We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location by the beach, close to everything.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Calamander Unawatuna Beach
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in Unawatuna
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location by the beach, close to everything.”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Great spot, close to everything in Gaulle. Very cozy and right at the beach! Good buffet breakfast/lunch/dinner, friendly staff always tried to be helpful. There is foot rub massage place and rent-a-scooter place attached to UBR. We rented scooters and went all around the city centre, Mrissa beach and other places.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mehrin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paloma scott S, Director, Unwatuna Beach Resorts (pvt) Ltd at Calamander Unawatuna Beach, responded to this review, 20 November 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel back in 2014 and since then the beach which we lost to the construction of a man made break water, has been restored to us and we have built two world class swimming pools.

We hope very much that you will return and see what we have done and you will marvel at the beach.

Kind regards,
Miss Paloma Scott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    250
    124
    58
    49
See reviews for
207
243
32
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Had to book UBR or Calamander Beach resort as its known after arriving in Unawatuna for the weekend. Clean hotel and room with a decent sized bathroom. Since the pool was under renovation, the room rate had been reduced for HB basis. Disappointed because the pool story was not highlighted when we called to book the hotel. Dinner buffet lacked variety and food was not replenished fast enough so there was a bit of standing around watching the empty plates. There isn't much of a beach but that was to be expected as its the off season.

Room Tip: Be specific about getting rooms on the ground floor, sea view or garden view. Our room had a "s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShiromiL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paloma scott S, Director, Unwatuna Beach Resorts (pvt) Ltd at Calamander Unawatuna Beach, responded to this review, 20 November 2015
Dear Guest,

I am in the process of reviewing our reviews from last year and I noted that I had not responded to your constructive review. I apologize for this.

I am very pleased that you were able to take advantage of a good deal, off season. As you mentioned, the beach was disappointing at the time. However, this was not due to nature but to a man made breakwater, constructed illegally on the western edge of the bay that caused our sand to be lifted to the western end of the bay. Happily, the sand has been restored to us but the issue of the break water still remains and the fight to preserve the famous Unawatuna Bay, continues.

Regarding the pool. I am very sorry that you were not informed about the construction of the pool, when you booked. It is part of the culture of 'not saying anything' that I have worked hard to dismantle but it is often to do with not wanting to loose face, rather than a deliberate ploy to deceive.

You will be interested to know that we now have three pools. Sri Lanka's first glass fronted pool, a world class mosaic pool with outdoor jacuzzi and separate children's pool. All an insurance against losing our core asset, the beach, again.

Regarding the buffet and service. We have been working hard to improve this and only you coming to visit us again will give me an idea of what we need to do to improve.

Kind regards,
Miss Paloma Scott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Just had 10 days at the Calamander Beach Resort. I am a single senior traveller, and it was perfect for what I wanted. I had a Deluxe room, all of which have been recently renovated to a good standard. I was there for the cricket in Galle, so was not looking for a beach. I have stayed in this hotel many times over the last 10 years or so, and was not disapointed this time. The staff are friendly, attentive, and always ready to have a laugh or joke with me. Breakfast is excellent, lots of selection and food to a high standard.
If I could make a couple of suggestions. Try having a happy hour ; it might bring a few people to the bar, which was mostly empty. And a large screen tv in the bar would also be useful to bring people in. I always used to enjoy watching my sport in the main bar, but this time has to go to a new side bar. Whilst the staff were great, watching cricket to thumping disco music, and having bottles crashing around you (bartenders juggling), was not that great.
All in all I had a great stay and would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: I had Deluxe - very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BelgianPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paloma scott S, Director at Calamander Unawatuna Beach, responded to this review, 25 October 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay in our hotel and we hope that you will return the next time you are in Sri Lanka.

We have noted your comments about the TV screen, although we do have two in the beach bar, not far from the main bar. As for the crashing bottles, you must forgive our bartenders who are practising their flaring skills. We will ask them to practice on the sand in future!

Kind regards,
Miss Paloma Scott
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed two nights Magpul UBR, the rooms in the new wing overlooking the pool are luxurious, large, clean, comfortable. The bathroom was huge with tub. The food was great, the hotel is very expensive compared to the standard of Sri Lanka, but it is really good. Attention massages are cheap but are held in a kind of cell in front of the ping pong table, avoid!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JUAN V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paloma scott S, Director at Calamander Unawatuna Beach, responded to this review, 25 October 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your complimentary review and we are delighted that you enjoyed staying in our luxury room.

However, we are puzzled by your comments "massage in a cell in front of the ping pong table".
We don't have any "cells" in front of the ping pong table! Our animator conducts his yoga classes near by on yoga mats. Our Wellness spa (foot rub) is located near the entrance to the hotel, far away from the ping pong table.

Kind regards,
Miss Paloma Scott
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanjing, China
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Lovely place to go, specially for winter vacation. The service was great. And suggest with rooms on the ground floor, so you can enjoy the yard. But the menu of buffet is almost similar everyday. You can look around for some restaurant. But for just a couple of days relaxing, its good. Bright sunshine.

Room Tip: Ground floor to the yard
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zhuzhu1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paloma scott S, Board Representative for The Calamander Group Inc. at Calamander Unawatuna Beach Resort at Calamander Unawatuna Beach, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
We noted your comments regarding the buffet and are pleased to inform you that we have introduced special theme nights. This includes for example a Chinese night, Seafood night or Italian night with the special dishes of the evening made by our chefs at the live cooking action stations.

Once again thank you very much for your comments and we hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I stayed at this resort twice now and can't wait to get back again to do absolutely nothing. The staff are very friendly and attentive. I stayed at the off peak season it was like having my own butler attending to my every whim! The room was exceptionally clean and the resort quiet for a rejuvenating night's sleep. The wifi worked well and was able to upload photos to my facebook page and had friends inquiring where this place was as the colours were amazing. The newly completed bar had the sports channels and was able to catch up on football, Formula 1 and cycling races. The drinks were simply glorious. It must be the sea breeze with the setting sun that made it taste better than it really was. Highly recommended for a lazy stay, there is not much to do there!

Room Tip: Go for the newly renovated rooms as they have better decor and new bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paloma scott S, Director, Unawatuna Beach Resorts (pvt)Ltd at Calamander Unawatuna Beach, responded to this review, 20 October 2015
Dear Guest,

I am sorry I missed responding to your original review posted over a year ago. We remain dedicated to continually improving our service and amenities. We do hope you will return to Sri Lanka and stay at Calamander Unawatuna Beach.

Kind regards,

Miss Paloma Scott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.2 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 32 in Unawatuna
899 reviews
3.3 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#8 of 32 in Unawatuna
264 reviews
1.3 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 32 in Unawatuna
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 32 in Unawatuna
816 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 32 in Unawatuna
423 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 32 in Unawatuna
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calamander Unawatuna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calamander Unawatuna Beach

Property: Calamander Unawatuna Beach
Address: Parangiyawatta, Unawatuna 80000, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Unawatuna
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Calamander Unawatuna Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Calamander Unawatuna Beach is one of Sri Lanka's most popular beach resorts, located directly on Unawatuna Bay. The most renowned holiday destination on the South coast, Unawatuna Beach is famous for its natural beauty, laid back ambience, proximity to Galle Fort, a Unesco World Heritage site, and is the best beach in the country. UBR, established over 30 years ago, has been transformed, since November 2011, as Calamander Unawatuna Beach. The resort retains the relaxed character of the former UBR, the excellent service from long standing staff, good food and al fresco dining. The only hotel on Unawatuna Beach with swimming pools, Calamander Unawatuna Beach has built the first glass fronted lap pool in Sri Lanka and the longest, at 25 metres, in the Asia Pacific region. In addition a stunning Italian mosaic, 25 metres in length, outdoor pool, with adjoining jacuzzi and a separate children's paddling pool. Calamander Unawatuna Beach is a 4 star class hotel with five star facilities. It is the first beach hotel in Sri Lanka with accredited carbon neutral status and future projects aim to develop sustainable eco-technology in the hotel's power generation and transport services. Guests are encouraged to engage in utilising the resort's facilities in the most eco-friendly way, without compromising on comfort and are invited to offset their individual carbon foot print with a small, voluntary, financial contribution, to the hotel's carbon neutral status. Calamander Unawatuna Beach is a trail blazer in Sri Lanka, for the 'affordable luxury' concept. Its design ethos of modernity, complimenting the beauty of its geography, has proven to be popular with our guests from all over the world. This together with high standards of service, Calamander Unawatuna Beach is now renowned for being a family friendly resort welcoming Sri Lankans as well as foreign guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Calamander Unawatuna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Unawatuna Beach Hotel Unawatuna
Unawatuna Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing