We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, homely and very friendly, with a perfect pool.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Flower Garden Hotel
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2011

A quiet hideaway five minutes stroll from the beach that offers cabanas and luxury rooms with Swiss plumbing. The staff are fabulous, the food probably the best in town, the place is scrupulously clean and the three shepherd guard dogs behave immaculately! Little surprise that so many patrons return year after year to add a family atmosphere to the ambience created by owner Sassi and his team.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TainIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (835)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

443 - 449 of 835 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2011

The hotel is amazing. The deluxe rooms are gorgeous, the hotel food so delicious. I highly recommend to order a rice & curry meal (a feast). Thank you so much to the friendly waiters and the ever smiling Sassi! We will definitely come again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alex_handa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2011

We had a deluxe Cabana in absolutely beautiful gardens and use of a lovely large pool.The Hotel is on the otherside of the road running alongside the beach -so quietly set back from the noise and traffic. The beds are comfortable ,the pillows soft and the showers/bathrooms up to date.Water,fridge.TV , Hair Dryers,beach towels,pool towels and free IT provided.The meals excellent and the Staff friendly and helpful.Out of our two weeks and 6 hotels this was half the price of most of the others and the best value by far.At two of our Hotels we were the only guests .We can see why when Hotels like this one are available. Most others are vastly overpriced.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oscar0734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2011

1.4.2011

Hello Sassi – Tjan – Jagoda and all the other staff at Flower Garden Hotel

First I would like to thank you all for a real nice holliday at Flower Garden. All of you have made our holliday very special because of your smiles and high standart.

We hope, that we sone can make enough money to come again, Sassi - so we can to se that Leoprad, ha ha...

Therefor we will send some of our pictures to you and hope that you, Sassi, will print them - if it is nessesarry, you can send us a mail, then we will send you a real letter with the pictures in.

Lots os thoughts from the 4 Danes
- and with the wish of a nice year for all of you.

Dennis og Marianne Nielsen/ Birger og June Mauritzen

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DennisNFrederiksv_rk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2011

I visited Unawatuna with my wife for our honeymoon in November. Initially, I wasn't sure about staying at Hotel Flower Garden although it had received good reviews on some websites. One thing that stood out in my interaction with the hotel staff was their absolute courtesy and hospitality. The hotel staff goes out of its way to make one's stay as comfortable as possible. The owner, Mr. Sassi Kathir, is one of the finest persons and sets the highest standards of customer service.

The rooms are lovely; the ambience quite pleasant and peaceful. The food was delicious although with limited offering for vegetarians. My wife and I are vegetarians and perhaps the lack of vegetarian food options was the only sore point in our stay at Hotel Flower Garden.

The hotel offers airport pick-up and drop, and also arranges for travel in case one wants to visit other places like Yala National Park, Kataragama, Kandy, or Galle.

The price may seem a touch high, but it is definitely not a pincher, and the stay will definitely be worth it.

Room Tip: arrange your own local transport and save money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iyerakshay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2011

We had booked a place a few hour before,arrival. We agreed on a room for about 50 plus US, But instead we were shown more expansive luxury cabana for 69 plus an extra bed for a child for 8 as I remember. Little unfair, but this was the best we could imagne. We would never go back. We had large beds both with nets. Enormous in size and design bathroom, with stone floors ang glass sink. The pool perfect in size. Great restaurant with a nice selection of wines. Prices high for Sri Lanka but similiar level as on a beach.
About 5 -10 minutes to walk to the beach.
Negatives far from the sea , ugly buildings around the pool/separate property though.
Pluses as Una is by the main Lankan road, we were far enough not to hear it, like the other properties in town. The pool, design, nice owner and perfect staff. great food, and something strange. it is 50 meters from the hill (I was thinking about escape way while tsunami, I know it is stupid but I did).
Forget about laguna trip, the fishermen on stalls - 100 tourist ripp of.
Never go to ayurweda restaurant to te left while going to the see. Dirty expansive and we were poisoned and suffering for a few days.
Jungle beach - suberb

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicolau66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2011

Spacious rooms, comfortable bed, A/C, lovely, tranquil surroundings, sparkling pool,friendly efficient service. To top it all was the splendid food! All of this away from the bustle of the beach but close enough to walk. The only downside is the looong journey from the airport. Thanks to Sassie and his team for their wonderful hospitality and care!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjandlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.4 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 34 in Unawatuna
959 reviews
1 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 34 in Unawatuna
736 reviews
3.4 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#6 of 34 in Unawatuna
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 34 in Unawatuna
465 reviews
0.3 mi away
Unawatuna Beach Bungalow Hotel
0.2 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 34 in Unawatuna
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flower Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flower Garden Hotel

Address: 14 Wella Dewalaya Road, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Unawatuna
#5 Family Hotel in Unawatuna
#6 Romantic Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range: £47 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Flower Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Flower Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flower Garden Unawatuna
Hotel Flower Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing