We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst acommendation in our Sri Lanka journey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Black Beauty Guesthouse
Ranked #34 of 161 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We were told the hotel is just one minute to the beach, but it is far away from the main part. We had to walk a long way or take Tutu for any activities or meals.
The room is very small and cost 6000Rs. Weak Wifi signal. Two dogs of the owner were barking outside overnight or very early morning, so that we had very bad sleeping.
We checked out at 1pm and were asked to pay extra for late leave without notice in advance. We didn't have enough cash in rupees, and asked the staff if we could pay in dollars. The staff used 125rupees VS 1USD as exchange rate, other business owners normally used 130rupees VS 1USD, even the final deal was 128rupees after negotiation, we still felt very unhappy about their attitude. Owner and staff in this hotel are so different from people living in the rest part of Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brittawegner, Manager at Black Beauty Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
I am sorry to read that you have not been satisfied with our service.
We always ask our guests to contact us immediately if there is a problem.
However the average seize of our rooms is mentioned on our website. I have been in contact with the telecom to have a look at the speed of the internet. Unfortunately it does slow down at times, especial if a lot of people are online.
Sri Lanka has got a lot of stray dogs and a lot of female dogs are in their season now. That is why all the dogs are making a lot of noise at night all over Sri Lanka. I realized the noise and for the second night of your stay I locked our dogs up and opened their cage in the morning around 8.00am.
On our check in sheet the times of arrival and departure are clearly mentioned as well as the times of silence. If our guests wish to stay longer, depending on how much longer, we either charge them an amount of the room charges or we offer to deposit their bags in our storage room. As far as I remember you had packed your bags and left them with us. You came back a bit later to pick your bags up and you were not charged for that.
I can not understand what has happened when you paid your bill. If guests wish to pay their bills they usually get the normal exchange rate. As far as I know your bill was 12000,-Rupees for the room and 1000,- Rupees for your Tuk Tuk ride, which makes 13000,- Rupees. I talked about this again with the staff and I hope that there will be no misunderstandings in the future.
I am sorry that your issues have not been sorted out the day I was in the restaurant at 12.00pm when you came up for your breakfast or when I met you in the garden.
Regards,
Britta, Black Beauty Team, Unawatuna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

I liked it here, our room was pretty good and the Sri Lankan breakfast was tasty. It's in the perfect place just apposite and quiet stretch of beach and only a 15 minute walk away from the main drag. My wife loved the pool and I found the whole place tranquil and relaxing. A great place for chilling out and reading a book.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank laurence k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

Black Beauty is hugely hyped on Tripadvisor and we had pretty high experiences after our fantastic stay at Finlanka in Hikkaduwa. On first arrival it looked good-the pool is beautiful and kept lovely and clean and the surrounding garden is lovely-there is even a family of monkeys that visit at sunset. Our room was adequate if a bit small and avoid the horribly over priced restaurant-there is a bottle shop next door and great restaurants-Sun and Sand and Summer Garden-right nearby. That said, on Poya day we were grateful to be able to buy beer to drink by the pool despite the cost!

The two problems with Black Beauty are its distance from the main beach-either a 25-30 minute walk or £2 in a tuk tuk each way-definitely not the 10 minutes they advertise-and we walk fast! Also, we were told we had to move rooms for our last of 3 nights-we weren't sure why but decided not to make a fuss as it was one night. However the room they moved us to was beyond awful-below youth hostel standards and certainly not close to being worth the £30 a night we paid. We assume that we were downgraded because we booked with Agoda and paid a bit less than the going rate but the standard of the room was so poor that there was no excuse for it in such an establishment. Ancient, filthy furniture, windows didn't close, old dirty bathroom where the door didn't even shut-really disgraceful.

That said, the staff were super. Also, avoid the little beach by the hotel-it is filthy.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank RdeSilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brittawegner, Manager at Black Beauty Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Dear Valued Guests,
I did not find a matching name for you in my booking list.

However we always ask our guests to inform us about any problems regarding our guesthouse or staff immediately, so that we will be able to change it.
We are not able to change anything that happened in the past.
There is a short cut to the other end of Unawatuna. You also can walk along the road which takes a bit longer. A tuk tuk usually costs around one pound one way.
We did not sell rooms for 30,- Pounds, but for 23,-Pounds.
All our furnitures are new with new mattresses. Our pillows are regularly renewed as are our bed sheds and towels. If our guests report a problem like shutting the window or a problem with the room the staff would have happily assist our guests.
I employed a man now to clean the beach regularly I also can call him to come on an extra day if it is necessary.
Our restaurant serves good quality food prepared from fresh ingredients. If there is a problem with your order, please inform the staff.
I never have seen a restaurant or a guesthouse which is serving drinks at the same price as you would get it in the supermarket.
Regards,
Britta, Black Beauty Team, Unawatuna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Black Beauty is indeed a great place to stay for the vacation, thanks to all the comments authors, the choice was made based on your feedback and it was a right one!
Me and my girlfriend stayed for 10 days in Black Beauty, everything was just fine : room, breakfast, cleaning. nature etc, but I must say that the most valuable part of BB is the staff that working there! There are a lot of good hotels and guesthouses with high rates around in Una as Tripadvisor says but I am sure there is no such staff there!

If you would need any help or advise - just ask them! Great people, always in good mood and with smiles!

Especially huge thanks goes to Samir - this man is just awesome! He is ready to sort out any problem you may have! You need to get somewhere - ask him, he will drop you there and pick you up back to the hotel, or he will find a guy who will do that! You need to buy something you are not an expert in - ask Samir, he will get you to the best seller or even will buy it for you!
Or may be you just need some advice where to have a dinner or want to know any info about Sri Lanka - just ask him !
Samir, if you read my feedback - and I know that you will read it - Thank you a lot for all the help you provided! And hi and a very huge thanks are from Marina, we are sitting here, eating the fruits you helped us to buy home and wave to you =)

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank cherkonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

The Black Beauty guesthouse is a great option for those who want to enjoy the beaches of the South-West of Sri Lanka. Located in Unawatuna but outside of the main too-touristy core of the resort, it is located merely 30 meters from a smaller beach, which offers clean sea with easy access and a bit of authentic taste, at the difference of the main Una beach, which is a bit too globalised - it could be anywhere in Mallorca, the Canary Islands, or else. Jungle beach, the local greek-style beach is at 5 mins by tuk-tuk. The beautiful beach of Mirissa is some 30 minutes by bus. Galle, a beautiful picturesque Unesco town is 10 mins away by tuk-tuk.
If you love animals, you will be amazed every morning at breakfast, as you will be able to watch a great variety of birds, lots of chipmunks, smaller models of varans and monkeys having good time in the beautiful and neatly maintained garden with banana trees, coconut palmtrees, mango, papaya trees, orchids, jasmin, oleanders and lots more.
The service at Black Beauty is impeccable. A crew of local English-speaking employees is always there to help with anything, and always with a smile on their face. They are at the heart of success of the guesthouse. Our room was simple but clean, the beds were reasonably comfy for the local standards. Every room has a terrace or a balcony with a table and armchairs, much appreciated for an evening chillout.
Black Beauty is definitely a great address for travellers on budget who are not expecting great luxury but require cleanliness, good services and friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenafromPrague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We have just returned from a 2 week holiday in Sri Lanka, during which time, we stayed at the Paradise Beach hotel in Negombo, Hilton Residence in Colombo and Black Beauty in Unawatuna. But it is our time at Black Beauty that the whole family enjoyed the most and will remember for a long time.
This place is great for kids - the gardens are wonderful and totally enclosed, there is a small play area with a swing and a slide, the pool is small but very nice (no separate baby pool, so parent supervision is required for younger kids) and whole area is full of wildlife (Monkeys, Squirrels, Frogs, Birds etc.). The kids loved having breakfast in the 3rd floor restaurant, so that they could watch all the animals.
The staff were very friendly and provided great service, even providing toys for our kids to play with while in the pool or gardens.
The rooms are basic, but comfortable. The restaurant has a limited menu, but what we did eat there was freshly prepared and tasty. The "English Breakfast" was certainly the highlight, with a great fruit plate, some egg and lots of toast which was always good.
There are some issues you need to know - The property is set back from the beach and some 10 - 15 minutes walk from main beach / restaurant / bar area. You also need to cross a busy road, which is a little intimidating the first time. However, there are plenty of Tuk Tuks that will be happy to take you to the village center for about 150 Rupia (US$1.20). Also, they provide a full room cleaning service every 3 days and you need to give the staff the room key each time you want the room cleaned. Additional toiletries and towels were provided as requested (outside normal cleaning days).
There is a liquor store (turn left and walk 20m along main road) and small supermarket (Turn right and walk 60m along main road) very close by.
All in all Black Beauty is a great place to stay, with wonderful staff and great value for money. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We spent 5 days at this nice place and enjoyed every minute. Especially the kindness and willingness of the staff must be underlined. The food is delicious and freshly made, and the view from the restaurant makes you in a very good mood.
We had booked a room with air-condition in advance, which can be recommended.
The beach 100 m. from the hotel is nice and quiet, and the staff gladly bringss sunbeds and parasols. A 200 rps tuc-tuc drive quickly brings you to the bigger beach with restaurants and water-sports. The water is warm and clear - just like the water in the pool in the garden.
A perfect place to enjoy being away from the Scandinavian winter!

Room Tip: A room with aircondition is nice after a long day in the sun.
See more room tips
Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank lottefi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.5 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#13 of 34 in Unawatuna
839 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nooit Gedacht Holiday Resort
Nooit Gedacht Holiday Resort
#24 of 34 in Unawatuna
92 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villa Gaetano
Villa Gaetano
#2 of 161 in Unawatuna
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sam's Guest House
Sam's Guest House
#7 of 161 in Unawatuna
149 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tropical Retreat
Tropical Retreat
#18 of 161 in Unawatuna
51 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#4 of 161 in Unawatuna
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Beauty Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Beauty Guesthouse

Address: Ganahena, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 161 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range: £16 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Many of our guesrs ask us why we chose such an unusual name for a Guest House in Sri Lanka. I read and enjoyed the book as a child ans was struck by the genuine character of Black Beauty. Here was a role model to be followed through life. He was well behaved, honest and thoughtful, always doing the best he could in every situation, wonderful skills we try to instill in our staff. The management chooses new team members with careful consideration and train them to reflect these characteristics. Our aim, over the last 20 years has been to provide the best service for our guests and through gentle and caring ways follow the example of Black Beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Black Beauty Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Beauty Guesthouse Hotel Unawatuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing