We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect rip-off! Rooms are tiny little boxes ”
Review of Villa in Paradise

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa in Paradise
Ranked #56 of 149 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

As we were going at the peak period I booked 2 months in advance: 2 double rooms for 2 couples.

Comments on tripadvisor were good, the owner answered quickly and I asked whether they had a view from the rooms and I got the answer 'all rooms lead to a balcony with a view', I thought ok maybe there is no view from the room but I'll be just outside the door. So it seemed a good choice for our little family reunion....until we arrived!

The villa is nicely located 2 min away from the beach but in a quiet street. It has some view on the sea, a nice small garden and a small swimming pool.

But the rooms are like tiny boxes! The owner showed us our rooms : two tiny rooms at the back of the house, tainted glass windows that look at the rickshaw parking, with a light going on and off automatically randomly all night long - waking you up at any time. The bathroom is rundown and the bed are not double but two single bed together. There is no space in the room to move around the beds. For 75 dollars a night there is way better value rooms around.

Be aware that AC is included only during the night but you'll have to pay extra if you use it during the day ( I personally don't use AC but was somehow shocked by the announcement)

As for the balcony ? Our rooms led to the living room of the house and then to a kind of 'outdoor' living room from where you could see the garden.

But the worse was the unfriendlyness of the owner. As I complained about the quality of the rooms and mentioned the issue of the view ( or in this case even light through windows) he said : 'well these are my last two rooms' and showed me the email where he played with words to say there was no view.

We went looking for another place but at the peak season it was almost impossible to find for 4 people at the last minute for 3 nights in the same place. So we decided to stay for a night.

I almost did not sleep because the room felt oppressive and the light in the back courtyard kept on going on.

The - very rude - landlady would try to forbid us to go to the upstairs balcony ( where there was better connection to Internet and the view mentioned in the email) because our rooms were the downstairs one.

On the next morning, when we announced that we were leaving ( we fortunately found a great place for the two remaining nights), the lady started shouting at us (but really shouting) and said we should pay anyways for the three nights. I could not believe it! They had tried to trap us on our holiday in their awful little rooms knowing that it is very difficult to find other options at this time of year and they had not been straight forward as of the conditions of the rooms!

So if you're travelling on the cheap and can get the rooms for a low price it may be an option but if you're looking for a nice and comfortable place to stay, in a good atmosphere, there are definitely better places to go to! I would never recommend this place.

Stayed: January 2014
5  Thank Lillybirdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SriLankaYorkie09, Owner at Villa in Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2015

The rooms were exactly as described on our site and were accurately described in my emails. The attitude of the lady guest was extremely rude and offensive. What she fails to mention is that I offered her a full refund of their deposit , there and then. They went off to look for alternative rooms bur returned saying they would stay for the 3 nights booked. The following morning they decided to check out , just after I left to buy groceries. My wife was correct in asking for full payment but they left paying for 1 night.
As always please read balanced reviews before jumping to conclusions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2014

This little place is wonderful and by far your best bet in Unawatuna! First of all, it’s close to everything, but not too close so the insane party beat from the beach won’t keep you up at night! Then, the breakfast is amazing, the place is clean with all the nice extra touches and the pool is beautiful and will keep you inside the villa’s grounds more than one time! The owners are very nice and helpful and will go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. Don’t hesitate, book here as soon as possible and you won’t regret it!

Room Tip: All amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Sri Lanka is fabulous and VIP (Roger and Maureen) made our trip complete, a truly memorable place to stay. VIP is wonderfully located for beach and restaurants but is far enough up the hill for peace and tranquillity and the views straight of a bounty advert!...service and cleanliness A1 R and M we will be back.

Room Tip: All rooms we saw were of a high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Villa in paradise. The room was basic but clean and had everything you needed. The best thing about the place was Rog and Maureen's excellent hospitality! The pool was also great and we enjoyed the local monkeys that visited a few times. Would definitely stay again next itme we return to Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moja k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

This was my fourth stay in Villa In Paradise and it just gets better and better! Roger and Maureen were as usual brilliant hosts! The villa is always clean and the staff are very helpful and friendly! Breakfast in the villa is a lovely way to start the day! The service from the kitchen is excellent! You have the use of WI-FI in the villa which is always helpful if you need to use your laptop. Overall i can't recommend the villa enough, especially when you have one of the finest beaches in the world within a two minute walk away!! I'm already planning my return for November 2015.
WONDERFUL!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We had a fantastic stay at this house with Nuwan hosting us. I have nothing negative to say about our time here!
The Good - location. Unawatuna is a 5-minute walk away. Walk down the hill, cross the road & you're in heaven. It's a bit tricky to find the place first up - but we just called Nuwan & he guided us to the place. Main Galle city is a 30-minute drive away.

The Better - rooms & pool. The house has 4 or 5 rooms on each of its 2 floors. We had rooms with ensuite bathrooms. House was spotless clean, beds very comfortable. They have a small pool outside as well which is a great place to chill after a day at the beach or in sunny Galle.
They also have boardgames & some cricket gear for timepass.
More importantly, Nuwan also made arrangements for our driver's stay & food.

The Best - string hoppers for breakfast! You have options of eggs, toast, fruits and/or String-hoppers for breakfast. We loved the string-hoppers & just feasted away to glory. Nuwan even arranged for vegetarian sambal (chilli paste) for us. Was the best breakfast we've had anywhere in the world!

Go ahead & book your stay here without any 2nd thoughts - you wont regret it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheTravelingHorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Didn't quite know what to expect, but wasn't disappointed, this hotel is run by a most obliging and friendly English couple who go the extra mile to make your stay enjoyable and memorable. Roger organised a couple of excursions for my wife and I, which we loved. Their hotel is spotless thanks to Rogers lovely wife Maureen, apparently some other hotels in this area, according to people we spoke to aren't as good. We can't wait to go back, and try out my swimming technique in the brilliant pool.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.0 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 33 in Unawatuna
922 reviews
0.0 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#11 of 33 in Unawatuna
822 reviews
0.0 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#3 of 33 in Unawatuna
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#7 of 33 in Unawatuna
285 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thambapanni Retreat
Thambapanni Retreat
#5 of 33 in Unawatuna
492 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#2 of 33 in Unawatuna
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa in Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa in Paradise

Address: 26 Temple Road, Peellagoda, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range: £58 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa in Paradise 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa is a quiet haven away from road noise and all night disco music. Only sounds are from bird song and monkeys playing in surrounding jungle. Large exotic garden and inviting swimming pool are added features to help make your stay enjoyable and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Villa in Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa In Paradise Hotel Unawatuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing