We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
gary P
Camberley, United Kingdom

Great hotel,lovely xtaff

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 Feb 2019
The rooms were clean and and with good amenities, endless hot water!
The staff were always willing to help,and it's located close to the beach and countless good restaurants.The front balcony rooms were good and the noise from the road was never an issue
Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£155
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £155
0.4 miles from Gloria Grand Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
£94
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Booking.com
0.6 miles from Gloria Grand Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
£110
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Booking.com
0.9 miles from Gloria Grand Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
£67
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £67
0.4 miles from Gloria Grand Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
£52
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
0.6 miles from Gloria Grand Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
£97
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £97
1.2 miles from Gloria Grand Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
£78
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £78
0.7 miles from Gloria Grand Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £69
  • Expedia.com
    £80
0.5 miles from Gloria Grand Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Elephant Pool at the Flower Garden Hotel
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £39
  • Expedia.com
    £43
0.2 miles from Gloria Grand Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £164
  • Expedia.com
    £180
0.9 miles from Gloria Grand Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Unawatuna
Reviews (631)
Filter reviews
631 results
Traveller rating
466
143
14
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
466
143
14
3
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 631 reviews
Reviewed 2 February 2019 via mobile

Very accommodating staff at all hours. Great location just off the beach. Comfy beds and decent showering facilities in the rooms. A swimming pool too but not really needed. Would happily book in again.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Orbert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 January 2019

We rested at the Gloria Grand during the winter holidays. Despite the fact that the hotel is located far enough from our arrival airport (Colombo), the time spent on the road was worth it. The hotel itself is located near the beach, just a five-minute walk away. As for the beach itself, it does not matter whether you stay in a hotel that is located on the first line or a little distant from the sea - on the beach there are no private areas at the hotels.

I would like to say a huge thank you to all the staff of the Gloria Grand hotel for the patience, attention and friendliness that the employees demonstrated. All employees are very polite, open to communication and ready to help, speak English. Separately, I want to emphasize that, during the holiday, one of the members of our group had a birthday, and the staff made us a wonderful gift, they decorated the room and baked a birthday cake.

The hotel itself is very clean. The rooms are spacious with large beds and high ceilings. The room has air conditioning and a fan. Some rooms have a nice view of the green jungle. The rooms are cleaned every day. Breakfast, though not very diverse, quite tasty, fresh juice is offered every day. The menu is more reminiscent of European cuisine. I also want to say thank you for the luxurious new year's dinner, it was very tasty. In the end I want to say again that this hotel has made a great impression on us, and all thanks to the excellent staff, clean and large rooms, delicious food and convenient location.

Thank you very much for a wonderful stay!

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Настя П
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 January 2019

The location of the hotel isn’t bad. Don’t think there is direct access to the beach, but not far from the beach. The staff was friendly and helpful.
The room and washroom was spacious. The washroom setup was weird though. No washroom door locks and the shower area was directly in front of the toilet. The jacuzzi seemed unnecessary. The A/C and wifi worked well and the bed comfortable.
The breakfast was great. There were western and Sri Lankan options and a decent spread. Overall, wouldn’t mind staying here again.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Suj_YR
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 January 2019 via mobile

Pros: Located a few steps away from the beach. Staff was very courteous and helpful. Breakfast spread was decent. Tuk Tuk service was good.

Cons: Room did not have a view. Cleanliness could've been better (had ants in the room).

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Puneet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 January 2019 via mobile

Staff and facilities were lovely. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Buffet breakfast every morning. Great location only a few minutes walk to the beach and many restaurants and shops close by. We also used their newly installed pool. They also ha e their own tuk tuk which means you don’t need to negotiate on the street. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: January 2019
Thank Clairecjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews