We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We can't wait to return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Flower Garden Hotel
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“We can't wait to return”
Reviewed 10 January 2010

Again this year we visited Flower Garden in Unawatuna. We knew before our arrival that Sassi the owner had been busy enlarging the hotel facilities and we were pleasantly surprised how good the grounds and extra cabanas looked. However, some things had not altered. That is, the fantastic food, the serene relaxing surroundings and outstanding service from all the staff. Even our favourite staff members where there to look after our every whim, its good to see the same staff, it speaks volumes about the stability of a well run establishment. Sassi even has more expansion plans up his sleeve for the coming year. We can’t wait as we will return, again and again.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    474
    231
    54
    29
    22
See reviews for
216
403
33
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2010

From the owner - the very available smiling Sassi - to his wonderful, happy and hard-working support staff, the levels of service here are second-to-none. The gardens are beautifully maintained, the swimming pool a joy and the rooms all one could ask for. The hotel is a short walk to the beach, if you can pull yourself away from the garden and pool. The restaurant serves good food and the meal Sassi himself presented on New Year's Eve was a feast! Massages and money-changing are also available. This is not super-luxurious *****, but I know of no better hotel anywhere for the price. Sassi's smile alone gets the day off to a great start! Chris, Sara, Dylan & Elliot x

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mangopablo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2010

This indeed is a hidden gem, couple of minutes from the beach, among the trees, great cabanas, with professional staff, and friendly friendly owner always willing to help. The food prepared in the restaurant (half board) is just amazing. As said, i could not overrecommend this place.

BTW We have travelled to 52 countries so far on every possible budget, this time with a 18 months year old baby... and we recommend this place!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noiseLjubljana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2010

The Hotel Flower Garden is a very pretty and tranquil hotel with a series of cabanas that offer real privacy whilst being well serviced. We were particularly impressed by the staff who seemed well trained, friendly and ready to help.

The pool is gorgeous and generally the hotel has a very nice feel to it. We ate twice at the hotel despite lots of good options in Unawatuna and really enjoyed the excellent seafood. Breakfast was also one of the best we had in Sri Lanka.

We took Sassi the owner's advice on where to stay in a few places going forward and that all worked out very well. The hotel driver who picked us up from the airport and took us on after our stay was particularly nice and really took the stress out of travelling.

Unawatuna itself is a lovely place with a pretty beach, lots of scall-scale bars and restaurants while being a good base to visit Galle or go to more deserted beaches nearby.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RDEH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangalore
Level Contributor
97 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2009

Tucked away from the Unawatuna Beach, Flower Garden is a retreat of beauty and tranquility. At prices that are difficult to beat for the quality of its rooms, food and service, Flower Garden's added impetus is the warmth and hospitality of Sassi and his staff. I'm glad I chose Flower Garden above all the beach front resorts in Unawatuna - there are only bits of beach left at Unawatuna and at night the noise gets to you. Flower Garden is away from all this, yet close enough to the beach...and of course it has a lovely pool which one can always come back to so you're never far from a swim! It's also very safe so you have nothing to worry about once you get there.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelolust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2009

Quiet, good rooms, attractive garden setting, very helpful staff and an really excellent chef. Not on the beach? Don't worry - this is not a beach you particularly want to be on - crowded and over-populated with second rate buildings.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonX09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sussex
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2009

My wife and I have recently returned from Sri Lanka after a two week, during which we spent four days at the Flower Garden. Our whole experience and view of Sri Lanka was enhanced by our experience of staying at the Flower Garden which was absolutely fabulous. After staying here the 'luxury hotels' which we stayed in were a bit of a let down.
Sassi knows what customer service is and appears ensure that his staff do too, all of whom where helpful, polite, attententive and entertaining.
The food was great and good size portions.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sussexoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.4 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 31 in Unawatuna
881 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 31 in Unawatuna
447 reviews
3.4 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#9 of 31 in Unawatuna
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 31 in Unawatuna
671 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 31 in Unawatuna
401 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
#17 of 31 in Unawatuna
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flower Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flower Garden Hotel

Property: Flower Garden Hotel
Address: Wella Dewalaya Road, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Unawatuna
#6 Romantic Hotel in Unawatuna
#7 Family Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Flower Garden Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Flower Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flower Garden Unawatuna
Hotel Flower Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing