We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location right on the beach!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rockside Cabanas Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 September 2013

The location of this accommodation was perfect, right on the beach so you go to sleep and wake up to the sound of the ocean!! It was also a great location as you could get to many other beaches and sights within an hour on a scooter (30-45 mins in a car). The breakfast is basic but does the job and the staff were attentive despite not speaking great English. Unfortunately our Cabana didnt have hot water whilst we were there as there was a problem with the solar panels. Luckily it was hot enough outside not to make it too much of an issue and the owner did allow us to use her shower in the main building which was a nice gesture. The rooms are very basic but its all you need as its so beautiful outside you are only in the room to sleep.

Room Tip: Request one of the cabanas that are right on the beach!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2013

This was our last stop on a 2 week tour of Sri Lanka. We were hoping for a peaceful and secluded little bit of luxury next to the ocean for 2 nights...and weren't disappointed. The cabanas are immaculately clean and very efficiently run. There's no aircon in the rooms, but with the seabreeze and fan you don't need it! The breakfast was lovely and served to us on our balcony. The location cannot be beaten, waking up with the sound of the waves, watching the sunset from your own private balcony with a Lion beer in hand...life doesn't get much better. Wander along the beach a little way and you'll pass a couple of lovely bar/restaurants, definitely worth a stop for good cocktails and seafood.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Kelly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights.. The kabanas ddnt have aircon so we were graxiously moved to an apartment.. Brekky was good.. Food above average.. Best thing was that everything was fresh.. Would deffinatwly reccomend the place.. And would stay here again..

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ahsandude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

It's really a small and cosy place in unawattuna.. It's peaceful.. It's not 5 star so no swimming pool, spa etc.. But it's real good value for money... The rooms were big & clean.. They hv cabana style rooms without AC.. Next time we will definitely stay there as those are really close to the sea.. Overall it's been a very relaxing place...

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheehan29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renate K, Owner at Rockside Cabanas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Hello,

Thank you very much for review. Yes we are not 5 Star but we try our best to make the stay of our guest as much convenient as possible. I have seen that your points for our service was only nearly average. What was the problem and what should we improve.

Regards

Renate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

These cabanas are a nice place: our hut was almost directly on the beach, the food was great, and we got to feel really at home. The one bad thing that happened during our stay was that we arrived late (thought we called and warned the manager), but when we got there we had to climb (!) over the gate to get inside and wake him to let us in (after spending about 30 mins outside knocking). Probably it is a usual situation in Sri Lanka))

Room Tip: definitely pick a cabana, that is closer to the sea (it has a better view obviously and is more quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veronika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 nights In the cabanas here, waking up to the crashing waves every morning. If you stay In a cabana you only hear the sound of the sea. The cabanas are basic and quite dark but the place has everything you need. It's about 5-10 mins away from Unawatuna which makes it more peaceful and although the beach is rocky you can walk further down to a better beach. We used the help of Sembeah, a tuk tuk driver, whose family live across the road during all of our trip and he was fantastic! Service was good, only problem was rules were quite regimented eg not allowed to bring your own water in, which wasn't really needed. Breakfast was ok but lacked Sri Lankan hoppers etc, was very westernised.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chloesouthorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Well, the place is ok. We had the room right at the very top of the main building. It was spacious, clean and had aircon which was nice (but not 'controllable' by the humble guests). The hotel is 'Germanic' - Owned and run by Germans and mainly populated by Germans but that's not necessarily a bad thing (?!?) The location of the hotel per-se isn't bad - The beach is right behind the hotel and is at the quiet end of the beach but the trains... and the traffic.... All I will say is look at the photos I uploaded. You have been warned! Lastly, I was under the mistaken view that the dive centre is beside the hotel. It isn't and Unavatuna is a couple of kilometres away

If you want a quiet hotel then this is great. Except it isn't 'quiet' at all thanks to the trains.

Room Tip: I guess the Cabanas are at the back so probably less noisy?!?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LeeGurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
1.5 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 33 in Unawatuna
922 reviews
1.5 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#11 of 33 in Unawatuna
822 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#7 of 33 in Unawatuna
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#3 of 33 in Unawatuna
701 reviews
0.2 mi away
SAYURA Beach Hotel
SAYURA Beach Hotel
#10 of 33 in Unawatuna
111 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sri Gemunu Beach Resort
Sri Gemunu Beach Resort
#9 of 33 in Unawatuna
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockside Cabanas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockside Cabanas Hotel

Address: 668 Matara Road | Mihiripenna / Thalpe, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 137 Speciality Lodging in Unawatuna
Price Range: £34 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rockside Cabanas Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ROCKSIDE CABANAS HOTEL - directly at the Mihiripenna/Dalawella beach! Jump from your bed straight into the 28° C warm water of the ocean. Relax in a hammock under the coconut palms in the 1.000 m² garden of the ROCKSIDE in Mihiripenna near Unawatuna. And in the evening you'll probably lounge in our garden restaurant or on your veranda, sipping a cool drink and enjoying the spectacular sunset over the sea.If you want to perfectly relax just ask us to take care of you - or stay completely private in your CABANA or your APARTMENT. At our own UNAWATUNA DIVING CENTRE, PADI Resort S-36133, situated directly on the beach, only 2 km away from ROCKSIDE we offer you daily snorkeling trips and fun dives to our different dive spots (reef, rock, wrack). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Rockside Cabanas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing