We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed place in busy Unawatuna”
Review of Home Stay Strand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Home Stay Strand
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Walking down the busy beachfront of Unawatuna to this quiet guesthouse is an amazing experience. It is so relaxed. The place feels very old and has got a good atmosphere. Very friendly hosts! Room was are also very clean (cleaned every day) and nice, although the a/c in the room was very very noisy! The breakfast was also very nice, with really delicious bread and scrambled eggs! One of the best accommodations we stayed during our tour in Sri Lanka!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FelixvdG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asoka_una, Owner at Home Stay Strand, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2015

A good review from a Senior Contributor on TripAdvisor is always another feather in the cap, We are so lucky, the cream of travelers visiting Unawatuna is staying with us. We are thankful to all the great reviews we have got from them that has helped us to stay on Top! Thanks to one and all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

My wife and I spent our honeymoon in Sri Lanka and we were recommended Home Stay Strand by friends who had been before, and it absolutely delivered!!
We were greeted at the door by our host, Asoka, who really is the life and soul of this place.
Asoka was very happy to chat with us over our delicious breakfast, and we felt very honored to hear about his experience of the tragic tsunami of 2004.
The guest house itself is a beautiful building, with large, clean, comfortable rooms and set in wonderful grounds in the dappled shade of large trees. If you decide to have a cold beer on the balcony you may end up having to share with some of the monkies who live in the branches!
It is only a very short walk to Unawatuna beach which is vibrant with plenty of bars and restaurants to choose from. We stayed over Sinhalese new year, and as a result many places were closed, but don't let that put you off, we still found some great places.
Our time at Homestay Strand was wonderful and we would love to come and visit Asoka again!

Room Tip: The Nest room is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markburstow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asoka_una, Owner at Home Stay Strand, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

It was wonderful to have a new couple during the Sinhala New Year period, so you were our first guests. Thank you for your kind words and all star review. Yes do visit us again for your First Anniversary. Hilda and I enjoyed your company and happy to offer New Year Sweetmeats.
Also thanks for your earthquake alert but it was far away in PNG.
Wish you a long and happy wedded life!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Back after 27 years, Asoka's and Hilda's family home is still one of my favorite places in the world. Unawatuna has changed a lot - but all is still small scale and friendly. You'll be just a few steps away from the beach and its hustle & bustle, but still it's only bird's or monk's calls who might wake you from the windows opening to the garden. It's just a privilege to live in the old house that this family is willing to share so generously. The rooms themselves are not super classy, but you will feel like home.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mirowur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asoka_una, Owner at Home Stay Strand, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

It was a pleasure to have you visiting us again after so many years.
We strive to maintain our simple way of life style in spite of boutique hotels and exotic villas springing up all over Sri Lanka!
We have had many of our friends re-visiting Sri Lanka after the peace that has dawned in the country. We hope you will not wait another 20 years for a visit again.
Thank you for your kind words in your review. Regards to your Mom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

(+) Asoka, the host, is very lovely and helpful. He waited us until late in the evening when we arrived.
(+) Large clean rooms with wide bed and nice terrace.
(+) The place is absolutely peaceful and ideally located (200m from the beach).

(-) I think that less expensive accomodations can be found in Unawatuna...
(-) The furniture is a bit old-fashioned.

Room Tip: Please check their website as there are different kinds of rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Romain L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asoka_una, Owner at Home Stay Strand, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thanks for your Three +++ Plus Points!
As for the Minus - - points:
1.There's NO other place like STRAND in Unawatuna!
2. Period furniture is in keeping with the colonial ambiance of the house!
Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

we stayed in late december 2013,
Asoka and his homestay was a highlight of our sri lankan holiday.
a fantastic welcome by Asoka, great breakfasts that went on forever.
Asoka is a wonderfull host and as i do,, enjoys a chat!!
a great place to unwind and relax, totaly central to all around yet quiet and hidden from the main road.
peacfull location.
a true taste of sri lanka not a bland 5 Star hotel, a family home and is better for it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blueguzzi U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asoka_una, Owner at Home Stay Strand, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Thank you for your kind words. It was always nice to chat with you. We are happy when our guests enjoy their stay at our home. We hope you come back someday soon. Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Enjoyed our stay at Strand. Asoka and his live in staff were friendly and went out of their way to make us comfortable and teach us about the local culture. Especially appreciated Gayon's instructions in basic Sinhalese! Loved watching the monkey troop that lives in the surrounding forest. It's not a luxury resort but very clean and only half a block from the best part of the beach.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paddleboardoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asoka_una, Owner at Home Stay Strand, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Thank you for your kind comments, your experiences will help our future guests to make good decisions to make their trips memorable. Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Such a pleasant place! Ashok is a true gentleman and a gentle spirit with a wealth of local experience and wisdom and stories to share, so treat yourself to some time to sit and chat with him during your stay. His hired staff are all totally sweet and helpful. He will help you with any travel arrangements you need and advise you well. Great place to stay and a perfect location.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Carla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asoka_una, Owner at Home Stay Strand, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Thank you for your kind words, we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us.
It was nice to talk with you and gain from your vast knowledge.
We will be happy to share our home anytime you visit Sri Lanka again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.1 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 33 in Unawatuna
933 reviews
0.4 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#11 of 33 in Unawatuna
825 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nooit Gedacht Holiday Resort
Nooit Gedacht Holiday Resort
#23 of 33 in Unawatuna
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 33 in Unawatuna
711 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thambapanni Retreat
Thambapanni Retreat
#5 of 33 in Unawatuna
498 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#6 of 33 in Unawatuna
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home Stay Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Stay Strand

Address: 218 Yaddehimulla Road | Yaddehimulla, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 142 Speciality Lodging in Unawatuna
Price Range: £17 - £31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We open our doors and hearts to travelers who wish to imbibe our way of life. Strand is a Sri Lankan family home, approved by Sri Lanka Tourist Board as a "Home-stay" accommodation for Tourists. We are in Sri Lanka's #1 beach destination, Unawatuna on the sunny south coast, but it is not on the beach front, only a couple of minutes walk. Four upstairs rooms, AC Suite, Duran Duran Suite, Casa Anna [AC], and The Nest[the most popular suite]. Ground floor rooms, Garden Suite, Casa Lillo and Blue Room makes up our home, a colonial vintage villa where five generations of our family has lived. Complimentary Breakfast, FREE Wi-Fi No Taxes, No Service charges! TripAdvisor 2013 Award Winner as one of the TOP25 B&Bs in Sri Lanka! Certificate of Excellence awarded in 2014!! Strand is like no other place~FEEL LIKE HOME! Google "UNAWATUNA HOMESTAY". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Home Stay Strand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Home Stay Strand Hotel Unawatuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing