We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff, great setting, massive brekky!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Black Beauty Guesthouse
Ranked #34 of 156 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 October 2013

How can $30 a night with breakfast be overpriced? I don't understand how anyone could say that! Our room has a double bed and a single bed, fan, hot water, great verander with a table, really comfy chairs and a hammock. The breakfast is Massive...a Sri lankan omelette, fruit plate, big pot of coffee and a mountain of toast which was a freshly baked loaf!

It's run by a German woman and her Sri lankan hubby. They have a lovely confident little daughter called Anna who will come and talk to you about her adventures. They have two gorgeous big friendly dogs.....but the credit goes to the three boys who work so so hard here. They are constantly cleaning, tidying, cooking and making sure everything is in order. After the tragedy that they all endured with regards to the tsunami, after hearing their agonizing personal stories they are still so happy and smile constantly.

Message to the owners...look after these boys they are an asset to your business.

The pool is very nice, with naturally warm water, the beach is a bit of a pain to get to... You must get on the main road which is a little scary when you have busses whizzing round blind corners at full speed, over taking other traffic whilst you are walking on a bit of pavement that is half a foot wide! It is like previous reviewers have said...a 15 odd min walk but that being said we would def stay here again. You can tak a tuk tuk for 150 rupees which is about a dollar and you avoid the nighttime boom booms because you are slightly further out.

Highly reccomend this place, so cheap, so peaceful right next to pearl dive centre, restaurants and shops...stay here people!....happy holidaying! Xxxx kate and Darren ( London)

Room Tip: Ground floor so can people watch, talk to lovely Anna and play with the dogs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate261155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brittawegner, Manager at Black Beauty Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear Kate and Darren,
the staff was glad to read your review.
I am happy that you enjoyed your stay here with us.
We sometimes do have promotions set up with very good offers, so please contact us.
Have a good time.
Britta, Black Beauty Team, Unawatuna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2013

This place is overpriced for what you get, which is backpacker style small rooms which smell really damp. We came from Mirissa where we had a luxurious room for $40 to Unawatuna paying $50 for the above. We had booked a twin room and what we got was 1 double bed and a childs bed with metal railing on 3 sides, I am short and still had to curl up so as not to bang into the bars at the end.
On the plus side the service was really good from the young guys working there, always smiling and eager to help. The gardens and pool area was beautifull and we enjoyed sitting out on the balcony but we would look else where if returning.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Takemeaway01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brittawegner, Manager at Black Beauty Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Dear valued guest,
thank you for your review on trip advisor.
I feel sorry, that you have not been satisfied with your room. Usually, if we are informed by our guests, we try to change the room or, if the bed is too small we would change the bed over. Sometimes we have tall guests and they require a bed with no foot piece.
If there are any problems with the room,i.e. dampness, we ask our guests to inform us immediately so that we can take action.
I will show our staff your comment about their service and I am happy that you have enjoyed the terrace and the pool.
Regards,
Britta, Black Beauty Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We had our last days in sri lanka at the blackbeauty guesthouse, for 3 nights and it was the best for the end. The guesthouse is not on the beach but not so far and with a clean and nice pool to relax. Service there was the best we had in our trip in sri lanka : clean room with flowers and fresh towels, very nice private balcony, excellent breakfast on the rooftop restaurant (great view), no wait for diner (it is a big problem in sri lanka service) and a more than perfect team. 4 guys always available for us and very funny, helping and kind. I called it a little paradise! Thank you shameera and Peha.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank camille h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed for 5 nights at Black Beauty and enjoyed the wonderful garden, the pool and the quiet location in Unawatuna. The staff and the owners were very friendly. The rooms are rather small, but the restaurant, the porches and the lovely garden absolutely make up for that. The food is good, and the view from the roof top restaurant is unbeatable. The children loved it!

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank annabak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights and would definitely give the staff 5 stars - they were polite, friendly, helpful and nothing was too much trouble.
The rooms were OK, although the first room I was shown (on the first floor) was definitely not worth the 6,500 rupees a night cost. The furniture and fittings (including the bed linen) was old and tired and the room had a musty smell.The a/c looked ancient. The next room they showed me however (on the second floor) was much nicer, it had had a lick of paint, some nice pictures were on the wall and it had good, newer looking white sheets (the duvet cover used as a cover sheet was a bit odd though). The a/c was also much newer.
Each room has its own balcony area which was nice to sit out on, although not totally private and I found people were walking past my window quite often. The breakfast area was a nice place to sit out on each morning, with views of the distant sea. I never used the pool, but it looked good and clean.
The guesthouse is in a quiet location a little way out of the main Una strip. The beach is just across the road. However the guesthouse is situated just back from a sharp bend in the road and cars race around this, so extreme caution should be paid when crossing. The beach across from the guesthouse also isn't that clean.
All in all, an adequate place to stay, but having looked around I have found there are better value places to stay in Una, especially in the low season when I was there.

Room Tip: My room on the second floor (21) was much better than the room directly below it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smartej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brittawegner, Manager at Black Beauty Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
thank you for your review. I will let my staff know that you have been satisfied with their service.
I am also glad that they showed you an alternative room and will inform the staff that they check the linen again. Our air condition units are serviced regularly to make sure that they work properly. They are also replaced if necessary. I always ask all our guests to inform the Sri Lankan Tourist Board if they are not happy about the cleanness of the beach or the situation on the roads. These are things I and my staff can not change as it is not in our hands to change these situations. But the Sri Lankan Tourist Board is the right address. Here is the e- mail address of the Tourist Board:E mail : info@sltda.gov.lk.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Black Beauty Guesthouse is great little place barely 100yds from the sea. The rooms are basic but comfortable with fans and aircon and the beds have mosquito nets. I have seen other reviews that say the rooms are a bit musty but in a country as humid as this that's pretty much inescapable. The staff are the most helpful accommodating and warm people you will ever meet so it has a real family feel to the place. The pool is small but very clean and perfectly adequate for the needs of the guests. There is a liquor shop next door and a grocery shop 30yds down the road. The food is excellent and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrgazpacho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Black Beauty for one night on the back of the review in the Lonely Planet. There is a beautiful garden and the staff were very friendly. Our problem was the room. It was damp, musty with a rundown feel to it and could do with a refurbishment. We also felt it was very overpriced compared to much better deals available on the beach.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mitcheloconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brittawegner, Manager at Black Beauty Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
thank you for you review.
We always try to provide our best service. All our rooms were renovated just a few weeks ago. In the folder in your room we always ask our guests to contact us directly if there is a problem at Black Beauty Guesthouse. Have you asked the staff for another room or did you inform the staff that your room was not in good conditions, so they could have taken actions? Could you also let me know which room you had, so I can check the room again and take necessary actions.
Best regards,
Britta, Black Beauty Team, Unawatuna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.5 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#12 of 33 in Unawatuna
826 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nooit Gedacht Holiday Resort
Nooit Gedacht Holiday Resort
#23 of 33 in Unawatuna
84 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
#19 of 33 in Unawatuna
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Villa Gaetano
Villa Gaetano
#2 of 156 in Unawatuna
225 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#3 of 156 in Unawatuna
255 reviews
0.3 mi away
Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel
Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel
#6 of 156 in Unawatuna
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Beauty Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Beauty Guesthouse

Address: Ganahena, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range: £17 - £27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Many of our guesrs ask us why we chose such an unusual name for a Guest House in Sri Lanka. I read and enjoyed the book as a child ans was struck by the genuine character of Black Beauty. Here was a role model to be followed through life. He was well behaved, honest and thoughtful, always doing the best he could in every situation, wonderful skills we try to instill in our staff. The management chooses new team members with careful consideration and train them to reflect these characteristics. Our aim, over the last 20 years has been to provide the best service for our guests and through gentle and caring ways follow the example of Black Beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Black Beauty Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Beauty Guesthouse Hotel Unawatuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing