We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely guesthouse”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Black Beauty Guesthouse
Ranked #28 of 145 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely guesthouse”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We spent our last night in Sri Lanka at the Black Beauty and it is certainly one of the nicest places we stayed. The owner is friendly and helpful and was very happy for us to wait at the guest house after checking out. The breakfast was great and the atmosphere very peaceful. It is situated just across the road from the beach.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudyvCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brittawegner, Manager at Black Beauty Guesthouse, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Thank you for your review. Hope you had a good journey home.
Regards,
Black Beauty Team, Unawatuna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    62
    14
    12
    3
See reviews for
50
76
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013 via mobile

Service was unorganized but friendly (they just gave us the room key and left without any information). Bathroom was not that great and was very damp.

Nice pool to clean up after bath in nearby sea (2min walk). The dining area on top of the hotel prvided a great view and breakfast was okay.

They let us stay at the pool after checkout and we could deposit our baggage in their own home. The family was friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank huebbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brittawegner, Manager at Black Beauty Guesthouse, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
Thank you for your review. In the meantime we solved the problem with the dampness in the bathroom by installing an exhaust fan. I also will talk with my staff about how to great new guests.
Thank you.
Black Beauty Team, Unawatuna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Douglas, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

I chose Black Beauty for convenience and enjoyed my stay here, the place was not full so it was nice and quiet. The pool was a bonus when I wanted to be lazy. I only ate breakfast here and because I wasn't too well found the prospect of the climb up to the restaurant more than once a day a bit of a trial so I cant comment on the food other than the adequacy of breakfast.
Loads of wildlife in the garden including a juvenile monitor lizard and the leaf monkeys come into the surrounding trees in the evenings.
The staff were helpful and friendly and nicely unobtrusive. I stayed in one of the older rooms and found it perfectly adequate for my requirements.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobynS1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Nice Guesthouse, We stay on a 2nd floor room, great tree top views, lots of nature & life. Water was hot, rooms were cozy & clean. We ate breakfast & dinner here & the food was top notch, all freshly prepared, reasonably priced. Staff were very friendly & helpful, Brigit has them all well trained. We would consider a return one day & we would recommend Black Beauty. Thanks to all our Sri Lanka Friends & good luck!

Room Tip: All the rooms had character & looked comfortable! we liked the rooms up in the trees!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brittawegner, Manager at Black Beauty Guesthouse, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Thank you for your review. I will show it to the staff. We always try to improve and are always grateful for constructive comments.
Have a good time.
Britta and the Black Beauty Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

We came to Black Beauty off the back of some good TripAdvisor reviews - I'm not sure why it got such a good rap. We had an awful time.

Don't be fooled by the Lonely Planet. Scores more hotels have opened in Unawatuna since it was last published, and you are likely to find a newer, cleaner, cheaper hotel if you ask around.

Pros - The pool is clean, and well maintained. The beach is just across the road.

Cons - Not sure if this is true of the newer rooms, but we were put in one of the old rooms and it was awful. The rooms are stuffy and airless, and despite sleeping with all the doors and windows open, and the fan on, we could not circulate air through the room. It was so frustrating to go outside and find the weather was quite mild, only to head into our hotbox of a room. It got to the point that we were showering with the door open because the sweaty, windowless, fanless bathroom got so hot it was making us feel faint.

The bedding was clean, but the mosquito net was dirty and damp, and had plenty of holes. Despite closing up most of the holes one evening with duct tape (that we brought ourselves) we awoke one evening to find about 20 mozzies had found their way into the net, and we got mauled. It was like being in a tulle prison.

The worst part was rat/rats that came up through the plughole in the bathroom at night. We awoke each morning to find the bathroom (and our things) covered in mouse droppings. Disgusting.

This was the worst place we stayed in Sri Lanka. Again - perhaps the rooms in the new block are better. But the rooms in the old block are overpriced, sweaty, and revolting.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apatsyapatsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brittawegner, Manager at Black Beauty Guesthouse, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
I am sorry that you did not enjoy staying with us and I am surprised that you did not come up with your issues to us when you were here, so we would have had a chance to make your stay a pleasant one. My staff would have been able to change your net and our housekeeper would have been able to solve the other issues.
I have checked your room and the issues will be solved as soon as possible.
Thank you for your review. I will forward your review to the staff.
Regards, Britta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

We stayed here 10 days early December 2012. Our first impression was that the place was well run, clean with pleasant gardens. The room was a decent size, nicely decorated, large bathroom with plenty hot water, the bed comfy & with a large balcony with lovely furniture where we could sit & watch the wildlife. The pool was well kept & clean. The walk through the gardens to the beach was pleasant - only a few minutes walk will bring you to the lovely Unawatuna beach area with lots of good places to eat & drink.
However, what really made our stay so pleasant was the staff! Always happy, ready to serve us whatever we asked & the breakfasts were delicious - always served with happy smiles! They were well informed about the area advising us where best to visit etc. We were really sad to leave our little `family`, thankyou for a lovely holiday, hopefully we will be back sometime.

Room Tip: Be guided by the staff who will locate you the room best suited to you e.g. families maybe better on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DurhamMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brittawegner, Manager at Black Beauty Guesthouse, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Thank you for your review, I will show it to the staff. They will enjoy that.
Regards,
Black Beauty Team, Unawatuna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2013

The room was fine and clean. The pool was great to have with the kids and our daughter got on well with the daughter of the hotel. The staff seemed friendly and helpful apart from when I tried to negotiate a better price for a tuk tuk to take us to the Whale watching (go to Raja) as their price was too expensive. The beach is across the road which is handy. Unawatuna is ok as a beach but there is a much better one at Wijaya which is a 100 rupee tuk tuk drive away. Great restaurant there too!
Food is not brilliant at BB. It takes ages and was probably the poorest we had on or trip. Not much choice either.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brittawegner, Manager at Black Beauty Guesthouse, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
Thank you for your respond on trip advisor. I will also show it to the staff, so they can improve their service for our guests. Regards, Britta Black Beauty Team, Unawatuna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
1.2 mi away
Villa Gaetano
Villa Gaetano
#3 of 145 in Unawatuna
218 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palitha Guest House
Palitha Guest House
#16 of 132 in Unawatuna
68 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sam's Guest House
Sam's Guest House
#9 of 145 in Unawatuna
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Nature Villa
Nature Villa
#6 of 132 in Unawatuna
61 reviews
0.6 mi away
Green Villa
Green Villa
#37 of 145 in Unawatuna
44 reviews
0.3 mi away
Paradise Garden
Paradise Garden
#11 of 145 in Unawatuna
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Beauty Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Beauty Guesthouse

Property: Black Beauty Guesthouse
Address: Ganahena, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Many of our guesrs ask us why we chose such an unusual name for a Guest House in Sri Lanka. I read and enjoyed the book as a child ans was struck by the genuine character of Black Beauty. Here was a role model to be followed through life. He was well behaved, honest and thoughtful, always doing the best he could in every situation, wonderful skills we try to instill in our staff. The management chooses new team members with careful consideration and train them to reflect these characteristics. Our aim, over the last 20 years has been to provide the best service for our guests and through gentle and caring ways follow the example of Black Beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Black Beauty Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Beauty Guesthouse Hotel Unawatuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing