We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Unawatuna!”
Review of Home Stay Strand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Home Stay Strand
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Home stay strand was the place were we started our honeymoon in Sri Lanka, and since the first email, the owner Asoka was Awesome! He helped us with any of our questions and even arranged a pick up from the air port for us.
The breakfast and the room were amazing, the people working there were great and very very nice. The garden outside is a photographers paradise and Asoka showed my wife all the flowers in his garden with lots of knowledge and he even put out his camera and took our photo :-)
Great place to stay in the beautiful Unawatuna - Don't miss it, great value for your money!

Room Tip: We stayed in the nest (the name of the room) and it was really nice with a great balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eyald895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gr8asoka, Owner at Home Stay Strand, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Thank you so much for your gracious review, we are happy you enjoyed your Homeymoon nestled in THE NEST. You are welcome to celebrate your first anniversary with us.
Thanks for the mini site for Strand in your Trekkingin.com blog~keep Trekkin!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2013 via mobile

Our 4 nights at the strand were a perfect escape from the overdeveloped and touristy nature if unawatuna. The staff were excellent, our room (the nest) was absolutely perfect! We really loved every minute of our stay.
Our only small gripes were that breakfast, while yummy, was very simple and for the price of the room (even without a/c) we expected a better breakfast.
But all in all- was excellent!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lissbrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gr8asoka, Owner at Home Stay Strand, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Thank you for your review it helps others find gr8 places to stay like you did and enjoyed.
We are happy that the sandy beach has been restored in Unawatuna thanks to conservation efforts of the Tourism Ministry.
Sorry about the brekkie~some times fresh fruit availability is low specially in the off season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Mr. Asoka and his wife Hilda who own the place are such a lovely friendly couple. They also have many interesting stories e.g. about the tsunami. I really felt like home in this beautiful old colonial style house. It is such a comfortable and quite place, perfect to relax. The only sound you can hear is the ocean, the birds and monkeys, amazing! Feels like beeing in a jungle. I stayed four nights in the blue room which is beautiful, the only minus point is that there is only cold water. But apparently only in this room, the other rooms all have hot showers. The breakfast is great, it includes fresh fruits, eggs any style, fresh bred, tea or coffee. The stuff were also extremely friendly and helpful with any kind of questions or requests. Unawatuna is quite touristy and can be noisy at night, but this place is very quiet even though it is close to the beach and all the restaurants and bars. I definitely recommend to stay there.

Room Tip: Don't take the blue room if you like hot showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Globetrotterin301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gr8asoka, Owner at Home Stay Strand, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

We greatly appreciate a good review from a Senior Contributor of TripAdvisor already garnered many helpful votes. Hilda and I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and in Unawatuna. You will be happier to hear tht the sandy beach has been restored after recent conservation efforts.
Thank you for your kind words about us, our staff and our home,
We are sure you will be back for a longer stay.~Vielen Dank!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Traditional style colonial house in lush jungle gardens complete with an army of monkeys leaping about the trees and roof! it is situated in a quiet area of village but close to all amenities. Each room is individual with plenty of space traditional furniture and bags of character. Breakfast is great, fresh fruit any style of eggs, toast, tea or coffee served in porcelain crockery. if you prefer there is a traditional Sri Lankan breakfast available. Asoka and his family and staff are charming and go out of their way to make your stay memorable. Lifts into galle, advice on shopping are the norm. I would like to thank you all for making my stay so memorable. Home from home. I thoroughly recommend this delightful homestead.
Richard

Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gr8asoka, Owner at Home Stay Strand, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay~and came back to enjoy your last day in Sri Lanka with us.
Thank you for your kind words and we hope to see you again..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

This was my 4th visit to Unawatuna and "The Strand" (in 10 years) and while Unawatuna seems to be changing at the rate of knots (far more commercialised) I'm pleased to see that "The Strand" remains a comfortable and quiet place to relax. I stayed in the room called "The Nest" and it's lovely - it has a wonderful L shaped balcony from where you can enjoy an ice cold Lion lager and watch the monkeys jump from tree to tree. The owner, Asoka, is a charming man and the staff are helpful. The breakfasts (either Western or Sri Lankan) are hearty and fresh. I hope to return to "The Strand" again one day.

Room Tip: The website covers all the rooms - different facilities and sizes for different budgets. The Blue Ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FiascoLoves2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gr8asoka, Owner at Home Stay Strand, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

We were so glad to see you again and look forwards to your next visit with your family.
Thanks for your kind comments and Room tips and nice photos. Asoka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Mr Asoke is a lovely friendly man who own's and runs the house. Has lots of interesting stories and is very friendly helpful person. House is a large old elegant charming affair surrounded by the jungle - monkeys jump from tree to tree in the morning whilst having breakfast. Unawatuna is a bit of a touristy, busy beach but this place is very authentic.

Recommend taking a tuk tuk if you stay here down to Wijaya beach which is ten mins away. Much nicer and only 200 rps

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bazrobbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gr8asoka, Owner at Home Stay Strand, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

We appreciate your kind review and hopefully Unawatuna beach will be much better after the Coastal Conservation efforts now going on. Jungle Beach is also a fine place to chill out~Asoka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013 via mobile

Unawatuna gets more and more busy with tourism so we were so happy to find a peaceful place at strand homestay for 2 nights. Mr Asoke is incredibly helpful as well as the other people, the house is really nice and charming, the garden gives you a "jungle-feeling" ! Clean rooms and delicious breakfast- we could not find a better place in Unawatuna.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicolanimal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gr8asoka, Owner at Home Stay Strand, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words in your review and all stars!
Unfortunately my rating drops every time I get a NEW eXcellent review.
Anywayz we are happy our guests have voted us as one of the TOP 25 B&Bs in Sri Lanka.
Thanks and come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.4 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#12 of 33 in Unawatuna
825 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 33 in Unawatuna
933 reviews
1.3 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 33 in Unawatuna
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Thambapanni Retreat
Thambapanni Retreat
#5 of 33 in Unawatuna
499 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nooit Gedacht Holiday Resort
Nooit Gedacht Holiday Resort
#24 of 33 in Unawatuna
84 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 33 in Unawatuna
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home Stay Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Stay Strand

Address: 218 Yaddehimulla Road | Yaddehimulla, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 142 Speciality Lodging in Unawatuna
Price Range: £17 - £32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We open our doors and hearts to travelers who wish to imbibe our way of life. Strand is a Sri Lankan family home, approved by Sri Lanka Tourist Board as a "Home-stay" accommodation for Tourists. We are in Sri Lanka's #1 beach destination, Unawatuna on the sunny south coast, but it is not on the beach front, only a couple of minutes walk. Four upstairs rooms, AC Suite, Duran Duran Suite, Casa Anna [AC], and The Nest[the most popular suite]. Ground floor rooms, Garden Suite, Casa Lillo and Blue Room makes up our home, a colonial vintage villa where five generations of our family has lived. Complimentary Breakfast, FREE Wi-Fi No Taxes, No Service charges! TripAdvisor 2013 Award Winner as one of the TOP25 B&Bs in Sri Lanka! Certificate of Excellence awarded in 2014!! Strand is like no other place~FEEL LIKE HOME! Google "UNAWATUNA HOMESTAY". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Home Stay Strand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Home Stay Strand Hotel Unawatuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing