We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing and pleasant stay at Dionis Villa”
other traveller has booked this property
Garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Garden
Dionis Villa Veranda
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
Garden
Dionis Villa
Veranda
Veranda
Veranda
Veranda
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Veranda
Bathroom
Bathroom
Various
Various
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Unawatuna, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Julia_Evi...
Ko Pha Ngan, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing and pleasant stay at Dionis Villa”
Reviewed 27 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Me and mother visited Unawatuna in April and we have chosen the Dionis Villa because the location of the villa seemed very convenient. Indeed we found it very suitable for all our needs! Waves are pretty strong at Unawatuna beach so we walked to the stunning Jungle beach which is just about 10 minutes walk from the villa. Even though we don't drive, it was super easy to catch a tuk-tuk back when it got dark. Owners Francesca with Raju, their beautiful daughter and Lulu, the cutest dog, were very friendly and welcoming, they invited us to have a traditional breakfast during Sri Lankan New Year, it was a very nice gesture! We were staying in a two bedroom villa which was a perfect size for us, equipped with a kitchen and all necessary tools. I was a little bit sceptic about cooling fans before we arrived, but it was actually perfect! I had a great night sleep for the entire stay which was 9 nights, with fans only, open windows also give some air flow. Villa is surrounded by trees so it doesn't get extremely hot inside. Towels are provided. It was very quiet around, not much of traffic outside, just some occasional cars and bikes, well, and birds of course :) wi-fi is good. Also, I would like to say a massive "Thank you" to Raju which approached my desire to learn surfing, offered to join him to hit the waves. He offered me to borrow his board and showed me how to surf. All this was just a friendly offer, which was unexpectedly pleasant! I loved my first wave and now there is no need for me to take an instructor. I highly recommend this place and I will definitely consider it again when I come to Sri Lanka. I wish all the best to the owners and hope to meet them again!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AleksTour...
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice villa!”
Reviewed 3 September 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The first five minutes we could not believe that we will be live in this villa as much as 8 days. Raju met us friendly and treated coconut after our long journey from the airport. Luxury villa with its own garden. We lived in the jungle and wake up to birds singing, and sometimes we saw jumping monkeys from our window, then we met them on the way to the beach. The central beach and beach Jangal are located at the identical distance from the villa. It's very comfortable and you can choose. The kitchen has all the necessary utensils, coffee maker and even a toaster. There was also some clothes dryers. So on villa you can live as at home. Raju also has a friend Tyrone, he lives nearby and has tuk tuk, we went on a tuk tuk to the lake Kogalla and then in Halle at the normal price with him. We recommend Dionysos villa other tourists very much!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorianChe...
Krefeld, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Become a skivvy maid on your holiday!”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

I was looking forward to spending a week in this villa but was shocked when I arrived. Contrary to what is advertised, there is NO parking facilities at this villa. The road approaching the premises were being built (concreted) at the time of our arrival so we had to scramble by the side of it - a very dirty and dangerous experience, especially for my 73 year old mother with limited mobility. The first thing I wanted to to after a four hour drive from the airport, in our hire car which was by now wrecked by the awful road conditions leading to the villa, was to have a nice, long shower. To my dismay, the upstairs bathroom did not have hot water (this was installed only on the second day). We contacted the caretaker prior to our arrival so it was no surprise. The towels in the bathroom were musty as were the sheets, mattresses and pillows. Granted this is the monsoon season (as was the excuse given by the owners), surely arriving guests should be greeted with freshly laundered linen (not ones left there since the last guests left, which by the smell of things was probably months ago). Soap, shampoo, shower gel in the bathrooms - dream on!

Time for bed...first things first, there is no air-conditioning in this 'luxury' villa. As a result, I repositioned one of the beds so that it would be directly under the ceiling fan. This was the only tolerable alternative to sleeping in 30 degree temperature. Even so, I felt very hot and was sweating in bed. Worse still, the thought that countless other people might have been doing just that on this very same bed was more than disturbing. It could have been cooler had I left all the windows and doors open, but try doing that and you will be kept up all night by the barkings and howlings of the seemingly countless stray dogs in the vicinity.

The kitchen facilities can be described as best to be rudimentary. There is NO kettle, toaster or coffee machine in either of the kitchens. We spent the evening washing and scrubbing all the cutlery and glasses (which had a layer of mould growing inside them). This was all done with very diluted washing up liquid - really, skimping on washing up liquid?!!! The following morning, I ventured to make coffee with the stove-top espresso maker. After scrubbing the one from upstairs (the one downstairs is truly unserviceable), I was about to enjoy a fresh brew when I decided to rinse the machine out. To my horror, a cockroach came out of the machine and it had obviously been stewing.

Having woken up with countless mosquito bites, my first mission of the day was to go out and buy some insect repellant. There are plug in insecticide diffusers in the rooms but you will have to BUY your own refills as none were provided. Added to which, there were no working sockets in one of the downstairs bedrooms - out of luck here!

Cleanliness Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2014
Sono scioccata e sbalordita da questa recensione negativa e da questa nuova pagina di Tripadvisor che non sapevo esistesse.
Dionis Villa e' su Tripadvisor come CASA VACANZE con il nome di DIONIS VILLA: KARMA Apartment, DHARMA Apartment e SHAKTI Apartment, non e' assolutamente un Hotel e nemmeno un Rifugio!
I proprietari siamo noi, Francesca e Raju, e da 6 mesi siamo in Italia per visitare mia madre che ha seri problemi di salute, purtroppo. Siamo stati costretti a prendere un manager locale per gestire Dionis Villa durante la nostra assenza.
Io ho personalmente insegnato alla manager locale come pulire, come aiutare gli ospiti, come trattarli così da mantenere l'ottimo livello di pulizia e di gestione che abbiamo noi.
La cosa strana e' che nei mesi di Giugno, Luglio e Agosto abbiamo avuto altri ospiti che hanno lasciato delle ottime recensioni, e hanno molto apprezzato la manager locale, la sua pulizia e disponibilità'.
Informiamo quindi voi e tutti i futuri ospiti che La manager locale e' stata licenziata e che la prossima settimana torneremo noi a gestire il Dionis Villa, attività' che amiamo molto, e che vogliamo sia gestita perfettamente, con ottima pulizia e disponibilità' verso i nostri ospiti.
Siamo veramente tristi per come siete stati trattati e per i problemi che avete avuto, soprattutto per sua madre.
Ci scusiamo con tutti voi, non potevamo immaginare che la nostra Dionis Villa potesse essere recensita così brutalmente, perché noi abbiamo sempre offerto un ottimo servizio, una pulizia impeccabile, lenzuola e asciugamani profumati cambiati ogni 3 giorni, pulizia degli appartamenti giornaliera, giardino sempre ordinato e sopratutto piena disponibilità' verso i nostri ospiti.
La manager locale purtroppo non e' stata all'altezza, non ha rispettato i patti e non si e' presa cura della nostra villa e tantomeno dei nostri ospiti.
La ringrazio molto per questa recensione perché mi ha aperto gli occhi e mi ha fatto capire che dobbiamo essere io e mio marito Raju a gestire personalmente e in loco l'attività'. Per scusarci dell'accaduto vi invitiamo al Dionis Villa gratuitamente come ospiti speciali, in modo che potrete rendervi conto che la nostra Villa e' davvero un posto pulito, profumato e ben mantenuto.

Inoltre ci scusiamo per i disagi creati dal rifacimento della strada, decisione del Comune di Galle, non nostra, infatti non lo sapevamo. Il parcheggio e' presente per motorini e tuk-tuk.
La strada ora e' nuova e facilmente accessibile.
Non ci sono cani randagi, ma ogni cane ha un suo padrone, come da noi in Europa.
Ogni appartamento ha una macchina per il caffè', moca italiana, ben funzionante.

Nello specifico noi lavoriamo così':

PRIMA dell'ARRIVO degli OSPITI:
I letti vengono fatti il giorno prima dell'arrivo degli ospiti, non prima.
Gli appartamenti vengono puliti, disinfettati e ordinati con cura e stile il giorno prima dell'arrivo degli ospiti, non prima.
In ogni bagno c'e' sapone e c'e' l'acqua calda funzionante, basta accendere l'interruttore.
Ogni letto ha la propria zanzariera, per evitare le punture di zanzare.
Piatti, bicchieri e posate sono puliti prima di ogni arrivo e c'e' il detersivo.
Abbiamo luci di emergenza, zampironi e diffusori per le zanzare.

DURANTE il SOGGIORNO degli OSPITI:
Gli appartamenti sono puliti giornalmente e ogni 3 giorni cambiamo la biancheria e gli asciugamani. Il giardino e' sempre pulito.
Aiutiamo gli ospiti a conoscere la zona, mostriamo loro come muoversi e li aiutiamo ad organizzare al meglio il loro soggiorno, secondo le personali esigenze. Possiamo organizzare tours, visite guidate, sports acquatici e tanto altro.
Abbiamo servizi extra come baby sitter, chef at home, lavanderia, lezioni di cucina e lezioni di yoga e di surf.
Solitamente gli ospiti entrano da noi come turisti ed escono come amici.
Io e mio marito amiamo molto il nostro lavoro al Dionis Villa, siamo persone per bene ed oneste. La preghiamo di accettare le nostre scuse e la nostra offerta di soggiorno gratuito.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony K
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Off the beaten track in Sri Lanka”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This is a really charming villa set in a small tropical garden at the end of a rather rough road just outside the bustle of Unawatuna beach resort. Unfortunately, our stay was somewhat marred by some shortcomings in the levels of cleanliness and service offered, but overall it was a pleasant place to stay

Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anara1
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“peaceful, secluded,”
Reviewed 18 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Dionis villa over Xmas holidays. it's very clean, very well maintained property with beautiful garden. Owners of the property are very helpful and kind. it's off the main road of Unawatuna, up the hill, 5 min walk to the main beach, which is great, because the noise level and traffic could be too much. If you like watching nature, birds and animals it's place to stay. it's also not very far from Jungle beach, walking distance, 10 -15 min. We thoroughly enjoyed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: garden
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jan 2014
Thanks for your lovely review, we will never forget you, it was so nice to have you here, special guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bräuningshof
Reviewed 3 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Dec 2013
Welcome to a lovely special family!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
giovanni...
Florence, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Feb 2014
Caro Giò,
la giungla ti aspetta per un'altra avventura! Grazie per la tua meravigliosa recensione...e per le lunghe chiaccherate che già ci manacano.
Ciao Fratello, Fra, Raju, Felisia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing