We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice place, you won't regret at all !”
Review of Villa Baywatch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Baywatch
Ranked #24 of 31 Hotels in Unawatuna
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A very nice place, you won't regret at all !”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

We got to know of the place through a friend and I believe we couldn't have been happier in any other place. The owner is very warm, hospitable and so is the cool who will make food to your liking and you will soon find out why his >14 years of experience is invaluable.

We took the 'brown' room, the one with the large(r) porch and boy, just sitting there in the evening was a bliss. Also saw the Milky Way, although a bit faint (but clearly distinguishable to the naked eye).

The peace pagoda that is right behind will offer you chants and soft drums and it is just wonderful hearing them. You don't hear any other noises anyway :-)

The Jungle Beach is right around the corner, a 5 minute walk and it is a nice place to hang out ... for hours.

The downside I could think of is the distance from the Galle centre - kabout 5 km is my guess. So you need a vehicle or else walk up to the Tuk-tuk stop to get any place. Also, while the food is great, you've got to ask for it in advance to hide time for preparing it.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Harinder T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaBaywatch, Owner at Villa Baywatch, responded to this review, 10 October 2014
Dear guest. Thank you very much for your nice review regarding your recent stay with us. It's a pleasure to know that you were satisfied with our premises and services. It'll be a pleasure to welcome you again. Best regards from Baywatch!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
8
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

It was such pleasure to find this new and beautiful location, close to gorgeous Jungle Beach and the Peace Pagoda with impeccable views. The rooms are clean, new and perfect for a pleasant stay. The breakfast was incredible, best Sri Lankan food I have had on the whole trip. The personnel and boss sweet and accommodating. I can highly recommend this location for any traveller in Unawatuna or Galle. I meditated every morning at the Peace Pagoda. What an amazing spot of peace. I will come back for sure!!

Room Tip: ask for the upper level, first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaBaywatch, Owner at Villa Baywatch, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you very much for your appreciative words about the villa and it's staff. We were very lucky to have such a wonderful and courteous guest such as you. I am sure we served you well and we are obliged to serve you even better on your next visit. Our villa is still very young and needs to grow in many ways. Reviews such as yours matters a lot for our growth. Thanks again.
"Isthuthi!!!"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Wonderful villa with beautiful ocean views, situated in a quiet location within walking distance to the beach. The villa is new, the rooms are very clean and spacious, and some rooms have a terrace where you can enjoy the birdsong, light sound of the sea waves with a fresh juice or a cup of tea. The staffs are very friendly and kindly. Owner of the villa is a wonderful, caring, respectful person and very generous. At the villa there is the cook who cooks the most delicious rice and curry. We were happy to spend our vacation at this wonderful villa!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Korenev M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaBaywatch, Owner at Villa Baywatch, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thanks a lot to you for the wonderful review. You were my third guest and the friendliest guest. All the staff at the villa loved you very much. It was great to see how excited you were to mingle with the local community. You went to the extent of showing us your gratitude by hosting a meal to all of us cooked according to your country's style. We also thank you for your words of advice given for the progress of the villa. We wish to see you soon back in Sri Lanka. "Bohoma Isthuthi"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
1.5 mi away
Rock Fort Hotel & Spa
Rock Fort Hotel & Spa
#21 of 31 in Unawatuna
113 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sanmira Rennaissance
Sanmira Rennaissance
#30 of 31 in Unawatuna
47 reviews
0.7 mi away
Heaven By O
Heaven By O
#13 of 31 in Unawatuna
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Neptune Bay Hotel
Neptune Bay Hotel
#28 of 31 in Unawatuna
160 reviews
0.9 mi away
Unawatuna Beach Bungalow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Baywatch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Baywatch

Property: Villa Baywatch
Address: Jungle Beach Road, Buonavista | Rumassala, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 31 Hotels in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Baywatch 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Baywatch is a luxury villa, located atop the legendary Rumassala Hillock, just an hour away from the city of Colombo. The Villa comprises of 6 air-conditioned luxury rooms (3 Double Rooms and 3 Triple Rooms), each with an attached toilet having both hot and cold water, Wi-Fi, mini fridge and TV. Villa Baywatch offers a spectacular panoramic view of the ancient city of Galle, its famous Harbor, the historic Dutch Fort and the famed Unawatuna Bay, all across the stunning blue waters of the Indian Ocean. A five minute eco-trek along the pathways down the hillock, will lead you to the famous 'Jungle Beach' of Rumassala, offering its rich bio diversity. Those who seek to explore the beautiful turquoise waters of the Indian Ocean, will find the Jungle beach on the Rumassala promontory absolutely irresistible. For those who swim or snorkel, there is a wealth of underwater treasures, including a number of coral reefs comprising the best-preserved corals in Sri Lanka, shipwrecks, and a great variety of fish and turtles. Over 60 species of endemic birds have been sighted on the Rumassala Hillock. After long hours of exploring the hidden mysteries of Rumassala, you can expect to relax and unwind at Villa Baywatch, basking in the luxurious modern comforts it offers, coupled with delicious gourmet cuisine, and the famed, genuine warmth of Sri Lankan hospitality. Villa Baywatch merges seamlessly all that matters to create a vacation of luxury, peace and adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Baywatch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing