We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely homely place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Home Stay Strand

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Home Stay Strand
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely homely place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2012

This is a beautiful guesthouse tucked away in a junglely garden with monkeys! The owners make you feel very relaxed and at home here and it is excellent value for money. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gr8asoka, Owner at Home Stay Strand, responded to this review, 11 December 2012
Thank you for your kind words about our home, we are happy you enjoyed your week-end with us and gladly look forward to your return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    33
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
55
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

A gorgeous little spot tucked away off the beach. Run by a lovely couple who made us feel very at home. The rooms are big, clean and generally have a little private area/patio/balcony which was great. We only stayed one night before changing guest houses, though, as our room was right next to the staff quarters so staff were coming and going right next to our window quite late and early (and could see in our room at night when we had the lights on), the mosquitos were really bad here and all there was between the room we had (downstairs) and the room above us were floor boards so we could hear every sound made from the room above. Check out a few different rooms and perhaps stay upstairs. Breakfast was fabulous here.

Room Tip: Don't stay downstairs!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jodieodea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gr8asoka, Owner at Home Stay Strand, responded to this review, 11 December 2012
We thank you for your Review and take note of your pointers, we have used a Sheer curtain only as thick curtains darken the room, however we will fix a second curtain that can be drawn back in the daytime. Many travelers appreciate the polished wooden floor in the room above to tiled or concrete floors, also we strive to maintain the antiquity of our ancestral home, which is our biggest draw. As this is not purposely built for tourism, we have to live with few lapses.
We provide mosquito coils, but many do not like the fumes.
We really appreciate your - - & + + points. ThanX
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2012

My wife and I stayed at Strand Guest House this week. We truly enjoyed our stay, the very hospitable staff, the key location just off the main Unawatuna beach in a quite area, and all at a fair and reasonable price. The furniture and furnishings takes you back to another time - large 4-poster beds, armoires, etc. - and the size of the rooms is more than you'd ever need. We asked for the typical Sri Lankan breakfast of dahl curry, coconut sambhal, string hoppers, and fruit - which was prepared well. My only warning to travellers is that most all of the rooms were designed pre-air conditioning, so open aired. It's welcome to have the fresh air but watch out for the mosquitos, etc. Each bedroom we saw had a very comfortable, non-intrusive mosquito net so not much an issue at all. Anyway, Asaka and the staff were so friendly and welcoming that I cannot say anything bad about the stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brianraggett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gr8asoka, Owner at Home Stay Strand, responded to this review, 11 December 2012
We are thankful for your 'post-haste' review, and would be happy to have you for a longer stay soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2012

We stayed for a few nights and really felt it was the best place we could have chosen in Unawatuna. We fully support the comments of the previous writers. The atmosphere created by Asoka and his family in the colonial style house is really welcoming, family like and provides you with a local flavour. And yes, in the beautiful garden with trees and plants almost as dense as in the jungle, there is wonderful wildlife, which we can definitely give evidence for: The monkeys took our fruit from the balcony :)

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank esmaama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gr8asoka, Owner at Home Stay Strand, responded to this review, 9 December 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words,we wish you a merry Christmas when you get back home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

We would recommend anyone to stay here - it was such a good find. Asoka was a fantastic host with entertaining stories (just about about his famous guests) and good tips for the best places to eat (the west end of the beach with the less touristy places).

The omlette was by far the best in Sri Lanka, made by his charming and friendly chef/housekeeper and the freshest and tastiest bread in the country - a superb breakfast.

As for accomodation we had a tour of all the rooms, spacious, clean and with character. We stayed in 'The Nest' as most recommend and we were not disappointed, probably the best value for money in our whole trip and the balcony was a great place to relax witha beer at the end of a hard day sunbathing! Also have to mention the shower - super powerful and hot - very happy!

Even though we only stayed three nights we felt at home and were very sad to leave. You may think a beachside hotel is more appealing but the beach is less than 1 min walk away and The Home Stay Strand offered a more enjoyable experience. Thanks Asoka, we wish you all the best.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry_George242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gr8asoka, Owner at Home Stay Strand, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Thanks Georgina Barry~Gr8 review, we try to live upto our TripAdvisor guests expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
København, Danmark
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

The place is perfectly placed two minutes from the beach, restaurants and a dive shop. The house is set in a beautiful garden, where you will see monkeys and tropical birds. Asoka, the owner of the hotel, will make sure you have a great stay. I asked for hoppers for breakfast, and got it the next couple of days. Really nice people there, two gorgeous dogs and a friendly cat. What more can you ask for?

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank idaras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gr8asoka, Owner at Home Stay Strand, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Thanks Ida for your gr8 review, you took the sunshine away, now we are drenched in heavy rains.
Our dogs Chutta and Chewy seen to miss U. Enjoy ur hols in Thailand!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

My family (2 adults and 2 small kids- 2 and 5 years) were there for a week February 2012
It is a very homey sort of place. We had an air conditioned room upstairs which I can recommend AC since none of the Mosquito repellant we bought seemed to have any effect.

Every morning we saw monkeys in the trees, which was one of the highlights of staying there.
Asoka (the owner) is so nice as is his staff as well.

The place needs a makeover, but I still liked it and location is perfect.
Unawatuna is an alright place. The best thing about it is it is easy to test different nearby beaches during the day. The streets got quite crowed with cars during the weekend. It is very easy to get with the new highway, so a lot of locals end up there.
Unawatuna's beaches are not amazing for just relaxing on the beach. I think it use to be since I read everywhere how it was one of the top 10 beaches in the world, but I don't know what happened, but the water basically comes up to the restaurants nowadays, so there are very few places to actually play in the sand and swim safely, which is what we are looking for with small kids. People told me the landscape had changed alot since the Tsunami of 2004.

While Unawatuna is a nice place, it is completely filled with restaurants from one side to the next.

I wouldn't rate it in the top 1000 beaches in the world, maybe it is just me but I have been to a lot of different beaches.

For budget travellers, Homestay strand is great location and with a little paint job and new matresses/sheets, it is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sme1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gr8asoka, Owner at Home Stay Strand, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Britta and Scott Thanks for your Review, Yeah! We have refurbished our rooms and remolded our Apartment into 2 rooms~Casa Anna and Casa Lillo. Also have hotwater showers in all suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.1 mi away
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Brinkhouse Guest House
Brinkhouse Guest House
#21 of 120 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.0 mi away
No Name Rest
No Name Rest
#13 of 140 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Birdhouse
Birdhouse
#9 of 120 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bandupala Guest House
Bandupala Guest House
#70 of 140 in Unawatuna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mini-Hotel VillaWatuna
Mini-Hotel VillaWatuna
#31 of 140 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home Stay Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Stay Strand

Property: Home Stay Strand
Address: 218 Yaddehimulla Road | Yaddehimulla, Unawatuna, Galle 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 120 Speciality Lodging in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We open our doors and hearts to travelers who wish to imbibe our way of life. Strand is a Sri Lankan family home, approved by Sri Lanka Tourist Board as a "Home-stay" accommodation for Tourists. We are in Sri Lanka's #1 beach destination, Unawatuna on the sunny south coast, but it is not on the beach front, only a couple of minutes walk. Four upstairs rooms, AC Suite, Duran Duran Suite, Casa Anna [AC], and The Nest[the most popular suite]. Ground floor rooms, Garden Suite, Casa Lillo and Blue Room makes up our home, a colonial vintage villa where five generations of our family has lived. Complimentary Breakfast, FREE Wi-Fi No Taxes, No Service charges! TripAdvisor 2013 Award Winner as one of the TOP25 B&Bs in Sri Lanka! Certificate of Excellence awarded in 2014!! Strand is like no other place~FEEL LIKE HOME! Google "UNAWATUNA HOMESTAY". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Home Stay Strand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Home Stay Strand Hotel Unawatuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing