We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Олег П

Great jungle pleasure

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 22 Apr 2024
Fantastic hotel!
In the morning at 6:15-6:30 you could see and feed three types of monkeys :-)
Whent is midday and sun - swim at the pool, through jungle trees and taste fruit freshes.
At the eve - you could have very tasty dinner in restoran.
Service, clean and room service are great!
Near from beach - one side 5 minutes walk and you could stay at the same hotel on the beach. Other side - 10 minutes walk with monkeys and birds
Highl recommendations and big thank you hotel and the team!
Date of stay: April 2024
Room Tip: If you want to feed monkeys, use floors from 4 till 6
Trip type: Travelled with family
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£94
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
  • Hotels.com
0.2 miles from Thambapanni Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
£134
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £134
0.1 miles from Thambapanni Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
£114
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.8 miles from Thambapanni Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Nor Lanka Hotel
£90
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £90
0.4 miles from Thambapanni Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
£39
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
0.2 miles from Thambapanni Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
£80
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £80
0.8 miles from Thambapanni Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
£96
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £96
1.1 miles from Thambapanni Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Elephant Pool at the Flower Garden Hotel
£43
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £43
0.4 miles from Thambapanni Retreat
Pool
Restaurant
  • Expedia.com
    £78
  • ZenHotels.com
    £68
  • Hotels.com
0.5 miles from Thambapanni Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
    £179
  • ZenHotels.com
    £158
  • Hotels.com
1.2 miles from Thambapanni Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Unawatuna
Reviews (755)
Filter reviews
755 results
Traveller rating
507
166
42
12
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
507
166
42
12
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sri lanka sister hotel yoga classes beautiful hotel jungle beach short walk to the beach pool area is a couple of minutes walk seafood every morning great room calm place deluxe room prawns monkeys trees sofa
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 755 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2024

Very nice, quiet and peaceful place. It's just a little walk from the beach.
The rooms are nice and spacious. We had a Superior room, which was very quiet and had lots of privacy. We could sit on the terrace and listen to the birds and watch the monkeys on the surrounding trees.
The staff is really nice, attentive and helpful. When we had problems with our Tuktuk one of the staff members helped us replacing the tyre.

The Yoga class in the morning is really nice and a good way to start the day.

Very good breakfast, lots of local food to try. Ver tasty and authentic.

Thanks to the whole team for being so nice and friendly! We felt very much at home here!

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ExplorerJaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 April 2024 via mobile

Great hotel it’s a little oasis. Newly decorated and extremely clean. Staff cannot do enough to help you. Food excellent in the restaurant. Asok is always there to recommend a dish, along with the chef who will cook whatever you ask for. The resort is up a little side street. You would miss the retreat if you didn’t look carefully. Pretty and green with beautifuflowers in the garden, a small refreshing clean pool. The beach is nearby and so are the restaurants. Beach has great waves! There were lots of people on the beach when we arrived! The beach is nice but not wow. We enjoy it though! Unawatuna definitely has the vibes, lovely boutique hotels, nice food and a nice beach. Also lots smiley faces and Yes we would come back! Beautiful Sri Lanka and its people. Loved it!

Room tip: Watch atms and people hanging around. Book yours with your companies as you don’t save any money doing it yourself.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank browny1811
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 March 2024

Amazing authentic hotel in the jungle but also near the Main Street with restaurants and shops and also Uwanatuna beach. Staff was soooo friendly and helpful. In the balcony have seen and monkeys and other animals such as frogs, lizards 🦎 amazing authentic space. Breakfast was also good.

Room tip: Only what I can say some furniture already need to be changed to upgrade better quality
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 March 2024

I returned back to the amazing hotel and was not disappointed! The staff are attentive and can not do enough o make your stay enjoyable! This hotel is tucked up one of the side streets minutes away from the beach and is surrounded by trees and nature. The room was clean and super comfortable! The pool was clean and well maintained under the dappled shade of the surrounding jungle. The breakfast was varied and fresh and was well stocked. Stay here if you want a relaxing hotel close to the beach with amazing staff!

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank EmmasTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thambapanni Leisure, Guest Services / Front Office at Thambapanni Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2024

Dear Emmas,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us again at Thambapanni Retreat and for taking the time to share your wonderful experience!

We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay, from our attentive staff to our serene surroundings. It's delightful to know that you found your room clean and comfortable, and that you were able to relax by our well-maintained pool amidst the natural beauty surrounding us.

We're glad you appreciated our varied and fresh breakfast offerings. Your kind words about our staff and their dedication to making your stay enjoyable mean a lot to us.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another amazing stay whenever your travels bring you to the area!

Warm regards,
Thambapanni Retreat Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2024 via mobile

This place took me by surprise. Leaving the loud main road, you wind up briefly to a perfectly serene, quiet retreat, staffed by some of the most kind and genuinely invested human beings I’ve ever met.

Our rooms were great, wifi worked without a problem, and there was never any power outage.

The kitchen is what really got me, though. I normally don’t eat much at hotels, seeking more local experiences outside. But during my three days in Unawatuna I did not once eat anywhere other than Thambapanni. The food here is nothing short of divine. Margarita pizza better than I’ve had anywhere, sautéed Tuna that redefined how fish could be prepared for me, hell even the base salad was masterfully seasoned and actually full of flavor. I actually got to know the chef, Lionel, just to thank him for his effort and the clear attentiveness and knowledge he brings to his craft.

The waitstaff was also very helpful. Deshan in particular was so helpful, ever attentive without being obtrusive. At one point he even offered to bike into town to get some antihistamines for my wife, who was suffering an allergic reaction at the time.

And the owner, Alex, even took me and my wife on a tour of his farm! This was the other secret to why their food is so amazing—aside from Lionel’s experience and professionalism, they locally source their ingredients! Alex showed us where they grow cinnamon, coconuts, bananas, and the chickens, so full and contented. Everything about this place was clearly the product of dedication and love, from the field to your plate.

When we had to leave, my wife and I actually felt sad to go. And the receptionist at the front desk, having noticed my wife photographing flowers, actually made her an adorable little flower keychain from folded ribbons.

Delightful location, unbelievably good food, kind and genuinely invested staff, 5/5 would do it again.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jacob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thambapanni Leisure, Guest Services / Front Office at Thambapanni Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2024

Dear Jacob,

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience at Thambapanni Retreat! We are thrilled to hear that our serene and quiet retreat exceeded your expectations and left such a positive impression on you.

We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay in our great rooms with reliable wifi and uninterrupted power supply. It's fantastic to know that our kitchen and dining experience stood out for you, and we're honored that you found our food divine. We'll be sure to pass along your compliments to Chef Lionel and our dedicated kitchen staff.

We're also grateful for your kind words about our attentive waitstaff, especially Deshan, who went above and beyond to assist you and your wife during your stay. And we're delighted that you had the opportunity to experience a tour of our farm with our owner, Alex, and learn about our locally sourced ingredients.

Your heartfelt feedback means the world to us, and we're thrilled that you left with such fond memories. We can't wait to welcome you back for another delightful stay in the future!

Warm regards,
Thambapanni Retreat Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews