We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Thambapanni Retreat
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2014

a good place to stay and hospitality is excellent. unfortunately its under renovation. hope it will be in operation asap with far more better service. its in a close proximity to the unawatuna beach and have good swimming pool too.

Room Tip: double rooms on higher floors on the small mountain( with A/C) is very quiet and romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank dushantha e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thaproban, Front Office Manager at Thambapanni Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2014

Thank you very much for staying athambapnni retreat and your valuable comment ,As a team of Thambapanni leisure we being always giving an excellent service to our guest .your genuine comment is more encourage to them.If you do visit unawatuna in the future we trust will stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (498)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

328 - 334 of 498 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2014

Good location and nice decor. However I was highly disappointed for the price I paid. The first thing I noticed about the first room I was given was the awful smell of damp and the damp spores around numerous areas of the walls in the room and bathroom. This is not only unhealthy but unsettling. Also my room was connected to the area space for Yoga and Meditation, so every time they had a class in the morning I would be woken up on their accord. I was then moved to another room and once again a strong smell of damp, less damp spores but you could see where they had covered them up with paint, plus the fridge I had was dirty. Overall the rooms were with thin walls so you could hear everything going on in the hotel, people in the pool, the singers at dinner, people checking in. I had a massage and the lady was good but the area is not closed off so I couldn't quite relax wondered who maybe walking past when I was practically naked. Also, wifi not always working. At the end of the trip I had to pay a laundry fee and their card machine didn't work so i they made me walk to another hotel to pay it. After staying at accommodating locals houses in Columbo and Kandy this was definitely not my idea of a retreat. My advice - im sure there are better options in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank crystal_f_skinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thaproban, General Manager at Thambapanni Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Valued guest,

Thank you very much for recommending our establishment stating that nice location and décor.

We have no wonder to have such a review from you. On your departure you did not want to settle laundry bills and demanding them for free, it seems in your review and you have purposely made awful comments as revenge.

We really do not want to give further explanations.

Look forward to welcome you back.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

This is a nice place to relax for few days.
Pretty tugged away on the bottom of a hill and yet only 200 m away from the beach, this hotel appears as if it is soon to be swallowed by all the plants around it.
This mkes for a briliant jungle athmosphere, but has the downside that none of the rooms have now a seaview ( not even the roomsin the tower).
The rooms themselves are very comfortable with large four-poster beds and modern bathrooms and all the staff is very friendly and accommodating with both (rooms and staff) occasionally failing in very minor details (door to the en-suite bathroom with see through glass giving a direct view from the bed to the toilet in one of two booked rooms, problems with the safe took three requests to finally be rectified, staff of the breakfast team a bit over efficient, not giving you time to finish your plate before trying to tidy it away again etc.).
All together though we ound it a very nice place to stay and are very grateful to the manager and to the whole team for looking so well after us during our stay.

Our teenage sons add that the internet connect in the rooms was pretty patchy at times.....

Room Tip: All room we saw were really nice, but be aware that there are a lot of steps to climb (without an el...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Traveller300163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We stayed here three nights and loved it. From the unique design of our room - with a tree trunk traversing through one room and an open -air bathtub and shower - to the friendly and attentive staff, to the perfect location set back a bit from the hustle of the beach road - all was terrific. We'll stay again and definitely recommend others to try it. Even the rainy day didn't bother us because we could sit on our deck and watch the monkeys cavort past in the palm trees. Excellent value. With the added benefit of rooster alarm clock next door. :-)

Room Tip: They have yoga in the hotel apparently on the rooftop, though I didn't try it. Get up early and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Poppygoodwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thaproban, Front Office Manager at Thambapanni Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2015

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your great review of your stay here with us at Thambapanni Retreat . It is great to read such positives comments about your stay. Our dedicated staff does most sincerely appreciate your kind remarks. Thank you for giving us the entire pleasure & privilege of serving you. Still we are remember, your friendly attitude. It made all of us happy. We Look forward to you returning if at all possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

At last a concierge with an eye for detail. The staff are trained to pamper and your stay will be comfortable. Make sure you get a room close to the pool and with window privacy and you are set.The hotel is an easy 2 min walk to the beach and yet far enough away to secure peace should they manage to strangle the local cockerel! The superior rooms make use of the exsting rock to merge nature with decor in an original way. We spent 3 nights and upgraded for another 2.

Room Tip: Make sure windows shut properly to deter mosquito's. Ensure in main building not near garage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thaproban, Manager at Thambapanni Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Guest,
We thank you for your genuine review of the Thambapanni Retreat. We most sincerely appreciate your kind remarks. Thank you for giving us the entire pleasure & privilege of serving you. We are looking forward to welcome you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed in the Thambapanni Retreat for a couple of nights, and it did what we needed it to do. A good value, reliable mid-range hotel with a dedicated and fabulously helpful team. It's set a little away (five minutes walk) from Unawatuna and all the better for it. You feel hidden and cooled by the jungle, and the beach is a short and easy five minute stroll away. It's location makes it a lot cheaper than the beach options, and also gives you an opportunity to escape any people and noise if that isn't your thing. The tropical palms and bamboo and shady pool also are an escape from the midday heat. And it gets seriously hot in this part of the world, even during Monsoon.

We paid for a deluxe room and got an enormous room, bathroom and a (large) shared balcony, which felt like excellent value. Standard rooms are limited, or have no view. But the hotel makes it clear. Decent wifi connection, modern bathroom but with variable water pressure/heat in shower and TV and tea/coffee making facilities. If we were staying more nights I'd have liked more choice at breakfast, but everybody was so sweet I feel mean admitting that.

Overall this felt like a good value small hotel which was perfect place to kick back from the beach in Unawatuna and embrace nature (in a good way!) Recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank girlinagirdle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thaproban, Manager at Thambapanni Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your great review of your stay here with us at Thambapanni Retreat . It is great to read such positives comments about your stay. Our dedicated staff does most sincerely appreciate your kind remarks. Thank you for giving us the entire pleasure & privilege of serving you. Still we are remember, your friendly attitude. It made all of us happy. We Look forward to you returning if at all possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: В номерах в основном здании тише. Более прохладные-утопают в зелени.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sotnikov0201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.1 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 33 in Unawatuna
933 reviews
0.3 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#12 of 33 in Unawatuna
825 reviews
3.5 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#6 of 33 in Unawatuna
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 33 in Unawatuna
448 reviews
1.2 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 33 in Unawatuna
713 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 33 in Unawatuna
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thambapanni Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thambapanni Retreat

Address: Yaddehimulla Road, Unawatuna 60800, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Unawatuna
#1 Spa Hotel in Unawatuna
#8 Romantic Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range: £32 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thambapanni Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury boutique hotel with 22 rooms, surrounded by lush greenery and two minutes walk from the lovely Unawatuna Beach. All rooms are air conditioned, has en suite bathrooms with hot and cold water and mini bar. Some rooms over looking the pool or the the garden. The bungalows surrounded by many trees and view of the jungle. Most rooms have large balconies and on request a hammock will be included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Thambapanni Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thambapanni Retreat Unawatuna
Thambapanni Retreat Hotel Unawatuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing