We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Booking.com
£53
No prepayment needed
Agoda.com
£45
Multiple ways to pay
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Gilly C
Kandy, Sri Lanka

Lovely relaxing place

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 Mar 2019via mobile
We stayed here for 4 days of rest and relaxing after a walking holiday. The place was everything we wanted it to be. The staff are very attentive with nothing being too much trouble. Situated a bit away from the main strip of Unawatuna.
We ate dinner at the hotel on 3 of our 4 nights and we were very happy with the range of food and the moderate price. The Banrock Station Cabernet Sauvignon was rather good too.
We had a superior room which gave us lots of space but no view. It was peaceful and close to the pool.
Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thaproban, Manager at Thambapanni Retreat, responded to this review
Responded 7 Mar 2019
Dear Gilly C,
Ayubowan,
Warm greetings from Thambapanni Retreat Unawatuna.
Thank you for having chosen us as your holiday destination. We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed
a perfect holiday here at our resort.
Thank you for showing your appreciation towards our staffs, food & Beverages. They are grateful to
know that you valued their efforts in making your stay memorable.
We hope to have the immense pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Management Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
£126
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    £115
  • Agoda.com
    £85
  • Priceline
0.1 miles from Thambapanni Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£85
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £73
  • Hotels.com
    £107
0.2 miles from Thambapanni Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£47
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £34
  • Trip.com
0.2 miles from Thambapanni Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£55
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £42
  • Expedia.com
    £63
0.2 miles from Thambapanni Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
£135
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £98
  • Booking.com
    £137
1.1 miles from Thambapanni Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£57
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £160
  • Agoda.com
    £56
  • Hotels.com
    £149
0.1 miles from Thambapanni Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£30
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
    £30
0.5 miles from Thambapanni Retreat
Beachfront
Restaurant
Booking.com
£143
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    £143
  • Tripadvisor
    £143
  • Priceline
1.2 miles from Thambapanni Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    £73
  • Agoda.com
    £67
  • Hotels.com
    £80
0.8 miles from Thambapanni Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    £65
  • Agoda.com
    £50
  • Hotels.com
    £78
0.5 miles from Thambapanni Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Unawatuna
Reviews (755)
Filter reviews
755 results
Traveller rating
507
166
42
12
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
507
166
42
12
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sri lanka sister hotel yoga classes beautiful hotel jungle beach short walk to the beach pool area is a couple of minutes walk seafood every morning great room calm place deluxe room prawns monkeys trees sofa
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 755 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2019 via mobile

A fine place to stay. Nice rooms and a greate restaurant. The staff are superb. When you are sitting on the balcony, you can enjoy the monkies, both the nice and the naughty ones. Greate fun, but take care.
The pool area is also good.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank G9928NLanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thaproban, Manager at Thambapanni Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2019

Dear Anne-Grete Gjerioff,
Warm greetings from Thambapanni Retreat Unawatuna. Thank you for taking the time to share such
detailed review of your stay with us.
We are thrilled to read such wonderful comments regarding our food options, facilities, resort layout
and the ever smiling staffs.
Thank you once more for your review and we are certain that the travelers who read TripAdvisor
would find this review helpful.
We look forward to welcome you all back in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2019

This was a lovely place to spend three nights, set away from the hustle and bustle of tuk tuks, cars and people. Staff were friendly, caring and efficient.
Our room was huge, very nicely decorated and having an outside shower enhanced the tropical experience.
We really enjoyed the breakfasts and the tuna for dinner was delicious.
Thank you.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank pacifictraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thaproban, Manager at Thambapanni Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2019

Dear pacifictraveller1
Ayubowan!
Warm greetings from Thambapanni Retreat Unawatuna. Thank you for choosing to stay with us for
your recent holiday and for sharing your feedback online.
We are delighted to hear you have thoroughly enjoyed our service and facilities and our staffs have
made your vacation a memorable one.
Thank you for recommending us to others and we look forward to welcome you back in the future.
Kindest Regards,
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2019

We totally enjoyed our stay at Thambapanni Retreat. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The pool was nice and maintained, the rooms were clean, and the food was very good. My wife enjoyed the Yoga sessions in the morning. We also booked a tour at the hotel. Everything was well organized. Thank you.

Room tip: no special tip
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gundula F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thaproban, Manager at Thambapanni Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2019

Dear Gundula F,
Ayubowan!
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review. We were absolutely delighted to have
been able to be part of your wonderful hotel in our Little Paradise and thank you for having selected
us.
It is wonderful to read how much you enjoyed the service and facilities of our amazing retreat. We
very much hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Kindest Regards,
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2019

We had a very pleasant. The big room and terrace gave us a great view into the surrounding jungle trees. The place is quite and Relaxing. Watching all the monkeys, squirrels and birds was great fun.
The service was excellent and friendly. The staff tried to make every wish come true. Especially the chief cook left no wish unaccomplished.

A big thank you to the whole team

Room tip: The rooms with higher standard are more than worth the higher price
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HJ-U-MS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thaproban, Manager at Thambapanni Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2019

Dear Achim & Ute,
Thank you very much for sharing your fantastic review here on TripAdvisor. It is rewarding for all of
us to read your feedback of your amazing stay at our retreat. We are proud to know that our team
has exceeded your expectations and we can certainly see from your feedback how much you have
enjoyed.
Thank you for highlighting our chef and his team, who is a star indeed and we are proud to have him
on the team.
Thank you again for your wonderful review and for having allowed us to be part of your Holiday. We
sincerely hope to see you again soon.
Kindest Regards,
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2019

This is a lovely hotel set in a little oasis of calm. Lovely pool and a good restaurant on site. Every member of staff was welcoming and friendly. They were aware that it was our 25th wedding anniversary, and made our first night very memorable, the bed on arrival had been decorated with flowers, spelling our Happy Anniversary, and then they asked if we would like a table set up on a small deck area for dinner, lit by candlelight and more flowers, perfect. The hotel is well situated for the town and beach, their sister hotel is located on the beach and you can use there facilities and beach access. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a few days to relax and chill out.

Date of stay: January 2019
Thank Margaret L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thaproban, Manager at Thambapanni Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2019

Dear Margaret L,
Thank you very much for having taken the time to share your feedback. It's wonderful to hear you
had such a great stay with us!
While we are blessed with Mother Nature’s awe inspiring beauty, it is our wonderful team that we are
most humbled about. I am so very fortunate with an exceptional team who are passionate about our
guests it is so wonderful to see them recognized. Thank you for your compliments.
Dear Margaret L, the entire team and I hope to see your whole family soon again and thank you
once again for a wonderful review that you have shared with us.
Kindest Regards,
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews