We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation at its finest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rockside Cabanas Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2014

My wife and I have just returned from Sri Lanka and a highlight of our trip was the stay at Rockside Cabanas. We highly recommend reserving a bungalow-it'll cost more and there's no A/C, but listening to the waves lap against the shore, which is just a few short steps away was sublime. The beach fronts a rich area for marine wildlife, with corals abundant-we would wade in water waist deep and be surrounded by tiny, colorful fish while crabs scampered over the rocks; if you climb out to the big rock early in the morning/at twilight, you can see sea turtles coming in to feed. Galle Fort is a 20 minute tuk tuk ride away, with drivers located right outside the gate-both nights we stayed, we indulged in the history, view, shopping, and dining. One last comment-one day for lunch, we walked down the beach to the nearest restaurant and had a delicious meal, one of my favorite ever dishes (seafood pasta). Huge thumbs up for everything about Rockside Cabanas!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PeruTransplant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights in one of the garden cabanas. The location is slightly out from the main part of unawatuna but that was not really a negative as was only. 200 for a tuk tuk and near the unawatuna dive centre where we dived (owned by same people). We ate at the cabanas most nights as the food was nice and reasonably priced (ate at Kingfisher too,see other review) and the service was very good. Generally a nice place to stay if you want somewhere quiet to chill. Right on the beach which was nice for swimming and lazing on. One thing as noted by other reviewers, the road and railway line are noisy so get a cabana by the beach if you can.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Poppy1315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Recently returned from 9 days at Rockside cabanas, and really recommend it, we were in one of the apartments, with a great big balcony looking over the gardens and beach. The room was great, v spacious and nicely decorated, and the gardens and restaurant were great- v quiet, v helpful staff and Renata was great at organising a couple of trips and was even up to greet us when we arrived at 4.30am! The beach is beautiful and is in a great location, quieter than Unawatuna but close enough (5mins in a tuk-tuk) to get to the restaurants and nightlife there and only 15 mins to galle. You can hear the trains and traffic but the waves drown out most of the noise! PS try the calamari with chilli and ginger, fantastic!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We had cabana number 1, which is in a stunning location overlooking Thalpe beach with great views of the ocean and steps away from the water. The cabana was spotlessly clean and lots of room, with plenty of hot water and space for all your belongings, The surrounding area was well tended and it all felt very safe with lots of room to sunbathe. Renata runs a smooth operation which makes it so easy to ask for things and nothing is too much trouble for her and her staff.The food was well priced and of very good quality. It was very relaxing considering we were so close to the hustle and bustle of Unawatuna. Nice to have it both ways. Will hope to go back soon.

Room Tip: Go for any of the cabanas, all in good spots
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bobbyblot13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed at Rockside Cabanas (run by Renate) for 2 weeks over Christmas and used the Unawatuna Diving Centre (run by Hans). We booked cabana No1, and were not disappointed. It is located overlooking the beach, a very spacious room with a great veranda, but it was private enough so as not to be overlooked by other residents. If you love and want the sound of the sea, this is the place to be. The room is cleaned to a high standard every day, clean sheets and towels every 3 days. The food and drink in the restaurant is slightly on the pricey side, but of a very good standard. Breakfast is standard, fresh fruit, choice of eggs, toast, cereals, fruit juice, tea or coffee. a local style breakfast can be ordered 24hrs in advance for the more adventurous at an extra cost.They do have a good range of lunchtime snacks and evening meals which are well cooked and presented.

The dive centre is 1.5kms down the road in a Tuk-Tuk and is professionally run by Hans (Renate's husband). All the equipment appeared to be reasonably new and well maintained, but we prefer to use our own. Depending on the tide (see forum re tide destruction), you may have to carry your equipment 100mtrs down the road to a small beach, and help launch the boat, which is all part of the fun. The dive sites that they prefer to use are the wrecks, as you get to see more diversity in the sea life as the reefs are pretty much non existent. But we enjoyed every dive regardless and we saw turtle, shrimp, pufferfish, trevally, Torpedo Ray, barracuda and for the macro hunters some amazing Nudibranches. The boats are basic, but well maintained, and all are two tank boat dives and they can only carry 4 divers, a guide and a driver. The small groups of 4 are ideal and allow you to really take your time and enjoy your dive. We had a local dive guide and once he knew how we dived he let us explore on our own and helped, by pointing out things of interest. Our only concern was between dives, there is no snack, which is not a problem, but on our first dive we only had 40 minutes surface time and we were tanking up again. Our guide was made aware the next time we went out and we had an hours surface time from then on. Having a snack between dives helps to ensure that you do get a break and surface time between dives.

You can take the Tuk-Tuk into Unawatuna itself, but beware, a lot of the drivers are not local and are on the take. You first have to agree a price, which should be around 200 to 300rp, but they always ask for more and when you get to your destination they never seem to have change. and no one wants to give any in local shops. So when you get small notes keep them, otherwise you will pay a small fortune to Tuk-Tuk drivers. A bus from Galle to Colombo cost us 800rps each and our Tuk-Tuk from Unawutuna to Galle was 700rp. So they are very expensive.

The beach in front of Rockside is used by the locals as the local bathing area and they have big family gatherings, but they are very accommodating to holidaymakers. If you want a bit more life then head to the beach at Unawatuna, where there are more activities and shopping for the tourist and a good range of bars and restaurants. The sand on the beach has been reversed and washed down to the western end, jeopardising businesses at the eastern end which are in danger of being washed into the sea in the future.

Rockside Cabanas was an amazing stay and Renate and Hans are a lovely German couple who have set standards very high. We will go back again if the opportunity arises.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlfieG13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

The Cabanas were fantastic, absolutely first class for an informal holiday - the food was excellent and very reasonably priced - everything was spotlessly clean. I should add that I did not notice any difference between the treatment of the German/English guests. Our host worked very hard and was as helpful as she could be when asked. In fact, she was concerned at one point I had not eaten breakfast for 4 days (too much partying in Unawatuna!). Excellent place, would strongly recommend.

Room Tip: Pick Cabana 1!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DesertBeetle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Rockside cabanas for 3 nights during the new year. The rooms, the garden and the kitchen staff is great. There is nothing to complain about. The restaurant is maybe a littlebit more expensive the other places in Sri Lanka, but OK. 

A big BUT is the owner. Its is a German women that has attitude problems. For exampel when we asked for non deep fried food (celiac disease), she responded that she could not convey this for the kitchen staff because of lack in language skills, in a way that wasn't pleasant.  But the kitchen staff had no problem in communicating in english. There were several incidents when the owner said that she had problems with her english and therefore couldn't help us.  We also notice that the german guests got a totally different treatment, a little bit sad at a hotel that is way more pricey than the average hotel in Sri lanka.

All this maybe a result of her "bad english skills" which is sad.

The houses and surrounding area is really beautiful and the Sri lankan staff were nice and helpfull wich made the stay good aside from the owner.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Sofie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
1.5 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 33 in Unawatuna
946 reviews
1.5 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#12 of 33 in Unawatuna
826 reviews
2.5 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 33 in Unawatuna
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 33 in Unawatuna
455 reviews
2 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#6 of 33 in Unawatuna
300 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 33 in Unawatuna
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockside Cabanas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockside Cabanas Hotel

Address: 668 Matara Road | Mihiripenna / Thalpe, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 144 Speciality Lodging in Unawatuna
Price Range: £37 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rockside Cabanas Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ROCKSIDE CABANAS HOTEL - directly at the Mihiripenna/Dalawella beach! Jump from your bed straight into the 28° C warm water of the ocean. Relax in a hammock under the coconut palms in the 1.000 m² garden of the ROCKSIDE in Mihiripenna near Unawatuna. And in the evening you'll probably lounge in our garden restaurant or on your veranda, sipping a cool drink and enjoying the spectacular sunset over the sea.If you want to perfectly relax just ask us to take care of you - or stay completely private in your CABANA or your APARTMENT. At our own UNAWATUNA DIVING CENTRE, PADI Resort S-36133, situated directly on the beach, only 2 km away from ROCKSIDE we offer you daily snorkeling trips and fun dives to our different dive spots (reef, rock, wrack). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Rockside Cabanas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockside Cabanas Hotel Unawatuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing