We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks For A Very Pleasant Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Black Beauty Guesthouse
Ranked #35 of 155 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Nice Guesthouse, We stay on a 2nd floor room, great tree top views, lots of nature & life. Water was hot, rooms were cozy & clean. We ate breakfast & dinner here & the food was top notch, all freshly prepared, reasonably priced. Staff were very friendly & helpful, Brigit has them all well trained. We would consider a return one day & we would recommend Black Beauty. Thanks to all our Sri Lanka Friends & good luck!

Room Tip: All the rooms had character & looked comfortable! we liked the rooms up in the trees!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brittawegner, Manager at Black Beauty Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2013

Thank you for your review. I will show it to the staff. We always try to improve and are always grateful for constructive comments.
Have a good time.
Britta and the Black Beauty Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2013

We came to Black Beauty off the back of some good TripAdvisor reviews - I'm not sure why it got such a good rap. We had an awful time.

Don't be fooled by the Lonely Planet. Scores more hotels have opened in Unawatuna since it was last published, and you are likely to find a newer, cleaner, cheaper hotel if you ask around.

Pros - The pool is clean, and well maintained. The beach is just across the road.

Cons - Not sure if this is true of the newer rooms, but we were put in one of the old rooms and it was awful. The rooms are stuffy and airless, and despite sleeping with all the doors and windows open, and the fan on, we could not circulate air through the room. It was so frustrating to go outside and find the weather was quite mild, only to head into our hotbox of a room. It got to the point that we were showering with the door open because the sweaty, windowless, fanless bathroom got so hot it was making us feel faint.

The bedding was clean, but the mosquito net was dirty and damp, and had plenty of holes. Despite closing up most of the holes one evening with duct tape (that we brought ourselves) we awoke one evening to find about 20 mozzies had found their way into the net, and we got mauled. It was like being in a tulle prison.

The worst part was rat/rats that came up through the plughole in the bathroom at night. We awoke each morning to find the bathroom (and our things) covered in mouse droppings. Disgusting.

This was the worst place we stayed in Sri Lanka. Again - perhaps the rooms in the new block are better. But the rooms in the old block are overpriced, sweaty, and revolting.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apatsyapatsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brittawegner, Manager at Black Beauty Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2013

I am sorry that you did not enjoy staying with us and I am surprised that you did not come up with your issues to us when you were here, so we would have had a chance to make your stay a pleasant one. My staff would have been able to change your net and our housekeeper would have been able to solve the other issues.
I have checked your room and the issues will be solved as soon as possible.
Thank you for your review. I will forward your review to the staff.
Regards, Britta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

We stayed here 10 days early December 2012. Our first impression was that the place was well run, clean with pleasant gardens. The room was a decent size, nicely decorated, large bathroom with plenty hot water, the bed comfy & with a large balcony with lovely furniture where we could sit & watch the wildlife. The pool was well kept & clean. The walk through the gardens to the beach was pleasant - only a few minutes walk will bring you to the lovely Unawatuna beach area with lots of good places to eat & drink.
However, what really made our stay so pleasant was the staff! Always happy, ready to serve us whatever we asked & the breakfasts were delicious - always served with happy smiles! They were well informed about the area advising us where best to visit etc. We were really sad to leave our little `family`, thankyou for a lovely holiday, hopefully we will be back sometime.

Room Tip: Be guided by the staff who will locate you the room best suited to you e.g. families maybe better on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DurhamMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brittawegner, Manager at Black Beauty Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Thank you for your review, I will show it to the staff. They will enjoy that.
Regards,
Black Beauty Team, Unawatuna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

The room was fine and clean. The pool was great to have with the kids and our daughter got on well with the daughter of the hotel. The staff seemed friendly and helpful apart from when I tried to negotiate a better price for a tuk tuk to take us to the Whale watching (go to Raja) as their price was too expensive. The beach is across the road which is handy. Unawatuna is ok as a beach but there is a much better one at Wijaya which is a 100 rupee tuk tuk drive away. Great restaurant there too!
Food is not brilliant at BB. It takes ages and was probably the poorest we had on or trip. Not much choice either.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brittawegner, Manager at Black Beauty Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2013

Thank you for your respond on trip advisor. I will also show it to the staff, so they can improve their service for our guests. Regards, Britta Black Beauty Team, Unawatuna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

We stayed here from Dec 21st 2012 until Jan. 6th 2013. This is really a nice place close to the beach and away from traffic. Nice rooms with AC and your own balcony. Lovely food with a fruitplate, eggs, toast and coffee/tea for breakfast and a very tasty rice and curry in the evening. Best of all is the always smiling and helpful staff! Thank you, we will be back!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzanneAhlLars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brittawegner, Manager at Black Beauty Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2013

I am happy that you have had a great time at Black Beauty Guesthouse.
I will show the boys your comment, it makes them proud to see that our guests were satisfied with their service.
Hope to see you again.
Regards,
Brittta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

This place is a 2 minute walk to the beach, yet far enough from the busy strip in Una with a 10 to 15 minute walk to get there. Delicious, filling breakfast and very nice and helpful staff. Rooms are good, and the porch / balcony is great for relaxing.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Special-k-t-dot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brittawegner, Manager at Black Beauty Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2013

Thank you for your review.
Regards,
Britta and the Black Beauty Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

I stayed here March-April 2012 on vacation with a friend. The first room I got was terrible. It was right next to the pool, so you heard everything & everyone that was there. It also had a shared interior door with another part of the building, & this door had no lock. It just had a small desk pushed up against it as a makeshift way to secure it. It also had a window at the top that was not covered. I felt really uncomfortable in that room my first night.

Thankfully I asked to be moved, & was put in a much more secure room. This room had two beds, which was much better since my friend came on the second night.

The breakfast decent, & was in a lovely atmosphere up in the trees. The guys that worked there were attentive & helpful. The remainder of our stay was pleasant, but I would say it was suited more for families with small children. Next time I will stay at a place right on the beach.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JHT2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brittawegner, Manager at Black Beauty Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2013

I am glad that the staff responded to your request to change the room for you.
For breakfast we offer a big fruit plate, toast, butter, jam, egg, tea or coffee. Everything is prepared fresh in the morning. Please let us know if we can improve the breakfast while you are staying with us, so the staff will be able to change things directly.
Our guest at Black Beauty Guesthouse are coming from all over the world. There are single traveller, families and couples. I am proud that we do have such a colorful mixture of travelers staying with us.
Thank you.
Britta and the Black Beauty Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.5 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#11 of 33 in Unawatuna
826 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nooit Gedacht Holiday Resort
Nooit Gedacht Holiday Resort
#23 of 33 in Unawatuna
84 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
#19 of 33 in Unawatuna
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Villa Gaetano
Villa Gaetano
#2 of 155 in Unawatuna
225 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#3 of 155 in Unawatuna
255 reviews
0.3 mi away
Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel
Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel
#5 of 155 in Unawatuna
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Beauty Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Beauty Guesthouse

Address: Ganahena, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range: £12 - £31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Many of our guesrs ask us why we chose such an unusual name for a Guest House in Sri Lanka. I read and enjoyed the book as a child ans was struck by the genuine character of Black Beauty. Here was a role model to be followed through life. He was well behaved, honest and thoughtful, always doing the best he could in every situation, wonderful skills we try to instill in our staff. The management chooses new team members with careful consideration and train them to reflect these characteristics. Our aim, over the last 20 years has been to provide the best service for our guests and through gentle and caring ways follow the example of Black Beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Black Beauty Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Beauty Guesthouse Hotel Unawatuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing