We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, friendly staff and fantastic food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rockside Cabanas Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2013

My wife and I stayed in room A1 for one week while learning to scuba dive and in room B1 after we extended our stay for 2 additional nights. Both rooms were very clean, well maintained and comfortable. Room A1 was very spacious and room B1, while not quite as large, was still a reasonable size. Both rooms had air conditioning and although some other reviews complain of having no control over the unit, we were left with the remote control and instructions on how to use it so perhaps they've changed their policy since those previous reviews were written.

As others have mentioned, Renate - Hans' wife - does ask that you don't bring your own food or drink inside, but we didn't find that to be an issue as the food provided was fantastic and reasonably priced, and they offer free water refills from the kitchen whenever you want. The door to the kitchen is open and from what we could see, it looks very clean and well run and the chef and staff are friendly and very accommodating to requests. You can order food or drinks almost whenever you like, as long as you give some advance notice because all of the food is made fresh. The Sri Lankan chicken curry, for example (which we would highly recommend), takes about an hour to prepare. Just let them know when you want dinner or lunch and what you want and they'll call your room when it's ready!

A picturesque beach with a natural pool in the sea is accessible from the front of the garden, the town of Unawatuna is just a few minutes away by tuk-tuk (where the diving center is located) and the larger town in Galle isn't too much further either. Our only real complaint about the location was that, as others have mentioned, the trains do have an unfortunate tendency to blast their horns quite loudly as they pass by early in the morning, and there are vehicles selling bread and other wares that play the same loud music as they travel up and down the road for hours at a time, but sit on the balcony/deck or out in the garden and let the sound of the sea drown out the noise.

Renate and all of the staff were very attentive and interested in our day to day activities. We both felt taken care of and were able to completely relax in between dives.

Room Tip: Renate requests that you pay for all of your food (with a standard 10% service charge) on check out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed at the Rockside Cabanas in September and can highly recommend this place. It's really worth the money and the Cabanas are nice, with your own outside area etc. We stayed at the one in front which are the best ones I think.
You can hear the ocean from your bed!
The owner was very nice and friendly. There is the weird rule not to bring in any drinks from outside, guess because of the rubbish (smell and insects) but all prices for the drinks there are cheap and you don't end up paying more at the end.
We had a view drinks there one night after the bar closed, and they left the fridge open for us filled up with beer etc. Which was very nice.
The place is very clean, very good location, friendly and a very good value! I can highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Meeike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Value for money.
Very caring staff, tasty food - best Curd in all SriLanka, but breakfast poor a bit.
Clean big rooms with nice design.

Hot water is not really hot))
Rocks is everywhere in ocean in this area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dreeeamdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

The beach cabanas are one of the coolest travel experiences I have had in lodging. Waking up to the amazing sounds of the waves in monsoon season is an experience I will always remember. The water comes right up to the wall of the hotel and is mesmerizing to watch during monsoon. The cabanas are gorgeous and spacious. Word of warning: travel with someone you are comfortable with if you are staying in a cabana - there is no proper door to the bathroom :) This property really does look like paradise and the walk down the little beach in the morning to Unawatuna beach is gorgeous. It is a tuk tuk ride from the main town with nightlife, but there are tuk tuks everywhere. It is quiet and gorgeous hideaway in beautiful Sri Lanka.

Room Tip: Cabanas 2 and 3 are closest to the water, but all four are a sneeze away from the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

The location of this accommodation was perfect, right on the beach so you go to sleep and wake up to the sound of the ocean!! It was also a great location as you could get to many other beaches and sights within an hour on a scooter (30-45 mins in a car). The breakfast is basic but does the job and the staff were attentive despite not speaking great English. Unfortunately our Cabana didnt have hot water whilst we were there as there was a problem with the solar panels. Luckily it was hot enough outside not to make it too much of an issue and the owner did allow us to use her shower in the main building which was a nice gesture. The rooms are very basic but its all you need as its so beautiful outside you are only in the room to sleep.

Room Tip: Request one of the cabanas that are right on the beach!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

This was our last stop on a 2 week tour of Sri Lanka. We were hoping for a peaceful and secluded little bit of luxury next to the ocean for 2 nights...and weren't disappointed. The cabanas are immaculately clean and very efficiently run. There's no aircon in the rooms, but with the seabreeze and fan you don't need it! The breakfast was lovely and served to us on our balcony. The location cannot be beaten, waking up with the sound of the waves, watching the sunset from your own private balcony with a Lion beer in hand...life doesn't get much better. Wander along the beach a little way and you'll pass a couple of lovely bar/restaurants, definitely worth a stop for good cocktails and seafood.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Kelly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights.. The kabanas ddnt have aircon so we were graxiously moved to an apartment.. Brekky was good.. Food above average.. Best thing was that everything was fresh.. Would deffinatwly reccomend the place.. And would stay here again..

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ahsandude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
1.5 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 33 in Unawatuna
933 reviews
1.5 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#12 of 33 in Unawatuna
826 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#6 of 33 in Unawatuna
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 33 in Unawatuna
713 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 33 in Unawatuna
449 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 33 in Unawatuna
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockside Cabanas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockside Cabanas Hotel

Address: 668 Matara Road | Mihiripenna / Thalpe, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 142 Speciality Lodging in Unawatuna
Price Range: £37 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rockside Cabanas Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ROCKSIDE CABANAS HOTEL - directly at the Mihiripenna/Dalawella beach! Jump from your bed straight into the 28° C warm water of the ocean. Relax in a hammock under the coconut palms in the 1.000 m² garden of the ROCKSIDE in Mihiripenna near Unawatuna. And in the evening you'll probably lounge in our garden restaurant or on your veranda, sipping a cool drink and enjoying the spectacular sunset over the sea.If you want to perfectly relax just ask us to take care of you - or stay completely private in your CABANA or your APARTMENT. At our own UNAWATUNA DIVING CENTRE, PADI Resort S-36133, situated directly on the beach, only 2 km away from ROCKSIDE we offer you daily snorkeling trips and fun dives to our different dive spots (reef, rock, wrack). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Rockside Cabanas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing