We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class hotel”
Review of Villa in Paradise

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa in Paradise
Ranked #55 of 155 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Didn't quite know what to expect, but wasn't disappointed, this hotel is run by a most obliging and friendly English couple who go the extra mile to make your stay enjoyable and memorable. Roger organised a couple of excursions for my wife and I, which we loved. Their hotel is spotless thanks to Rogers lovely wife Maureen, apparently some other hotels in this area, according to people we spoke to aren't as good. We can't wait to go back, and try out my swimming technique in the brilliant pool.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

Nice and clean. Owned by houseproud brits, so able to give a uk centric advice on stay, and places to eat. Roger was very accommodating and helpful throught our stay allowing us use of computer and internet to contact friends and relatives.

Large pool and attractive gardens allows a relaxing stay. A/C and kitchen facilities allows guests opportunity to suit themselves or eat out as they prefer. Small distance from beach means you don't get the noise that comes form beach side parties.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sera T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

This was our third stay at Villa in Paradise, and we really can't rate it enough. Roger and Maureen are perfect hosts and I would say have become firm friends. The villa has everything you need and is always spotless thanks to Maureen, Nuwan and Nandana! Breakfast is, usually toast, eggs and fruit although we got wind of how good Rog is at making porridge and he happily obliged. The villa is two minutes away from the beach which is beautiful and there are some lovely places to eat and drink. We also had a scrummy meal at the villa on New Year's Eve and think we drank them out of lion beer, usually accompanied by Rog. We really do love it here and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank LaurLaur871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We agree with the sentiment of sarescrow in the previous review.
The owners of Villa in Paradise were away and we were well cared for by Nuwan and his staff. We too were here on our own in the off season for 5 nights 21/09- 25/09/2013, Nuwan was a great source of local information, organised tuk tuks if needed and was also the perfect host . He and his staff went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. We will always remember the way the caretaker in particular watched & waited each evening for us to return, whatever the time, before locking the Villa, his job completed. Breakfasts were great as was the Sri Lankan meal prepared locally.
Our only minor criticism is that some basic improvements to facilities and decor will be needed soon to maintain this pleasant villa.

Room Tip: upstairs rooms are quiet and have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geoffrey p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We had originally booked different accommodation but changed our minds not long before the trip & booked Villa in Paradise – we definitely made the right decision.
The property is a few minutes’ walk away from the main road & beach & is quiet & relaxing. Roger & Maureen were fantastic hosts, they made us feel extremely welcome and we had a truly relaxing 5 nights over the New Year. We all enjoyed our chats with Roger on the balcony in the evening having a beer !
The rooms & communal areas are kept really clean & the beer & soft drinks in the fridge on each floor are a great idea (you mark what you’ve had on a board & pay when you leave). Rooms have fans & aircon & the beds were comfy. The pool was perfect for an afternoon swim and from both the pool & balcony you could see the monkeys in the trees, and even playing on the road outside. We only managed to get up on time for breakfast one day but it was nice & simple – toast, eggs, fruit, tea/coffee, fruit juice (what more do you want !). Roger organised a lovely Sri Lankan meal for everyone on New Year’s Eve, cooked by a neighbour which was amazing – I believe you can order this at any time of the year & we’d definitely recommend it !
We had to visit the hospital during our stay & Roger was amazing, taking us there, waiting with us & lightening the mood – it really meant so much to us to have him there to help us.
E-mail communication with Roger was very efficient & Villa in Paradise was definitely one of the highlights of our 5 week trip.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheridan2107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Although a bit difficult to find up a narrow alley, it is a good place for relaxation. The yard, though small, and nice pool are very pleasant, and most of the beach shack noises are muffled.
But visitors need to know to bring their own soap and be aware that linens and towels are only replaced every three days. And I don't recommend their rther shabby $30 tour of Lake Koggala and a spice farm.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macinmaine1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We enjoyed this accomodation so much that when we this year go again to Lanka we stayed part of our trip here again. Nothing changed and this B&B is just getting better and better. This time we ordered from Roger Sri Lankan dinner and it was definitelly worthy and Kusuma is great cook. We stayed for 9 nights and it was worth every penny. Beach till afternoon, then swimming pool and then deliciou dinner in Unawatuna. Clean rooms, everything was working, great stuff and even better owners. I think we will come back again in few years again.. :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Filip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#12 of 33 in Unawatuna
826 reviews
0 mi away
Black Beauty Guesthouse
Black Beauty Guesthouse
#33 of 155 in Unawatuna
194 reviews
0 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 33 in Unawatuna
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Mini-Hotel VillaWatuna
Mini-Hotel VillaWatuna
#51 of 155 in Unawatuna
68 reviews
0 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 33 in Unawatuna
720 reviews
0 mi away
Nooit Gedacht Holiday Resort
Nooit Gedacht Holiday Resort
#24 of 33 in Unawatuna
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa in Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa in Paradise

Address: 26 Temple Road, Peellagoda, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range: £58 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa in Paradise 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa is a quiet haven away from road noise and all night disco music. Only sounds are from bird song and monkeys playing in surrounding jungle. Large exotic garden and inviting swimming pool are added features to help make your stay enjoyable and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Villa in Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa In Paradise Hotel Unawatuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing