We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to unwind after traveling”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Flower Garden Hotel
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great place to unwind after traveling”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay at flower garden. The rooms were very nice and clean (except for 2 or 3 cockroaches in the bathroom of the bungalow). The food was really great, I can highly recommend the steak.

The pool was relaxed and clean in contrast to the beach of Unawatuna.

Overall a very low price for such a nice and friendly hotel.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank babod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    473
    228
    54
    29
    21
See reviews for
214
401
32
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Omg, those guys working at the hotel are just fantastic! From the first moment until the last we were looked after like I've not experienced anywhere else.
We wanted to book a cabana 2 days before our arrival and we were told that unfortunately all of them are reserved for our dates, so we left with a double room, which are also had good reviews on TA so didn't mind much. BUT after check-in came the HUGE surprise, as they upgraded us to one of their spacious, clean and very well decorated cute cabana.
The breakfast provided in the mornings is something I would love to have every single morning! We also enjoyed the food from the ala carte menu in the evenings (we had dinner twice at the hotel), it might looks a bit more expensive then the average, but the portion is huge so it's definitely worth it!

The pool is pretty good, we rather spend our mornings in the pool and spend the afternoons on the beach, which is about 5 mins away. The whole town is quite small, so you can walk from one end to the other in about 20mins. :) Perfect for relaxing, you can hop-on a tuk-tuk and do 1 day trips to Galle or even Yala National Park (they have drivers who can take you for day trips)
The hotel manager was very helpful also, helped us to organise our itinerary for 4days in Sri Lanka and booked a driver with a (super comfy!!!!) van with them. Jagoda our driver was great, knows the island as the back of his palm, entertained us with many interesting stories about the country.

All in all, we had a fantastic time at the hotel so if you need a hotel in Unawatuna don't look further book the Flower Garden, you will love it just as we did!!

Room Tip: Book the cabana, even though it's more expensive it def worth it!! And anyway you are on holiday...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsBMcDowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Flower Garden. The room, the pool, the garden, the location, the service - were all good. The food was VERY good. The laundry was immaculate and returned the same day. Sassi arranged a driver for a full day out - beaches,turtles,stilt fishermen,stopping for bananas and coconut juice and then an afternoon at Uda Walawe where we saw lots of wildlife including baby elephants very close up. Very glad we visited Sri Lanka and very glad we stayed at the Flower Garden.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kenilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
104 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Sassi & his team make us feel so at home here. Pool is great, rooms clean very well appointed, staff friendly & attentive to the right standard, perfect place to unwind. Maintenance on the room booked meant Sassi gave us a suite which was massive they are fantastic. Breakfast great. Love the place. Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lookinglost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

This hotel isn't bad - it has attractive gardens, the pool is nice, the food good and it is on a good street close to the beach. The problem is that the staff, whilst mostly friendly are all a bit unprofessional - more the fault of the management.

The main issue we had was that when we came to use the shower in our room for the first time, due to some sort of water issue (they didn't really explain the problem to us), the water came out hot - and not just warm but scalding hot - my girlfriend actually burnt her foot on the "cold" water tap. They kept telling us it should be ok and it still wasn't fixed, so we asked to move to a different room. Thankfully we weren't in the shower at the time as we would've got severe burns. To their credit, they did get try to sort it out quickly and when we requested another room they moved us quickly.

Once that was sorted, the stay was good, as was the food. However on leaving they quoted us a very expensive tuk tuk (at least twice the price) and didn't seem bothered about helping us get on to our next place. Once we'd paid, they didn't really seem to care. It's a shame really, I think they just need a manager who has a bit of authority and professionalism about, and also a female touch - there were no female staff at all, perhaps if there had been, it would've improved the atmosphere.

Wouldn't stay here again or particularly recommend it, unless they change management/ownership.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonb16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Cristianos, Spain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Once the penny drops that Sri Lanka is India with an upgrade then you can start to appreciate what you can expect and what you can't. In all but the finest of the fine you will get a mustiness and perhaps not the deep clean that one finds in most of the best European hotels. That said, Sri Lanka offers one of the warmest welcomes I have found and Sassi who runs the ship at the Flower Garden offers an even warmer one. It's like a home from home with dogs running about and a very relaxed atmosphere. He is respected throughout the island and understandably so. We stayed in the penthouse, so I cannot comment too much on the cabanas, but we had our own pool and a boutique-style bathroom and were thoroughly spoilt. Service is about detail and when you find ironing is free (unlike most laundry rip-offs throughout hotels on planet earth) and all toiletries are topped up daily, you start to understand where I'm heading with this. The food is tasty and represents good value given you have a salad and a dessert included in the price of the main course. Overall I don't think Sri Lanka would suit those who like life posh and immaculate as backpackers unquestionably make up the majority of tourists, but for those who want to relax among friendly and decent people with superb beaches, then Sri Lanka, Unawatuna and in particular the Flower Garden will serve you very well.

Room Tip: Go for the penthouse!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nobby132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Postive:

-Good pool!
-Breakfast ok
-Nice rooms, we had the cabana, good sized bed and bathroom
-Location is ok, just 5-10 minutes walk to the beach

Negative:

-I think just a bit overpriced for what you get
-I agreed to pay the bill in Euro, but they tried to charge me 10% more!

Overall: I think next time I would look for something else, there are a lot of hotels in Unawatuna.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.4 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#5 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
1.0 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
#17 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
3.4 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#9 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flower Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flower Garden Hotel

Property: Flower Garden Hotel
Address: Wella Dewalaya Road, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Unawatuna
#6 Romantic Hotel in Unawatuna
#7 Family Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Flower Garden Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Flower Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flower Garden Unawatuna
Hotel Flower Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing