We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of La Mer

La Mer
Ranked #26 of 97 Restaurants in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$50
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Asian, Sri Lankan, Mediterranean, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Drinks, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Mediterranean speciality restaurant.Sensational sea side location.Dine on the beach deck or beach.Freshest of ingredients are used.Salads and herbs from the highlands.Fresh sea food from the surrounding fishing village.Choice char grilled meats.Amazing Pizza and Pasta.Great selection of wines and cocktails.Not to be missed desserts.Dine under the stars with the Indian Ocean at your feet. Enjoy a sensational private BBQ on the beach with exclusive service
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
81 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Great variety and presentation of food!! The thai curry was fantastic and so were the salads. The service is excellent too. Our western breakfast was near perfect!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Arpita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    20
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
GVA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food in heaven!”
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

We had diner in Coco bay restaurant a week ago. My dish was very well presented, the fish was so perfectly cooked, it melted in the mouth. It was accompanied by tasty vegetables and a super salsa that i will definitely try to reproduce when i am back home. My husband had the curry set which came in 9 different dishes! All this was served in the most perfect setting (feet in the sand! ;-)).In conclusion, the place is lovely, the food is good, at very reasonable prices, and the service was efficient. I would therefore warmly recommend this place to anyone who would like to experience a classy but affordable restaurant in this area.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lisagaedecke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
“Should be no 1”
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Wow amazing location with amazing food..vegetarian items are lovely..modern and clean best one in unawatuna

Helpful?
Thank sandaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Unawatuna, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, amazing service and lots of extra effort!”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

I have always enjoyed the food at Coco Bay, and have been there for pizza and great steaks in the past. it is one of those few places on the south coast that has the whole package, the great setting, amazingly professional service staff and great food. However it was in organizing a special dinner for a pre wedding event for 60 that the guys at Coco Bay showed what they can do. Not only did they (without prompting and without additional cost) arrange a marque for the BBQ setting area - because it just might rain, they also set up white seat covers and beautiful table settings. Also unexpected! There were live food stations and a large buffet selection of food all laid out invitingly. We did not book-out the venue, and hence it was very affordable but it felt like we had because we had our own private area on the beach - complete with lanterns and a beautiful sunset.They even arranged a saxophonist for a small additional cost. For a pre wedding event or special dinner for a large group I can really recommend Coco Bay - great professional service and lots of care and attention to make it very special.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Verity M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Mer also viewed

Galle, Southern Province
Unawatuna, Galle
 

Been to La Mer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing