We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, clean, fine food and splendid pool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Flower Garden Hotel
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2010

Sassi runs this place seamlessly and doubles up as Head Chef. The plumbing is modern Swiss, the staff well trained and friendly, the food with a Western touch probably the best in town, the wine well chilled, the pool splendid, and an upstairs pool table well equipped. The massage parlour is spotless. Soft music soothes and Amila attends to tired joints assiduously. Excellent value and a real find.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TainIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (826)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

486 - 492 of 826 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2010

I totally agree with the previous review. We also made a reservation by e-mail several months ago for a deluxe cabana, but, on arrival were told that we were a day late. I produced the e-mail confirmation but Sassi just blamed his staff, offered no apology, and had us shown to the same cupboard on the top floor as the previous reviewer. We initially took this room, but after walking down to the seafront - quite a long hot walk, we had a look at another hotel - Neptune Beach - and were offered a much better room overlooking the sea for a very similar price. We went back, collected our luggage and left, watched by Sassi smiling broadly as though he was thoroughly enjoying us leaving, still no sign of any apology.
The only thing we took with us were several mosquito bites.
Our (perhaps somewhat biased) impression of Flower garden was that it was very cramped, the cabanas are very close together, and the rooms on the top floor were a joke, the shower didn't work, the door wouldn't shut and we had to move the bed to open the wardrobe.
The rooms, facilities, position and pool were much better at Neptune beach, as were several of the other hotels on the beach front, there were plenty of sunbeds and shade if needed and easy access to all the local bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
10  Thank su60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2010

We stayed for one great week at the flower garden hotel and enjoyed every minute of it!

We planned to stay in a deluxe cabana the whole week but eventually we stayed four nights in a cabana and two nights in a room. The reason was that the hotel was overbooked this week and Sassi ( the owner ) offered us a good deal; If we moved to a room the last two nights, those last nights would be free.
The room, although smaller and not on the ground flour, was almost just as nice as the Cabana with an added bonus of a great view on the jungle from the nice balcony. The only real disadvantage was the matress, this was much harder than in the cabana. My wife had some troubles sleeping because of it.

The transport between the airport in Colombo and the hotel was in a small van and arranged by Sassi. It was perfect on time, we payed $65 one way. so we payed a total of $130 for two way trip at the end of out stay( trip took 4 hours ).

Overall we really enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere, super friendly staff, the nice pool and food (the special ordered Sri Lankan rice and curry was fantastic!).

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zonnetjes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2010

This hotel is a safe choice if you want to stay in a really nice place that is not too expensive. We especially liked the service which was flawless. The hotel have small bungalows (nb - not on the beach! The beach is a few minutes walk away) or normal rooms. We stayed in a bungalow and were very pleased. Big bed, high ceilings and a huge bathroom. Everything was very clean.

The restaurant was very good, although there where no Sri lankan food on the menu, which was a pity. Everyone in the staff speaks good English and I overheard the owner speaking German as well.

You can have different kinds of massage at the hotel. We tried the full body massage and liked it very much - professionally done.

The pool is big (even bigger hotels on Sri lanka usually have quite a small pool) and there are sunbeds.

Free wireless Internet in the restaurant/poolarea.

We enjoyed our stay here very much - it was quiet with perfect rooms, restaurant and staff. Do not hesitate to book (we booked solely because of this hotel's great reviews here)! Highly recommeded!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malmogbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2010

We made an email reservation on the basis of the excellent reviews, but when we arrived Sassi told us he had no record of our booking for a Deluxe cabana. I was able to show him his confirmation email and after some debate he offered us a "deluxe room" at the back of the garden overlooking a stream and a run down neighbours property.

The room just about fitted a double bed and was stiflingly hot. The air-con was underpowered and totally ineffective as was the fan. He promised a move to a Deluxe Cabana at 10.00am the next day. The next day came and we were kept waiting until 1.00pm before being told the hotel was still full and we could not move. At that point we got into a tuk-tuk and headed down to the beach to stay in a simple breezy 1st floor room overlooking the sea for less than a third of the price.

You might be thinking this was a one off but during the short period of time we were there we met one German couple and one group of French people who had the same booking problem at this hotel.

The garden itself is attractive and well looked after but very hot as there is no airflow. It is very buggy, particularly after dusk when the mosquitos are busy.

Sassi had a smile on his face throughout, but showed no sympathy for our situation and took no responsibility for his mistake.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank ginnyc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewJo, Owner at Flower Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2010

" To inform our lovely clients"


This reservation was made two days before arrival and we had clearly mention "we have only one room" available.
But when she walk to the hotel she was very rood to all of our clients and she walked to every cabana she wants and disturbing the clients in the cabanas and the pool area.
Even though we offered a very luxury Dlx room with all the facilities and she was happy and next day she had the breakfast and went to the beach.

When came back from the beach and she didn't mention that she is living and after some time we notice that she left the hotel without paying any of the bills and without knowing to the staff and this is the frist client out of flower garden came a cross.

Totaly she had posted a wrong review

Sassi/Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2010

This is a hidden gem! Sassi and his team are great. The Cabanas are cleaned every day with fresh towels and linen. The beds are comfortable and the fridge comes in very handy. The bathrooms are modern wet rooms with walk in showers – even the toilet paper is high quality. The air conditioning is a blessing during the hot and humid nights. It’s so quiet during the day or night that you can get your head down any time. The gardens are lush and beautiful: they have a gardener trimming, manicuring and watering all day. Breakfast can be taken at any time of the day – most days we had breakfast at 12.00 ish. All there fruit, curd, tea, coffee, toast, eggs, bacon and sausages: you must also try the hoppers and string hoppers with onion sambar! The waiters are all fantastic and come to your assistance for any request and always with a smile. Thanks to Prahmed, Amilla and Mahish. Oh yes and Lala the nicest gem salesman you will ever meet. There is a big clean pool with palm shade and pool side beds to relax on after a rough night – I recommend a prawn cocktail or two for brunch washed down with a white wine spritzer at the pool side. You may think this is not the place to have a steak (Asia that is) but you would be wrong the meat is exceptional!

To all my friends and friends I made by the dozen her – Horst & Annetta the funniest, nicest Germans I have ever encountered (of course your half Dutch though) – “Tonight’s gonna be a good night”. John & Babs (Barbara) the once again the funniest, nicest (Scousers) I have met – Did you find the real Lanka in the end La? Alex & (King) Hong + Baby Sam from Vietnam (Muswell Hill) travelling (pushing) the world on the crest of a wave! Lucy & Lorna for the last week a bit of eye candy! Heather & Michael hope you’re feeling strong Mike! Mark & Nicola (Kerrie) + Little Tulip I hope your maid got her T-shirt! To all the Russians who created such unrest (a new Easter & Western front in the restaurant seating) before their arrival and in the end they were the quietest best behaved of all of us – I loved the synchronised pool dances!

I will be returning everyone else stay away

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheCourtyardChapora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2010

Thanks to Sassi and all his staff who looked after our family and personally assisted me after travel dramas in New Delhi Airport. He continually contacted me to check on my delayed arrival and he arranged a safe airport pickup at midnight - thank goodness for Sassi!
I received the best welcome at the Flower Garden Villa and It is obvious that Sassi and staff focus on making all visitors feel most welcome with a smile.
Accommodation very comfortable and meals excellent.
Sassi helps organise daily activities and whatever you need to know to make your holiday most enjoyable.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WillungaBrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.4 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 33 in Unawatuna
945 reviews
1 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 33 in Unawatuna
720 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 33 in Unawatuna
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#7 of 33 in Unawatuna
298 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nooit Gedacht Holiday Resort
Nooit Gedacht Holiday Resort
#23 of 33 in Unawatuna
84 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 33 in Unawatuna
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flower Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flower Garden Hotel

Address: Wella Dewalaya Road, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Unawatuna
#5 Spa Hotel in Unawatuna
#6 Romantic Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range: £50 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Flower Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Flower Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flower Garden Unawatuna
Hotel Flower Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing