We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise hidden!”
Review of Home Stay Strand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Home Stay Strand
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
“Paradise hidden!”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

we stayed in late december 2013,
Asoka and his homestay was a highlight of our sri lankan holiday.
a fantastic welcome by Asoka, great breakfasts that went on forever.
Asoka is a wonderfull host and as i do,, enjoys a chat!!
a great place to unwind and relax, totaly central to all around yet quiet and hidden from the main road.
peacfull location.
a true taste of sri lanka not a bland 5 Star hotel, a family home and is better for it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blueguzzi U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asoka_una, Owner at Home Stay Strand, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thank you for your kind words. It was always nice to chat with you. We are happy when our guests enjoy their stay at our home. We hope you come back someday soon. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    34
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
55
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Enjoyed our stay at Strand. Asoka and his live in staff were friendly and went out of their way to make us comfortable and teach us about the local culture. Especially appreciated Gayon's instructions in basic Sinhalese! Loved watching the monkey troop that lives in the surrounding forest. It's not a luxury resort but very clean and only half a block from the best part of the beach.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paddleboardoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asoka_una, Owner at Home Stay Strand, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thank you for your kind comments, your experiences will help our future guests to make good decisions to make their trips memorable. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forestville, California
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Such a pleasant place! Ashok is a true gentleman and a gentle spirit with a wealth of local experience and wisdom and stories to share, so treat yourself to some time to sit and chat with him during your stay. His hired staff are all totally sweet and helpful. He will help you with any travel arrangements you need and advise you well. Great place to stay and a perfect location.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Carla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asoka_una, Owner at Home Stay Strand, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Thank you for your kind words, we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us.
It was nice to talk with you and gain from your vast knowledge.
We will be happy to share our home anytime you visit Sri Lanka again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
assam
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Our family of four including older children stayed in Strand for four days between 4th and 8th January, 2014. Wonderful time passed in the place which is in the middle of everything yet very calm and quiet. The owner's family if very friendly and considerate. Ashoka is an excellent human being, learned and always ready to listen. I miss our little chats sitting at his Veranda. I would highly recommend people who value human relationship and mutual respect to stay at Ashoka's place. They'll love the experience. I express my gratitude to Ashoka and his team for all they have done for us during our stay at their place. Hope to see you people again in good health.

Dibakar Chakraborty
Travelled with family

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dibakarAssam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ravana, Owner at Home Stay Strand, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
My wife and I enjoyed your company very much. Specially our little chats were very educative.
I am happy we were able to find common roots.
Thank you for your all star review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

This year we spent New Year in Unawatuna, staying at the Home Stay Strand and what an enjoyable time we had. As other reviews have mentioned, this is not a deluxe hotel - it is much more, it is a Bed & Breakfast where the pace of life is a little slower and the friendliness of all the staff is much greater.

The rooms are quite spacious and the beds have mosquito nets. Most rooms have a balcony from which you can spend loads of time looking at the wildlife in the garden - from the noisy monkeys jumping from tree to tree, to the exotic birds sitting on the telephone wires, to the glow worms flying around at night when the electricity in all of Unawatuna has been cut!

Breakfast is plentiful with fresh fruit, toast and eggs done however you want them. Quite often we would have a chat with Asoka over breakfast - and one time he described his experience of the tsunami of 2004, as well as the political unrest occuring in Sri Lanka before that - fascinating if not tragic stuff.

Everything was done at a leisurely pace - there was no sense of rush - and that suited us down to the ground. All the staff had warm smiles when we greeted them.

As for the rest, the beach is not even 50m away - big beach - warm water. The best snorkelling though is on Jungle Beach which you find by taking a left out of the Home Stay Strand and following the signs. Its about 20 minutes to walk there and the beach is not large at all but loads of good fish to see - I even spotted a cuttlefish, a first for me.

For your evening meal, there are numerous restaurants on the beach and they all sell my new favourite cocktail the Arrack Sour - cheers.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ravana, Owner at Home Stay Strand, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you for your kind review of our Homestay.
We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we enjoyed your company.
We await news of your Pop-Star son.
May this be a Joyful year for your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

We expected a very small place and were quite surprised that there are so many rooms. The house is nice but the rooms on the ground floor at the back are quite dingy and too full with 4 beds. The double bed was very small and shaky. The owners are very friendly but the didn't necessarily come to chat to us. I think this place is better in low season when you can get a choice of rooms and a little more of a personal experience.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BBMagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ravana, Owner at Home Stay Strand, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Family Room Casa Lillo~the only vacant room was offered to this couple for an overnite stay, we had to go to Colombo next morning to attend a family function, so we did not get to socialize with them, any way the new Boutique hotel they checked in later is a far cry for our simple home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

We only stayed one night in this little tropical oasis - a place of cool green calm in the heart on Una. Incredible location 1 or 2 minutes walk from the beach. Our room was large & comfortable & bathroom spotless with an awesome shower (& hot water!) a ceiling & pedestal fan kept us cool under the mozzie net. Breakfast was delish & Asoka & his wife wonderful hosts - seeming to know when you need peace but always happy to chat & tell you some great stories about this wonderful old building. Wished we could have stayed longer!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ravana, Owner at Home Stay Strand, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thanks for your review, we hope next time around you will stay longer, make Unawatuna your base to visit other places of interest around like Dutch Fortress in Galle, day trips to Hikkaduwa and Mirissa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.1 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 32 in Unawatuna
901 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nooit Gedacht Holiday Resort
Nooit Gedacht Holiday Resort
#23 of 32 in Unawatuna
82 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thambapanni Retreat
Thambapanni Retreat
#5 of 32 in Unawatuna
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa
0.4 mi away
Bedspace Guesthouse
Bedspace Guesthouse
#1 of 145 in Unawatuna
211 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blue Eyes Inn - Unawatuna
Blue Eyes Inn - Unawatuna
#1 of 132 in Unawatuna
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home Stay Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Stay Strand

Property: Home Stay Strand
Address: 218 Yaddehimulla Road | Yaddehimulla, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 132 Speciality Lodging in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We open our doors and hearts to travelers who wish to imbibe our way of life. Strand is a Sri Lankan family home, approved by Sri Lanka Tourist Board as a "Home-stay" accommodation for Tourists. We are in Sri Lanka's #1 beach destination, Unawatuna on the sunny south coast, but it is not on the beach front, only a couple of minutes walk. Four upstairs rooms, AC Suite, Duran Duran Suite, Casa Anna [AC], and The Nest[the most popular suite]. Ground floor rooms, Garden Suite, Casa Lillo and Blue Room makes up our home, a colonial vintage villa where five generations of our family has lived. Complimentary Breakfast, FREE Wi-Fi No Taxes, No Service charges! TripAdvisor 2013 Award Winner as one of the TOP25 B&Bs in Sri Lanka! Certificate of Excellence awarded in 2014!! Strand is like no other place~FEEL LIKE HOME! Google "UNAWATUNA HOMESTAY". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Home Stay Strand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Home Stay Strand Hotel Unawatuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing