We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
BigJohnW
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
A little bit of luxury for not much money
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 16 Mar 2019
This is a lovely place to stay in Unawatuna. Just a short 200m stroll from the beach in the middle of all the cafes, restaurants and shops. Air con, bed, balcony, good shower all good. Breakfasts were good too. When we arrived they whisked our bags up to the room (we got upgraded to the top floor suite which was excellent). The staff were super friendly and helpful and as soon as we asked if they could do laundry somebody shot up to collect a pile of our dirty washing and brought it back clean and ironed next day.
Date of stay: February 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
£66
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    £66
  • Agoda.com
    £50
  • Trip.com
    £57
0.2 miles from Gloria Grand Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£58
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    £58
  • Agoda.com
    £49
  • Expedia.com
    £73
0.1 miles from Gloria Grand Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£163
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    £134
  • ZenHotels.com
    £91
  • Expedia.com
    £137
0.4 miles from Gloria Grand Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£98
  • Hotels.com
    £109
  • Agoda.com
    £78
  • Priceline
    £124
0.9 miles from Gloria Grand Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£139
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    £139
  • Agoda.com
    £94
  • Hotels.com
    £133
0.5 miles from Gloria Grand Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£98
  • Priceline
    £102
  • Agoda.com
    £88
  • Hotels.com
    £109
0.5 miles from Gloria Grand Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
£172
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    £170
  • Agoda.com
    £68
  • Trip.com
    £191
0.5 miles from Gloria Grand Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£162
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    £157
  • Agoda.com
    £111
  • Priceline
    £162
1.2 miles from Gloria Grand Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£44
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    £44
  • Agoda.com
    £44
  • eDreams
    £44
0.1 miles from Gloria Grand Hotel
Beachfront
Restaurant
Entrance
Booking.com
£53
  • Expedia.com
    £74
  • Agoda.com
    £42
  • Priceline
    £78
0.7 miles from Gloria Grand Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Unawatuna
Reviews (630)
Filter reviews
630 results
Traveller rating
467
141
14
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
467
141
14
3
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 630 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2019

On arrival we were greeted with some juice and the reception were very nice and gave us helpful information. We booked a Superior Double Room with Balcony and the room was amazing. Literally the comfiest bed I have stayed in for my whole trip in Sri Lanka and lovely soft good quality clean sheets. The room was spacious as we had another single bed in there and bathroom also clean.

Only had one very quick breakfast here but it was a standard buffet that was topped up regularly and also a chef to cook things like omelettes to your preference. Location was right in the heart of the main street, so ideal if you want to be in the centre of things. There was no noise in the night despite being in the centre.

We booked here for one night only and were SO upset that we couldn't stay another night when we decided to stay in the area for longer. Would absolutely stay here again . All the different staff we spoke to were very nice and chatty which added to our experience.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Carron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 March 2019

This was definitely the best hotel I stayed in during my vacation in Sri Lanka. Close to the beach. The rooms have all the facilities, the staff is very professional and well prepared to answer any request. We also met the manager, a very nice person and very good at making the guests feel welcome. Maximum rating.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Andrei C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 February 2019

Brilliant staff, extremely helpful and kind! On the main road to the beach so in easy reach of restaurants/bars and the beach. Rooms are very good and comfortable and worth the price.

Would definitely recommend.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlobC2394
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 February 2019 via mobile

very helpful and friendly staff! help and respond to all requests. Every day, clean the room. the best restaurant in the hotel and his chef! large breakfasts on the type of buffet. Lunch and dinner are served in real restaurants. prices are the same as in other places, but the attitude and quality of services is much higher! I recommend everyone to choose this hotel for a holiday in Unavatuna and do not look for places for lunch and dinner, the best option is in the hotel.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank BazAndi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 February 2019 via mobile

The hotel is close to the beach (only 3 minute walk). Nearby there are a lot of places to eat and drink something. The staff is very friendly. The rooms are big and clean. The breakfast is good with a lot of choice.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Explorer667189
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews