We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
eDreams
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
couchie
London, United Kingdom

Welcoming hotel with delicious buffet breakfast!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 Apr 2019via mobile
I spent five nights in this excellent hotel. The staff are friendly, efficient and extremely accommodating. Rooms are cleaned daily (which doesn’t happen everywhere in Sri Lanka). The hotel is smart and comfortable. The refreshingly cool covered pool is perfect, as for most of the day the beach is just too hot! The location is central to the shops, restaurants and just by the beach. And not noisy. Rooms have perfect shaded balconies as they face west, so you get sunset over the hill and palm trees. I throughly recommendation this hotel.
Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
£108
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £108
0.4 miles from Gloria Grand Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
£108
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
0.6 miles from Gloria Grand Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
£67
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £67
0.4 miles from Gloria Grand Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
£163
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £163
0.5 miles from Gloria Grand Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
£81
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £81
0.6 miles from Gloria Grand Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
£135
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £135
1.2 miles from Gloria Grand Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
£160
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £160
0.5 miles from Gloria Grand Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
£204
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.9 miles from Gloria Grand Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £24
  • eDreams
0.6 miles from Gloria Grand Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £66
  • Expedia.com
    £70
0.7 miles from Gloria Grand Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Unawatuna
Reviews (632)
Filter reviews
632 results
Traveller rating
467
143
14
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
467
143
14
3
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 632 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2019 via mobile

I would definetly recommend this hotel if you are staying some nights in Unawatuna! Me and my friend stayed here for four nights, and the staff was amazing! We had a little issue with the first room but the staff fixed it immediatly and were super helpful. Rooms were nice and clean.

Location is really good, only a few minutes away from the beach. They also give you free beachtowels. Breakfast is tasty aswell! Would recommend :-)

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Elisejak
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 March 2019 via mobile

This was the second visit to the Gloria Grand within 14 months and very happily we were upgraded to a deluxe room which was very nice. Most of the staff are still the same and very pleasant indeed. A brand new swimming pool has been installed which looks to be a great asset.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank GeoffSonya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 March 2019 via mobile

Hotel is just on the main street to the beach full of good places to eat but not too noisy so you will have a good night sleep. All the members if staff is very friendly a special thank you to Malin who is amazing host. Great place to stay and treat yourself after all guest houses or homestays.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank 927gintar_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 March 2019

This is a lovely place to stay in Unawatuna. Just a short 200m stroll from the beach in the middle of all the cafes, restaurants and shops. Air con, bed, balcony, good shower all good. Breakfasts were good too. When we arrived they whisked our bags up to the room (we got upgraded to the top floor suite which was excellent). The staff were super friendly and helpful and as soon as we asked if they could do laundry somebody shot up to collect a pile of our dirty washing and brought it back clean and ironed next day.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigJohnW
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 March 2019

On arrival we were greeted with some juice and the reception were very nice and gave us helpful information. We booked a Superior Double Room with Balcony and the room was amazing. Literally the comfiest bed I have stayed in for my whole trip in Sri Lanka and lovely soft good quality clean sheets. The room was spacious as we had another single bed in there and bathroom also clean.

Only had one very quick breakfast here but it was a standard buffet that was topped up regularly and also a chef to cook things like omelettes to your preference. Location was right in the heart of the main street, so ideal if you want to be in the centre of things. There was no noise in the night despite being in the centre.

We booked here for one night only and were SO upset that we couldn't stay another night when we decided to stay in the area for longer. Would absolutely stay here again . All the different staff we spoke to were very nice and chatty which added to our experience.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Carron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews