We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Villa with class.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa in Paradise

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa in Paradise
Ranked #50 of 144 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Villa with class.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

This was my fourth stay in Villa In Paradise and it just gets better and better! Roger and Maureen were as usual brilliant hosts! The villa is always clean and the staff are very helpful and friendly! Breakfast in the villa is a lovely way to start the day! The service from the kitchen is excellent! You have the use of WI-FI in the villa which is always helpful if you need to use your laptop. Overall i can't recommend the villa enough, especially when you have one of the finest beaches in the world within a two minute walk away!! I'm already planning my return for November 2015.
WONDERFUL!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    31
    8
    4
    5
See reviews for
21
61
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
65 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

We had a fantastic stay at this house with Nuwan hosting us. I have nothing negative to say about our time here!
The Good - location. Unawatuna is a 5-minute walk away. Walk down the hill, cross the road & you're in heaven. It's a bit tricky to find the place first up - but we just called Nuwan & he guided us to the place. Main Galle city is a 30-minute drive away.

The Better - rooms & pool. The house has 4 or 5 rooms on each of its 2 floors. We had rooms with ensuite bathrooms. House was spotless clean, beds very comfortable. They have a small pool outside as well which is a great place to chill after a day at the beach or in sunny Galle.
They also have boardgames & some cricket gear for timepass.
More importantly, Nuwan also made arrangements for our driver's stay & food.

The Best - string hoppers for breakfast! You have options of eggs, toast, fruits and/or String-hoppers for breakfast. We loved the string-hoppers & just feasted away to glory. Nuwan even arranged for vegetarian sambal (chilli paste) for us. Was the best breakfast we've had anywhere in the world!

Go ahead & book your stay here without any 2nd thoughts - you wont regret it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTravelingHorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Didn't quite know what to expect, but wasn't disappointed, this hotel is run by a most obliging and friendly English couple who go the extra mile to make your stay enjoyable and memorable. Roger organised a couple of excursions for my wife and I, which we loved. Their hotel is spotless thanks to Rogers lovely wife Maureen, apparently some other hotels in this area, according to people we spoke to aren't as good. We can't wait to go back, and try out my swimming technique in the brilliant pool.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groeslon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Nice and clean. Owned by houseproud brits, so able to give a uk centric advice on stay, and places to eat. Roger was very accommodating and helpful throught our stay allowing us use of computer and internet to contact friends and relatives.

Large pool and attractive gardens allows a relaxing stay. A/C and kitchen facilities allows guests opportunity to suit themselves or eat out as they prefer. Small distance from beach means you don't get the noise that comes form beach side parties.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sera T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

This was our third stay at Villa in Paradise, and we really can't rate it enough. Roger and Maureen are perfect hosts and I would say have become firm friends. The villa has everything you need and is always spotless thanks to Maureen, Nuwan and Nandana! Breakfast is, usually toast, eggs and fruit although we got wind of how good Rog is at making porridge and he happily obliged. The villa is two minutes away from the beach which is beautiful and there are some lovely places to eat and drink. We also had a scrummy meal at the villa on New Year's Eve and think we drank them out of lion beer, usually accompanied by Rog. We really do love it here and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank LaurLaur871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We agree with the sentiment of sarescrow in the previous review.
The owners of Villa in Paradise were away and we were well cared for by Nuwan and his staff. We too were here on our own in the off season for 5 nights 21/09- 25/09/2013, Nuwan was a great source of local information, organised tuk tuks if needed and was also the perfect host . He and his staff went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. We will always remember the way the caretaker in particular watched & waited each evening for us to return, whatever the time, before locking the Villa, his job completed. Breakfasts were great as was the Sri Lankan meal prepared locally.
Our only minor criticism is that some basic improvements to facilities and decor will be needed soon to maintain this pleasant villa.

Room Tip: upstairs rooms are quiet and have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geoffrey p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

We had originally booked different accommodation but changed our minds not long before the trip & booked Villa in Paradise – we definitely made the right decision.
The property is a few minutes’ walk away from the main road & beach & is quiet & relaxing. Roger & Maureen were fantastic hosts, they made us feel extremely welcome and we had a truly relaxing 5 nights over the New Year. We all enjoyed our chats with Roger on the balcony in the evening having a beer !
The rooms & communal areas are kept really clean & the beer & soft drinks in the fridge on each floor are a great idea (you mark what you’ve had on a board & pay when you leave). Rooms have fans & aircon & the beds were comfy. The pool was perfect for an afternoon swim and from both the pool & balcony you could see the monkeys in the trees, and even playing on the road outside. We only managed to get up on time for breakfast one day but it was nice & simple – toast, eggs, fruit, tea/coffee, fruit juice (what more do you want !). Roger organised a lovely Sri Lankan meal for everyone on New Year’s Eve, cooked by a neighbour which was amazing – I believe you can order this at any time of the year & we’d definitely recommend it !
We had to visit the hospital during our stay & Roger was amazing, taking us there, waiting with us & lightening the mood – it really meant so much to us to have him there to help us.
E-mail communication with Roger was very efficient & Villa in Paradise was definitely one of the highlights of our 5 week trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheridan2107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.0 mi away
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
#17 of 30 in Unawatuna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.0 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 30 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
0.0 mi away
Black Beauty Guesthouse
Black Beauty Guesthouse
#29 of 144 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Heli's Place
Heli's Place
#25 of 144 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.0 mi away
Green Villa
Green Villa
#44 of 144 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beach Grove Villas
Beach Grove Villas
#6 of 144 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa in Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa in Paradise

Property: Villa in Paradise
Address: 26 Temple Road, Peellagoda, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa in Paradise 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa is a quiet haven away from road noise and all night disco music. Only sounds are from bird song and monkeys playing in surrounding jungle. Large exotic garden and inviting swimming pool are added features to help make your stay enjoyable and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Villa in Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa In Paradise Hotel Unawatuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing