We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£53
No prepayment needed
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Agoda.com
£45
Multiple ways to pay
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Anne Gr
Oslo, Norway

Excellent experience!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 Mar 2019via mobile
Spent 8 nights here and wish it was longer! The service, spa massage and yoga with Ranjan was perfect for a relaxing runaway from daily life. The ambience was great! And the monkeys in the trees added a lot of laughter to our afternoons.
Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thaproban, Manager at Thambapanni Retreat, responded to this review
Responded 14 Mar 2019
Dear Anne Gr,
Ayubowan,
Warm greetings from Thambapanni Retreat Unawatuna.
Thank you for having chosen us as your holiday destination. We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed
a perfect holiday here at our retreat.
Thank you for showing your appreciation towards our staffs & Ayurveda Wellness Facilities. We are
grateful to know that you valued our efforts in making your stay memorable.
We hope to have the immense pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Management Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Hotels.com
£115
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £126
  • Agoda.com
    £85
  • Expedia.com
    £123
0.1 miles from Thambapanni Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£85
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    £107
  • Agoda.com
    £74
  • Priceline
0.2 miles from Thambapanni Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£47
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £34
  • Trip.com
0.2 miles from Thambapanni Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£55
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    £63
  • Hotels.com
    £63
0.2 miles from Thambapanni Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
£135
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £137
  • Agoda.com
    £98
  • Expedia.com
    £135
1.1 miles from Thambapanni Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£66
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    £80
  • Hotels.com
    £80
0.8 miles from Thambapanni Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
£160
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    £149
  • Agoda.com
    £56
  • Booking.com
    £57
0.1 miles from Thambapanni Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£30
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £30
  • eDreams
    £30
0.5 miles from Thambapanni Retreat
Beachfront
Restaurant
Booking.com
£65
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £50
  • Expedia.com
    £78
0.5 miles from Thambapanni Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£143
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    £143
  • Tripadvisor
    £143
  • Priceline
1.2 miles from Thambapanni Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Unawatuna
Reviews (755)
Filter reviews
755 results
Traveller rating
507
166
42
12
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
507
166
42
12
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sri lanka sister hotel yoga classes beautiful hotel jungle beach short walk to the beach pool area is a couple of minutes walk seafood every morning great room calm place deluxe room prawns monkeys trees sofa
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 755 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2019

This was the last hotel we were booked into before returning to the UK. If you look at their website t looks really good. However,we found it to be dark,dirty and unwelcoming. I would suggest OK for low budget/backpackers but we expect at least a clean looking hotel. Not even soap or towel in the toilet off the restaurant!WE did not stay and our superb tour guide found a hotel 10 minutes from the beach that was superb.Yes it cost more but the difference was worth it and you can find my review of it later. The hotel was "Beach Grove Villas". Fantastic

Date of stay: February 2019
Thank Clive E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thaproban, Manager at Thambapanni Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2019

Dear Clive E & Beach Grove Villas,
Ayubowan,
Warm greetings from Thambapanni Retreat Unawatuna.
Thank you for your review and publicity of your property on our TripAdvisor page.
Directly we can understand by reading your review that TripAdvisor has become tool to threat
Accommodation providers by the travelers instead of travel guide.
We request TripAdvisor to find a better way to avoid such fake reviews posted and allow the
reviewer to share his own experience instead of reviews to tarnish hotel reputation purposely.
We request all the readers not to get carried out by such reviews.
We request to come and stay at our Little Paradise at least once and then to share your real
feedback.
Kind Regards,
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2019

Good overall, large bedrooms overlooking pool were the nicer Deluxe ones,although the decor was slightly tired and pool area not easily usable as very congested area. Staff were fairly friendly and good breakfast offering. Did not use for dinner as felt not sufficient atmosphere, but meals looked fine.
Location was in quiet area of a busy town, but close to main area, could use the beach of their sister hotel, Thrapropan, which offered good lunches and sunbeds

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CFCBENJI
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thaproban, Manager at Thambapanni Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2019

Dear CFCBENJI,
Ayubowan,
Warm greetings from Thambapanni Retreat Unawatuna.
Thank you for having chosen us for your recent holiday and for sharing your feedback here on
TripAdvisor.
We are pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay at our property as well as he caring
service of our team. And the Hotel itself build with a colonial concept as you could see the furniture
and the building structure which made you feel tired. The pool is opened from 8AM to 8 PM where all
our guests can use it .it’s very rare the pool get crowded and it’s not a daily routine.
We are however sorry to read that our restaurant is not to your liking as you have judged so quick
before trying. If you have tried our food you would have given us 5Starrs as we are mostly popular
for our tasty food.
It was a real pleasure having you at our resort and we look forward to your next visit.
Kind Regards,
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2019 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 days of rest and relaxing after a walking holiday. The place was everything we wanted it to be. The staff are very attentive with nothing being too much trouble. Situated a bit away from the main strip of Unawatuna.
We ate dinner at the hotel on 3 of our 4 nights and we were very happy with the range of food and the moderate price. The Banrock Station Cabernet Sauvignon was rather good too.
We had a superior room which gave us lots of space but no view. It was peaceful and close to the pool.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank gillyc786
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thaproban, Manager at Thambapanni Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2019

Dear Gilly C,
Ayubowan,
Warm greetings from Thambapanni Retreat Unawatuna.
Thank you for having chosen us as your holiday destination. We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed
a perfect holiday here at our resort.
Thank you for showing your appreciation towards our staffs, food & Beverages. They are grateful to
know that you valued their efforts in making your stay memorable.
We hope to have the immense pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2019 via mobile

A fine place to stay. Nice rooms and a greate restaurant. The staff are superb. When you are sitting on the balcony, you can enjoy the monkies, both the nice and the naughty ones. Greate fun, but take care.
The pool area is also good.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank G9928NLanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thaproban, Manager at Thambapanni Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2019

Dear Anne-Grete Gjerioff,
Warm greetings from Thambapanni Retreat Unawatuna. Thank you for taking the time to share such
detailed review of your stay with us.
We are thrilled to read such wonderful comments regarding our food options, facilities, resort layout
and the ever smiling staffs.
Thank you once more for your review and we are certain that the travelers who read TripAdvisor
would find this review helpful.
We look forward to welcome you all back in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2019

This was a lovely place to spend three nights, set away from the hustle and bustle of tuk tuks, cars and people. Staff were friendly, caring and efficient.
Our room was huge, very nicely decorated and having an outside shower enhanced the tropical experience.
We really enjoyed the breakfasts and the tuna for dinner was delicious.
Thank you.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank pacifictraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thaproban, Manager at Thambapanni Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2019

Dear pacifictraveller1
Ayubowan!
Warm greetings from Thambapanni Retreat Unawatuna. Thank you for choosing to stay with us for
your recent holiday and for sharing your feedback online.
We are delighted to hear you have thoroughly enjoyed our service and facilities and our staffs have
made your vacation a memorable one.
Thank you for recommending us to others and we look forward to welcome you back in the future.
Kindest Regards,
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews