We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (860)
Filter reviews
860 results
Traveller rating
498
245
59
31
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
498
245
59
31
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdeluxe cabanathe ownersri lankasuper deluxenice pooltuk tukjacuzzi bathtucked awayair conmini barlarge bathroomshort walk to the beachthe main roadunawatuna beachmosquito netgalle fortsassi
Filter
Updating list...
235 - 240 of 860 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We got a big 3-person apartment in one of the bigger buildings in the back of the garden.
Big rooms, extra TV-room with a big settee and a luxury bathroom with steam shower etc.
Very good breakfast with a lot of choices. The first time I saw ham and cheese in SriLanka!
Friendly and helpful staff.

Find yourself a tuk tuk and make a trip to Galle fort

Room Tip: Don't accept a room in the apartment block on the other site of the street.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We had such a lovely time there. The staff totally make it! The rooms and decor in general very average but look beyond that and you will have a very relaxing experience. Nice big pool which we enjoyed.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vanwyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Absolutely loved our stay here at the Flower Garden hotel. The room was big with a beautiful bathroom and stunning bed. The staff are just so accommodating and lovely. All went out of their way to help us when we had a pretty horrible start to our stay in Unawatuna area. Stay here for close to the beach and attentive staff. Amazing experience.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Chelsea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We came very late at night without reservation. As they saw that there is no other option for us they are immediately change the price (add 15$ to Booking price), it makes us angry, so we go away to find something else, unfortunately, we didn't found, so 10 minutes later, price was already +27$. Even for that price room was very nice with the perfect bathroom, inside the building was also very nice decorated and calm place, so we decide to stay few days more, but when we ask to extend the rent, they asked +60$!!!! Of course, we left it...it looks like completely unacceptable behavior, never see something like that before...Maybe, we was unlucky, but be aware.

-Good valuable breakfast.
-Very nice appearance and calm atmosphere.
-Far from the beach.
-Expensive.
-Tea kit in the room.
-Including big cockroaches in the bathroom :)

Room Tip: There are two buildings, so you have to choose between original design in 1st one and pool in 2nd one.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tresker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Flower Garden Hotel is a very average Hotel. We first had a small room on the first floor, it was creepy and not very clean so we moved to a larger room also on the first floor. It was old, smelt bad but was ok.

Don't expect to sleep late if you stay in the rooms located on top of the restaurant.

Food was average, actually everything was average. Overall I think there are far better places to visit in Sri Lanka than Unawatuna. The beach is really dirty and all the hotels looked the same as Flower Garden.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Steflausanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews