We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb owner & staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Flower Garden Hotel
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2011

We stayed at the Flower Garden Hotel for 7 nites, Oct '10. The room was clean & comfortable, but the verandha was excellent for relaxing amongst the landscape, drinking a Lion beer & watching the tropical rain pour down. The pool area was great & morning breakfast consistently good. Less than a 10min walk to the beach but well away from the noise. The staff even showed me how to prepare an authentic Sri Lankan meal from scratch, no charge mind you.

Halfway through our stay, Sassi offered a nite at his newly developed property on the edge of Yala National Park. The package included his own A/C van as transport & allowed us to stop anywhere we wanted to along the way, Yala Park safari & a nite in a luxurious bungalow with an incredible curry dinner.

Sassi is an awesome host & has trained his staff to western 5* standards. The first place to consider staying at in Unawatuna.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WylieKylie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (823)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

405 - 411 of 823 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2011

I have just spent 9 days in Unawatuna with my 13 year old son and wanted to share some information with other travellers.
We stayed at the Flower garden hotel, which always receives good reviews and I can see why. Our room was a deluxe cabana and cost $69per night with breakfast. I looked at other hotels in the same area when I arrived and realised that our room was the best quality and the price was good. ( the prices are high in this area).
The breakfasts are good with a hugh fruit plate, followed by eggs, tea/coffee and toast. As an alternative you can have the Sri Lankan breakfast which is a curry feast.
The satff are friendly and Sassi, the owner is great- nothing too much trouble. He even allowed my son in the kitchen when we told him how much he enjoyed cooking!
The pool is clean and big- the largest in the area.
The flowers in the garden are beautiful and well looked after .
The meals in the evening are delicious and good value compared to other places.
Other info that might be useful...
We did a cookery class with Kuruna at Sonya Healthfood restaurant, 7 mins walk from the hotel- excellent day and we made 7 dishes to eat later that day ( 3,000 ruppes per person, approx £18)
We did a cycling tour with Idling cylces, easy riding and pleasant ( 2,000 r each)
Salmon, from the hotel took us on a simple fishing trip off the rocks at Jungle Beach and my son was delighted to catch a few mullet, which the restaurant can cook for you.
Best massages for me, where at Thamplan Resort with Rangan, he sorted out a few muscle problems.
We had feet massages and pedicures @ foot Rub next to Unatwatuna Beach Resort

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Fifi186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Really special place. Lovely pool, bar area, and restaurant. Breakfast was standard fare - eggs and fruit - but fresh. Beach is a 5-10 min walk, not far at all and quite pleasant. Very relaxing hotel. We did have an issue with the first room - aircon wasnt that strong - but they moved rooms for us very easily so it was fine. We met the owner, nice guy. Overall, a great place

Room Tip: We had an upstairs room in the main hotel area. Tea/coffee maker, fridge. Big bed. There are also ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shenaniganso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

We arrived at the Flower Garden a day early and the owner, Sassi, couldn't have been more accommodating. We were given an idyllic cabana with our own garden and terrace, very private and relaxing. The room conditions are better than anything I've seen in Sri Lanka. Immaculate, beautiful antique furnishings, mosquito nets, mini-bar, lovely modern bathroom. The cabanas have real character.

Breakfast (which is included in the price) was great. Fruit, choice of eggs, toast and juice. All very well cooked. The restaurant was good too. I had a calamari which was second to none! On the last day we had the Sri Lankan breakfast which was great and should be experienced. The egg hoppers are excellent!

The staff at the Flower Garden are also great. There is a real professionalism about the place that makes you feel like you're in a resort hotel, but without the trappings. The staff or owner are not pushy, just want to make you feel comfortable and ensure you're having a good time.

The facilities/services are also good - massage is recommended as is the Tuk Tuk driver outside (sorry, don't know his name) who took us on a great trip to the lagoon and turtle hatchery.

I booked this hotel in the knowledge that it was Unawatuna's no.1 hotel on TripAdvisor and I wasn't disappointed. Highly highly recommended. It made our holiday!

Room Tip: Get a cabana, they are perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emmaclarekidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

My partner and I have stayed twice before, and the warm welcome and friendly, homely, feel is such a pleasure.

Both times we have stayed in a cabana, in a four-poster bed, with a modern, quality bathroom.

The location, a few hundred yards from the beach, is great if you want to have a relaxing place to stay rather than the hustle-bustle of beachside accommodation. Being one of the only - if not the only - place with a pool gives you somewhere to swim in cool, still water, if you want a change from the sea.

The breakfasts are wonderful - plenty of fresh fruit, and lovely Sri Lankan omelettes.

I never go without having a massage or two. Very reasonably-priced, a leisurely massage at the end of the day, retiring to the cabana to let the oils soak in, leave you feeling relaxed and soft-skinned. A great way to end a day in the sun, before heading out for an evening meal.

Sassi is very communicative and easy to deal with from afar, and I have nothing but good to say about the whole setup at the Flower Garden.

Room Tip: The detached cabanas are a great little piece of privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hunneybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

A quiet and relaxing hotel, very well maintained, surrounded by greenery.
We stayed in a cabana which was spacious with a comfortable bed and a large bathroom with modern facilities. The room was always kept clean which is not really common in Sri Lanka.
There is a nice clean pool which is a great gain if you stay there out of season when the sea is rough. Anyway the beach is not far (5 – 10 minutes walk). The main road is also nearby.
The food was great, both breakfast and dinner.
The staff were helpful and friendly and the service was really good. Sassi, the owner, is committed to his guests' satisfaction.
One problem: the mosquitoes. Because of the dank grounds around, there were lots of mosquitoes in the evenings / nights, and we couldn't sit outside and enjoy the small garden in front of our cabana.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Irit832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

I think this is a gem tucked away right behind a small hillock in Unawatuna.

Sassi is a great host a good guy to chat up with. I think it's wonderful when the owner of the property / hostturns up at the gate to welcome you to his place.

His dogs are adorable and the place is very nice.

Sassi was kind enough to give us the Suite, which as tow bedrooms and a big bathroom wih a jacuzzi built for couples. It was a great beginning of the trip.

The food is great but have only tow requests : more snacks on the menu, finger food preferably and more Indian food as we Indian's can't last too long without our dals rice and curries.

I understand that Sassi has some new food options coming up and that would make our next trip even better.

The walk to the beach is a 10 minute affair and tuk tuks are available. The hotel has a nice pool which I think is not available with other hotels around and that is a ++ for Flower Garden

My 2 daughters loved the pool and the rooms too with bed posts and mosquito nets thrown in. They just thought it was magical to sleep under the nets :-)

Few things which need brushing up...the restaurant staff and the kitchen needs to be more efficient. We found some slowness in the service levels sometimes.

But, it was nothing compared to the level of comfort we felt in the hotel.

The hotel is definitely worth the recommendations.

We will love to come back.

Room Tip: I would efinitely recommend the suite. It's very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Iceman73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.4 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 33 in Unawatuna
922 reviews
1.0 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#3 of 33 in Unawatuna
701 reviews
3.4 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#6 of 33 in Unawatuna
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#2 of 33 in Unawatuna
443 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 33 in Unawatuna
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flower Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flower Garden Hotel

Address: Wella Dewalaya Road, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Unawatuna
#6 Romantic Hotel in Unawatuna
#7 Family Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range: £31 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Flower Garden Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Flower Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flower Garden Unawatuna
Hotel Flower Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing