We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Apa Villa Thalpe
Nearby Hotels
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$275
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$108
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sergeant House(Unawatuna)
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
CoCo Bay Unawatuna(Unawatuna)
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$64
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$55
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Cantaloupe Aqua(Unawatuna)
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$75
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$65
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$65
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (301)
Filter reviews
301 results
Traveller rating
192
67
24
8
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
192
67
24
8
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssaffron suiteinfinity pooltuk tukbutler servicesri lankanarrow beachparadise on earthlarge spacious roomssister hotelpalm treesliving areagreat poolmosquito nettingbeach frontcurriesthrough agodabreakfast and dinner
Filter
Updating list...
145 - 150 of 301 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Super stylish and tranquil, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Apa Villa. Completely relaxed we checked in quite late and was taken to the room, no need to wait around and check in or check out.

Our personal butler was very helpful and breakfast in the morning just outside your room with the view of the ocean and pool was amazing. The food was also fantastic.

We woke up early and caught some great photos of the fishermen... too bad we couldn't have stayed longer.

The beds are comfy - also no tv so created for super relaxation. Great place for families as well (we saw two families there and they looked happy).

Probably a bit over-priced for what we paid online but it was very enjoyable - no regrets.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thelam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Visited Apa Villa as part of a trip to Sri Lanka. This was very disappointing. The rooms are quite spacious but were unclean, and the facilities within were not well maintained. The AC did not work. We shared the front with groups of other guests who had children racing around all over the place - including under our dinner table playing hide and seek. Food was from a menu, brought to the room, it was slap dash, and arrived in stops and starts.
The beach is just off the residence but not suitable for swimming. The noise from the road outside, honking horns all night, screeching brakes and shouting, not our idea of a laid back villa with high quality down time. Overall Galle had some points worth seeing but not impressed generally, everyone in Sri Lanka seems to view tourists as money machines their hands are out all the time for tips and to get them to stop hassling you. As for the drive from Galle to the airport, motorway is brilliant, but you have to go through Colombo as well, now there you take you life in your hands. Scary and not for the faint hearted.

Room Tip: Give it a miss
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AngeliaJolie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Just returned from 2nd trip to Sri Lanka this year. This time "Best of Boutiques" with 2 nights in each of Galle Fort Hotel, Apa Villa and Kahanda Kanda. A perfect short break to this beautiful island. Apa Villa is only 20 mins from Galle and 10 from Unawatuna Beach. Enter through the gates and into this oasis of calm. Beautiful pool, white sandy beach (empty) and large villas all with terraces where your meals are served by the attentive staff. Very peaceful and quiet (we couldn't hear the road - just the sound of the waves). Total relaxation!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Alliwilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Me & my husband were here for our honeymoon 2 years ago december 2011, we absolutely loved it!
The place was just what we needed, peaceful, beautiful, calm... the staff was very friendly and helpful and the foood was delicious!
Wewould defi want to come back!

Just 2 things: need to have more variety in the sri lankan food and our request to send back our misplaced hat was met with no response, though Chaturi promised to send it, we never heard on it again!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Chubbyswami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Yes, the place is excellent, an isle of solitude right next to the noisy road, a mirror pool and a deserted beach, very friendly staff and perfect privacy.
But I should also mention that even the luxury suite rooms have no TV, no locker box for your valuables, and hot water only periodically. We noticed that our room had a back door used by the staff to make up the room, but every day when we returned from trips to nearby Galle, Unawatuna and other attractions, we found the backdoor unlocked and freely accessable for staff and other guests. Useless to lock the front door under such conditions...
If you are not there with your own vehicle you depend on the daily dinner. Great menues, but no option of Sri Lankan food, at prices average four times higher than in any of the Unawatuna beach restaurants. Breakfast is about half but price is double of what you would get in other places, only fruit in abondance.
I think this place is very fine, relaxed and spacious, team members are friendly and helpful, but the price for your room would certainly be sufficient for accomodation in a 4 star hotel in the heart of Tokyo city, with locked doors and TV, too.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank michael s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews