unawatuna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calamander Unawatuna Beach

Property: Calamander Unawatuna Beach
Address: Parangiyawatta, Unawatuna 80000, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Unawatuna
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Calamander Unawatuna Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Calamander Unawatuna Beach is one of Sri Lanka's most popular beach resorts, located directly on Unawatuna Bay. The most renowned holiday destination on the South coast, Unawatuna Beach is famous for its natural beauty, laid back ambience, proximity to Galle Fort, a Unesco World Heritage site, and is the best beach in the country. UBR, established over 30 years ago, has been transformed, since November 2011, as Calamander Unawatuna Beach. The resort retains the relaxed character of the former UBR, the excellent service from long standing staff, good food and al fresco dining. The only hotel on Unawatuna Beach with swimming pools, Calamander Unawatuna Beach has built the first glass fronted lap pool in Sri Lanka and the longest, at 25 metres, in the Asia Pacific region. In addition a stunning Italian mosaic, 25 metres in length, outdoor pool, with adjoining jacuzzi and a separate children's paddling pool. Calamander Unawatuna Beach is a 4 star class hotel with five star facilities. It is the first beach hotel in Sri Lanka with accredited carbon neutral status and future projects aim to develop sustainable eco-technology in the hotel's power generation and transport services. Guests are encouraged to engage in utilising the resort's facilities in the most eco-friendly way, without compromising on comfort and are invited to offset their individual carbon foot print with a small, voluntary, financial contribution, to the hotel's carbon neutral status. Calamander Unawatuna Beach is a trail blazer in Sri Lanka, for the 'affordable luxury' concept. Its design ethos of modernity, complimenting the beauty of its geography, has proven to be popular with our guests from all over the world. This together with high standards of service, Calamander Unawatuna Beach is now renowned for being a family friendly resort welcoming Sri Lankans as well as foreign guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Calamander Unawatuna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Unawatuna Beach Hotel Unawatuna
Unawatuna Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing